Sleepwalking, part 2 (picking apart last night’s adventure)

9 Feb

When Brad got home tonight, he was telling me all about the state the house was in when he found me curled up in the livingroom in the middle of the night after last night’s sleepwalking adventures… and I think I figured out what I was trying to do- or at least during last night’s journey (who knows what was going on in the previous ones).

I had a dream last night that our black Lila cat had an evil twin.  This is me & Lila:

lila

The Lila-twin was thinner and a little smaller, and for some reason I was terrified of it…. terrified in that way you feel when you’re a little kid and you’re sure there is something horrible in your closet. That pit-of-your-stomach panic, where you feel nauseous and afraid to move.  The other cats would hiss and run whenever this Lila-twin peeked it’s head around the corner, and I was convinced that it was set on killing Sully while he slept.  I knew the Lila-twin was hiding around the house, and caught glimpses of her slithering out of cabinets and running under furniture, getting closer and closer to Sully’s room… and I HAD to stop her.  That’s really all of the dream I remember.  It seems really benign when I type it out… but I get that sickly feeling in my stomach when I picture that cat in my head somehow sliding out of the tiniest cracks of slightly open doorways and cabinets like she was made of ink.

Brad told me that before he found me in the middle of the night last night, he wandered through the house looking for me.  All the kitchen cabinets were open, and the furniture was moved around.  The huge couch that he found me sleeping on was pushed across the room up against these big cabinets blocking them.

So my sleepwalking last night had a purpose.  I was trying to find and destroy the evil child-killing cat.

I’m not sure which is more unsettling to me… blank-stared purposeless wanderings around the house in a sleep-state; or acting out imaginary scenarios rolling through my subconscious in a fugue-like state.  Probably the later.  Brad says he’s terrified every time he wakes up in the middle of the night and I’m not in bed, and he has to go hunt me down.  He’s not terrified of me having left the house, to roam the neighborhood in my pajamas…. he’s terrified that I’ll come lunging from around the corner with a knife- blank-eyed, hair hanging in my face like the little girl from “The Ring”.    I have lots of violent  and gruesome nightmares- so if I’m now starting to act them out, he’s afraid he’s going to get sliced-and-diced.

He better start being really nice to me… or he might just wake up one night with me standing over him with gardening shears.  Mwhahahahahahahahah!

12 Responses to “Sleepwalking, part 2 (picking apart last night’s adventure)”

  1. butcherbaby February 10, 2008 at 1:56 am #

    or maybe he just better do these midnight runs un a catchers mask and umpire vest, armoured for protection! as for *his* weapon, should you attempt to slice & dice & ask questions later- he should carry one of those soft rubbery sticks they use to divide groceries and what not at the checkout line. they hurt like a BITCH (hopefully shocking you out of your sleep murdering phase) without really leaving marks or damage.

    on another note…i know yer not big on pills & quick fixes, bit is there something you could take (evebn herbs) to calm you down *temporarily* while you are going through the worst of this phase? my concern is if there is a real possibility of violence, it might be better to quieten your sub-con just a little til you get past this latest huge stress and can subconsciously process it in a manner tht is potentially safer for both you and your loved ones?
    just sayin’ 😉
    XOXO
    lissa

  2. Kristen Ferrell February 10, 2008 at 10:39 am #

    i’m considering taking some sort of herbal sleep aid like valierian (sp?) root or something. i didn’t get up last night at all (or at least to brad and my knowledge). it seems to just be a couple times a week.
    but brad does have size on his side in defending himself. he’s twice as big as me and built like a big strong ox… it would probably be a pretty funny looking display if i ever tried to attack him. all 115 pounds of me trying to take him down in my sleep-like state- total nonsense. even if i had a weapon- it would just be silly.
    i never thought of using one of those grocery sticks as a weapon! that’s brilliant!!
    xoxo

  3. whitney February 10, 2008 at 11:59 am #

    girl, if you can pick up or drag a couch half-way across your house in your sleep-walking state, who knows what other wonderous things you can do. you could probably take on 10 brads.

    as for the sleepwalking part… maybe you should get some kind of restraint so you can’t even get ut of bed….. actually, now that i type it and think about that, it’s probably not a great idea. considering you have some sort of super-human strength, you’d probably bust outta them like some crazy, mad hulk and then really get angry.

    KRISTEN SMASH!!

  4. Kristen Ferrell February 10, 2008 at 12:10 pm #

    i’d like to grow 100x’s my size and have gigantic muscles and turn green. that would come in handy on sooooooo many occasions.

  5. chelsea rae February 10, 2008 at 3:34 pm #

    My childhood friend used to re-arrange the linen closets & refrigerator in her sleep. Which was probably cute until she had some kind of sleepy-time accident with nail polish that ruined the hallway carpet.

    If you’re wanting to try something that will prevent any future ‘Kristen smash’ episodes, valerian root is awesome. I bought some of the “Bedtime” Yogi Tea, thinking it was going to be soothing like Sleepytime or chamomile, but it just knocked me out. Well, not immediately, but right after a 5 minute happy-zombie waiting period. Similar to having eaten Vicoden, but less like a zombie & more like a happy cloud. Then it’s just happy, quiet sleep that you don’t move from until your alarm goes off. Try it!!!

  6. Kristen Ferrell February 10, 2008 at 3:50 pm #

    i’ve tried the sleepy-time tea… but it didn’t do much for me. but i also drink about 4 pots of coffee a day (and am on a coffee bender until i go to bed at night). i’m gonna try stopping the coffee at around 7pm or so, and then doubling (or tripling) up on the tea bags in the tea. i’m going to be traveling a bunch over the next couple months, and one of the trips is overseas… and i really don’t need to be wandering around france in my pajamas in the middle of the night unaware of what i’m doing. especially since the only thing i know how to say in french is “Shut your face”.

  7. hayley February 10, 2008 at 8:38 pm #

    haha how do you say “Shut your face” in french?

  8. butcherbaby February 10, 2008 at 8:47 pm #

    valerian is good. i took it for years to help with my sleep issues. i should start trying it again because i think it helped sooth my dreams! they’ve become very disturbing as a side effect of one of my asthma meds.

  9. OrionsReason February 10, 2008 at 8:51 pm #

    absolutely freakin’ scary….remind me of my sister & I who were huge sleepwalkers when we were kids. I outgrew it and hers changed to sleep talking which is awesome to listen too, I know what she’s dreaming about before she conciously does. (She knows I listen to her when she spends the night seeing as she sleeps in the room with the computer which I’m always on til about 4 am, so no creepy privacy issues here!)
    I don’t think I ever had such active sleepwalking episodes as you do though.

    wow, I wish I knew how to say shut your face while I was actually taking french class in high school. I could have gone places!!
    The only thing I mastered was Je vous déteste & Je vous aime(I hate you & I love you).

    Take Care,
    Nikki

  10. Kristen Ferrell February 10, 2008 at 10:01 pm #

    i talk in my sleep too. so does my son- alot. he sleep walks a little bit… but not too bad. the other night i saw him going into my office, and i asked him what he was doing. he said “i’ve got to turn off my computer”. i told him “but that’s my computer in there!”… and he gave me this look of pure evil and said “stop trying to take my things! it’s mine and i have to turn it off!”… to which i started laughing and said “oh honey… you’re still asleep… go back to bed”.
    he glared at me for a good long time, and then turned around and went back to bed. he didn’t remember any of it in the morning.

    and shut your face in french is “fermez votre tête”… that’s actually “shut your head”- but it’s all i know. it won’t get me too far in france- seeing as they already hate americans (but that’s ok- i always tell them I’m from canada anyways).

  11. Tawni February 11, 2008 at 10:39 am #

    I wish there was some way you could set up video cameras in your house to record yourself in the sleepwalking state. It would be so cool to watch it later. I’ve often wished someone would have recorded some of my drunk “black out” episodes. It would be so cool to see myself saying and doing things I don’t remember!

    I am a terrible sleeper. I can fall asleep, but I can’t stay that way. If I wake up to pee, cough or because of a weird noise, I am up for at least two hours. It especially sucks when I wake up at 3 a.m. and can’t get back to sleep before the 5:30 alarm. Oh, good. I get to watch a toddler all day after being up since 3 a.m. Those are crap days!

    I have a low tolerance to booze, drugs (I can’t even smoke pot) and can’t handle decongestants, but I can handle Tylenol P.M. for some reason. It’s just acetaminophen with a bit of antihistimine added. (It’s the antihistimine that makes you sleepy. I have allergies, so it helps with those too.) I started by taking just one, but now I have worked up to the grown-up dose of two.

    I’m not a big fan of taking pills and don’t even take antibiotics when I’m sick, but I was so desperate for a good night’s sleep that I tried it. I know you aren’t big on the pills either, but if you you reach the end of your rope and want something to keep you in a sleep coma until morning, you might try Tylenol P.M. Just a thought.

    Your Lila kitty looks really pleased to be in that photo! *giggles* I love the kitties. So cute. 🙂

  12. chelsea rae February 11, 2008 at 7:40 pm #

    Guh! I hate to be argumentative (well, we all know it’s my favorite thing, but that aside,) but TPM always made the next morning feel like a punch in the face.
    I digress.
    Sleepytime (ala celestial seasonings) isn’t going to get you any sleepy time, despite what the name implies. Go to your nearest Trader Vic’s (or whatever Merc equivelent is nearest) & pick up the Bedtime Tea by the Yogi Tea brand. Out like a light. A sleepy, happy, cloud light.
    Kisses.

Leave a Reply

