Douchebaggy futuristic dumbness and new art…..

24 Feb

I was never into The Matrix. Mainly because Keanu Reeves makes me want to scream and tear my hair out. He’s a terrible actor (with his only believable roles being in the “Bill and Ted” department- which is where he should have stayed), and bland looking at best. I had a boy once take me on a first date to go and see “Johnny Mnemonic”… and after that I never returned his phone calls because any guy who is into that kind of nightmarish embarrassment is no fella for me. But put aside the Keanu Reeves bullshit… The Matrix spawned the acceptability of long leather cloaks, bad vinyl pants, and clip-on sunglasses. These are all things that make me convulse and gag. So I shunned it and never looked back.

Until last week. Last week Brad brought home “The Matrix: Reloaded”. Holy fucking shit… that is quite possibly the most terrible movie I have ever seen in my life (and I’ve endured movies like “A Gnome Named Gnorm” with Anthony Michael Hall- if you haven’t seen it, you really really should… it’s amazing in it’s embarrassing horror). If by the year 2200 raves are not only still in existence- but the norm in human celebration ritual… then there is no hope for us. I don’t think I have ever screamed so much at my TV in my life… I was rooting for the robots to win just to eliminate the the amount of fashion debacles and “Mountain Dew”-like X-treme cultural displays.

So in the spirit of hate, last night Brad and I found the first and third Matrix movies on bargain-discount… so we bought them. Brad loves to hear me go off in a frenzy over bad movies or cultural enigmas, so this should be fun. I’ll keep everyone posted.

Aside from Keanu and his lameness… in 10 days I leave for Cannes, France. I’m quite excited about this. I’ve been to Paris, and few of the little towns surrounding it… but never to Cannes. Because of the GLORIOUS Strychnin Gallery, I get to be a part of the Fusion 5 Festival. This is huge, and I’m nervous. I get weird at big social events, and never know where to put my hands, and am all-too aware of all my awkwardness. I usually just end up getting drunk… at least that way, if I make an ass of myself I can blame it on the booze and I won’t even really remember any humiliation the next day. But I’ll be there for a week, and I can’t stay drunk the whole time…. so it should be interesting to see how on top of things my coping mechanisms are.

Here are a couple of the new pieces for the show:

It’s frustrating, because I have all this space to fill at the show- but all my work is really really small. Solo shows and things like this are always really intimidating because I’m scared that there will be too much wall space and not enough artwork (my largest pieces are around 10″ x 12″). The closer my take-off day comes, the more nervous I get. But it will be super-fun, and I get to run around with some of my dear and amazing arty buddies out there- so I’m just trying to ignore the butterflies in my stomach that are quickly turning into razor blades.

I hear my son chasing my cats in the next room, accompanied by the sounds of big things falling to the floor. Ugh…

13 Responses to “Douchebaggy futuristic dumbness and new art…..”

  1. Katrin February 24, 2008 at 3:32 pm #

    Haha, I am there with you on the Matrix (and your hate for Keanu!). Maybe it is a boys’ thing, with all the Giger-like art, very cold and futuristic. What bothered me most (and I have only seen the first Matrix a long time ago) was the whole concept: You are supposed to break out of your fantastic dream world (even if it’s not a real world) just to walk around in the shitty, evil world? I would choose the nice world with pink meadows and cute kitties. But maybe I didn’t get the film at all. After all, I am just a girl 😉
    Your new paintings are fantastic! I like the wija board and the siamese cats. I am so very excited for you. I wish I could come to Cannes, but I will see you in London, yay! xoxoxo, Katrin

  2. Kristen Ferrell February 24, 2008 at 4:04 pm #

    I’m right there with you. If the alternate to my “dream state” was a grim and hostile existence where you’re running from “bad guys” and machine-monster thingy’s, and then in later sequels are bombarded with bad rave situations and the highest of fashion is bad vinyl ensembles…. then leave me to my dream state. I’m ok with that. I don’t need to conquer my reality. Especially with Keanu Reeves.

    I’m REALLY excited that you’re going to be at the London show!!! YYYAAAAYYYY!!! I’m not even letting myself think about that one because i get petrified.

  3. Ash February 24, 2008 at 4:49 pm #

    I hate the Matrix, but I do love the clothes. Bad vinyl pants are totally my thing. But then Dee Snider is totally my thing. And neon spandex. At least that Keanu didn’t rock any neon spandex.

    Your new work is Amazing. Amazing. Amazing.
    Hey, you get to leave the country! Represent for us non-moronic Americans!

  4. butcherbaby February 24, 2008 at 8:11 pm #

    i hate the matrix movies too…well at least the ONE i saw, which was more than enough stupid for me. the only thing even remotely ‘matrix’ i like is a neil gaiman stroy set in the matrix world, and the main character basically chose to live out his time in the ‘dream state’ too.
    i really hate that most sci fi movies suck so bad, because i love to read it.
    the movie that really made me scream though was the remake of ‘the wicker man’. i was totally doing the scream at the screen thing too. by the time the end came, i WANTED nicholas cage’s character to die a horrible death….and possibly nick cage himself, and definately everyone involved with bringing such a horrible piece of crap to life.

    i LOVE your new pieces, especially the oujia cats! you will wow them over there, i just know it!

  5. Vikki February 24, 2008 at 8:59 pm #

    I absolutely adore all your new work. Especially the second one it is amazing. Love love love

    I am not even going into my hatred for The Matrix trilogy. I will say all those years I ago I did some what enjoy the first one no matter what the fanboys say it’s a switch your brain off look at the pretty effects action film. I do feel they completely ruined this by making it into a trilogy and because of which made me completely dispise it and all it stands for and all the fanboy idiots in dodgy sunglasses and leather.

    I cannot wait to read what you make of the 3rd one. If the second one made you scream the third may well make you want to put the tv out the window in a fit rage. Enjoy!

    Opps. I think I went into my hatred for the matrix.

  6. whitney February 24, 2008 at 9:29 pm #

    it’s funny you mention that about the matrix and keanu… cause i was just saying how much i hate that movie and YES, that bill and ted is the only sort of movies keanu reeves should have stuck with.

    and that first piece must be inspired from your haunted house in kansas!
    i love it.
    🙂

  7. Cassie (Not Looking For You) February 25, 2008 at 7:03 am #

    “There is no spoon”
    The creepy bald little boy in the first one is my favorite part! Somehow I own the second one (not sure how that happened), but I’ve never bothered to watch it or the third. Definalty not my thing.
    Keanu was good in Parenthood! Come on! Keanu, Joaquin, martha Plimpton, Steve Martin……..GREAT movie.

    I love the new stuff (the siamesse kitties are my favs) and I know you will do great at Cannes!

  8. orionsreason February 25, 2008 at 2:23 pm #

    My husband has tortured me for years with the Matrix movies, and for that matter Steven Seagal movies. He gets annoyed because I end up laughing at them (or him) through the whole film.
    And yikes! you are frickin’ talented. I love the siamese playing ouija board ( I collect them, my mom has been begging me for years to throw them away).

  9. Kristen Ferrell February 25, 2008 at 3:59 pm #

    ok…. so i watched the 3rd Matrix last night. Brad fell asleep within the first 20 minutes, and I was left thinking “where’s the damn plot?” and “are we really supposed to believe that he can see after his eyes were burned out?” and “if Mr.Smith is able to get into people that aren’t hooked into the Matrix- then why didn’t he do it to everyone?” and so on and so on and so on. it was just waaaay too much people-fighting-robots and not enough actual-story. really- there was no story to speak of at all. so fucking dumb. go to hell, Keanu.

    but it is a really fun movie to hate.

    and thank you all for the wonderful things you’ve said about the paintings!! hopefully they go over ok (as well as the rest of the work I’m taking to the show). we’ll see……

  10. Candice February 25, 2008 at 9:56 pm #

    I have no idea why, but I just read this and got the strangest sense of deja vu. I really hate deja vu…it makes me feel creeped out and twilight zone-y. So, I will just say that your new pieces are really wonderful and exciting and I do believe that they will make you the Queen of Cannes! ❤

  11. fantasydawn February 26, 2008 at 6:46 am #

    The one with the kitties and ouija board and ghosts…oh, its amazing…

    I wonder how long it will take for someone to tattoo that on themselves.

  12. Lemissa February 27, 2008 at 11:58 pm #

    ohhhh kristen…no matter how small the pieces may be, you are AMAZING and your art is just like you. Through and through all I see in there is pieces, dismemembered pieces, of you…
    Dennis misses you terribly. He was standing by your pic and petting the hair portion and saying you need to come back. heehee!!!!!!!!

  13. Jamie February 29, 2008 at 2:12 am #

    oh freaking awesome you get to go to Cannes!!

    i loved the first Matrix, i don’t remember what i thought about the 2nd, but the 3rd one filled me with so much rage i hated it hated it hated it so much!

Leave a Reply

