Things may not be coming up roses yet….

7 Feb

…. but at least they aren’t covered in maggots anymore.  It’s a step in a better direction, right??

So I got a bunch of my samples back from my embroiders today…. holy cow, I fucking love those people!!!  Not only did they get my stuff done at lightening speed- but it all looks so damn good!!  I’m sending them “care bear stares” right now… I hope they get them.  I’ve got to go and check on my screenprinter and see how that’s coming along- but I have faith that she’s doing great… so it’s all getting better.

But I’m still a frayed nerve.  I exploded on my husband today.  Full blown nuclear meltdown.  Due to a misunderstanding because we have “problems with communication”, he didn’t do something that I assumed he knew to do.  I found myself pulled over on the side of the road, standing by my car on the street, and screaming at the top of my lungs through the phone “WHY ARE YOU SO FUCKING STUPID?  WHY DON’T YOU HAVE COMMON SENSE??  YOUR GENDER IS FLAWED!!  FUCKING FLAWED!!!!!” (much more was said, but I’m afraid I’ll get kicked off this thingy if I repeat it)… people were actually slowing down while driving past me to watch the show.  I have since gone to great lengths to apologize to him, and made him dinner (which is something I normally only do for Sully… I’m not a “cooker”), and have been using my most soothing “inside voice” around him all evening.  But he understands (and on many occasions I’ve been on the receiving end of his nonsensical scream-fest… so we’re even).  He has watched the deterioration of my mental state over the past few weeks, and knew it was coming.  But I will admit, I felt much better after my verbal spewings.

But for the entertainment of whoever gives a shit…. here’s a little peek at a few of the things in the new line.  I’m soooooo ignorant when it comes to the “do’s and don’ts” in the fashion industry (I’m a painter, not a “professional designer”… so I don’t know the rules… nor do I really care), so I don’t know if I’m supposed to show pieces of the “new line” before it hits the trade show…. but fuck it.  Are any of you going to run and tell on me?  I doubt it.  🙂

So here’s the new limited edition plate set:

pretty thingpirate cat mouthfulcats n coffee

To get a more detailed view of them, just go to my flickr page (there’s links to it on here).

And now for a few of the shirt bodies I designed.  I’m really excited about these (they came out great… but I still really wish I had the samples of all the other colors that I wanted them to come in… ugh!). These ones have the embroidery on them…..

body1body2 body3

And here’s one of the little fellas that can be embroidered onto the shirts…….

jackalope

WHEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE!!!!!!!!!!!!

And yes, there will be boy’s shirts this season.  And I’m going to have all these available in X-Larges for the ladies who have the fun curvy figures. And I’m even going to have onsies for the little ones.

So that is your window into things to come…. or at least as far as my bullshit is concerned.

Back to catalogs, and promo stuff, and dishes, and laundry, and painting, and and and and and and and…….. you get the idea.

22 Responses to “Things may not be coming up roses yet….”

  1. aprilfalling February 7, 2008 at 11:59 pm #

    i’m totally telling on you! 😉 the embroidery is such a great idea! and i love the new body ways! the red/cream combo is adorable and i’m putting in a preorder whether you like it or not! i hope you stay sane through the show next week. i’ll be wishing i was there with you ladies again! xoxoxoxx

  2. sweetmeat February 8, 2008 at 2:39 am #

    Ooooh, are those great! I love them all and I also want them all, but you know that, haha. I received my order already last week (Thank you! I love you!!!), but am so covered in work that I didn’t find the time to reply. I wish you all the best, Katrin

  3. dollypop February 8, 2008 at 7:30 am #

    lord.
    i am seriously needing new shirts, but first off are the plates.
    the 2 teethy cats remind me off my mother and i over tea.
    really very sweet

  4. chelsea February 8, 2008 at 8:20 am #

    those tshirts are fucking amazing!
    i can’t wait to see the rest, i want one.

  5. tandi February 8, 2008 at 8:40 am #

    care bear stares and mental breakdowns…i wish we could meet, we’d get along sooooo great!

  6. OrionsReason February 8, 2008 at 9:57 am #

    Yay!!! I can’t wait, I want them all.

    I can get my husband a shirt now too.
    Embroidery is rad! I love your work.

  7. Jane Van Benthusen February 8, 2008 at 10:13 am #

    I always feel better after a good verbal rant. But I need to find a better outlet than screaming at my husband that works as well for me. :)If you figure out what that would be then please let me know. I love the new stuff and thank you for the XL’s.

  8. Aine February 8, 2008 at 11:40 am #

    Oh my golly gosh, that red t-shirt drives me wild, I WANT I WANT! Your chicken necklace is freaking hilarious. I love your chicken collection, I have an elephant collection. We should get together and play Chicken Elephant was with numerous little animal themed things that we own. I have an elephant tea set! So were totally set.

  9. whitney February 8, 2008 at 3:29 pm #

    ooooh, I’M TELLING ON YOU!!!
    not really though.

    yay! more guys and onesies!
    i’m gonna have to get one for my future baby.
    wheee!!!

  10. Candice February 8, 2008 at 3:48 pm #

    ajhwolwsndajsnalwhrajiwnjdnaljswpawih. wnejoawheoadhbjwheawjolehau!!!!!

    (the new stuff is so amazing that it scrambled by brain!!!).

  11. Candice February 8, 2008 at 3:50 pm #

    the presence of “by brain” instead of “my brain” is just extra evidence of the amazingness, haha!

  12. Sunny February 8, 2008 at 4:27 pm #

    ok, I just re-read. ONSIES?!?! My best friend is pregnant with twins! Jesus you’ve got good timing.

  13. Kristen Ferrell February 8, 2008 at 4:37 pm #

    yes!! little embroidered onsies! and they’re going to be dark gray, so that they’ll work for a boy or a girl. i just got the sample back today, and i’m really pleased with it! 🙂

    thank you all for your kind feedback! one thing that irritates me about this site is that i can’t respond to the posts individually. ugh!

  14. Candypattie February 8, 2008 at 6:11 pm #

    Heavens to betsy! I almost fell off my chair with the “care bear stares” line! Then once I recover again I am hit with new merch!!! I must say I still need to get the last collection of plates before they are gone bye bye… but these new plates make me want to bake some walnut brownies and wash them down with some southern comfort.
    I love the shirts! You did a swell job on the shirt bodies!! I cannot wait for these!!
    My husband keeps bugging me about where’s his stuff?? I keep saying that you do not have guy shirts right now so he will be happy to hear that because he has almost worn the ones he has out! My step daugther Maddie loves my shirts ( courtesy of you, thanks for helping out in the cool step mom department) so if you find the time next go around try making some tween sizes and I am sure she will send some adoring smurfette stares your way 🙂

  15. Kristen Ferrell February 8, 2008 at 6:46 pm #

    i want someone to give me a million dollars so that i can make all the stuff that i have rolling around in my head. i want to start a line of shirts for tweens and junior high girls that are an assault on all the creepy-WAY-TOO-sexy clothing that is being made for them. like shirts for little girls that say “eye candy” and “juicy” (the pedophiles dream come true)…they make me want to vomit all over myself. i want to make ones that say “Stop looking at me, Creep”, or things like that. but with funny little illustrations to go along with it. but i’m bound by finances… so i’ve got to slowly work my way up having everything i want.
    le sigh…..

  16. janevanbenthusen February 9, 2008 at 12:53 pm #

    Oooooo I love that idea. I would love to see girls wearing stuff like that. How empowering! You have got to be able to sell that idea to someone. How do you sell ideas?

  17. Kristen Ferrell February 9, 2008 at 5:04 pm #

    it’s really hard to sell strong and positive ideas in a society that is built on negative ones. we live in a culture that raises it’s girls to hate each other, hate themselves, and do whatever necessary to gain the attention of boys. it’s sick and sad- and my heart breaks when i see girls my son’s age starting to wear mini skirts, crop tops, and platform stripper-shoes. they don’t even know what sex is yet!! but they are just a product of our very broken and backwards society.

    the only way i can think to sell that idea is to just make all the stuff myself, and do it word-of-mouth. my entire company was built on word-of-mouth promotion (i don’t do ads, or any other kind of promotion), and it’s going really well. hopefully, this can too.
    🙂

  18. Cassie (Not Looking For You) February 11, 2008 at 7:26 am #

    My 9 year old daughter ADORES your stuff! She wears my shirt from you all the time (I guess I should send you pics huh??)
    I would TOTALLY buy shirts for her from you so she’ll stop stealing mine.
    Stay sane this week.

  19. Kristen Ferrell February 11, 2008 at 9:45 am #

    i would LOVE pics!!! that’s so cute!! this season i think i’m going to start in on the stuff for the kiddos. i’d like to know that some of the little girls out there are wearing something other than the creepy “sexy-lil’-tyke” gear.
    🙂

  20. Candice February 11, 2008 at 2:45 pm #

    I love your idea for the non-creepo girls’ shirts! It would make me feel sooo good to see girls walking around wearing those. Your idea actually made me start thinking about a version that women could wear in the workplace to combat the staggering sexism that often takes place. Before I moved to the west coast I worked in a place where despite the fact that I held the highest accuracy raking company wide in my job category and spent all of my time outside the job working on my education, the men i worked with could only seem to say things like “did you bake us any cookies?” or “why don’t you kiss the copy machine to get it warmed up for me”. However, since I can’t draw anything other than stick figures I decided to work the idea into my next baking project. And what better shirt to wear while baking feminst cupcakes than a superhero shirt, right?

    http://www.flickr.com/photos/blindingblue/2254789712/

  21. bergertime February 12, 2008 at 7:55 am #

    holy crap! those new shirts are totally amazing! i love you.

  22. Kristen Ferrell February 15, 2008 at 9:36 pm #

    i love you more, berger.
    move out to california. people like cakes and cupcakes here, too.

Leave a Reply

