Back from France and 10 times dumber….

11 Mar

I really really wanted to post something on here before I left for the “Fusion 5 Festival” in Cannes, France… but there was just no time. The term “shot out of a cannon” doesn’t even begin to cover it. And the internet connection there was shotty at best so I had no time to give updates while I was there…. but now I’m back with the whole story.

All in all…. the festival was AMAZING!!! We stayed at this indescribable hotel right by the beach called 3.14 (click on the link to see photos of it… it’s pretty unreal). We ate massive amounts of the most fancy pants food on the planet, gallons of booze was constantly poured down our throats (though noone really objected… one of the festival’s sponsors was Absolute Vodka, so that was pretty much all we drank), and were bombarded by press and photographers (which was interesting seeing as we were all pretty drunk the whole time). Our individual gallery spaces were in each of the rooms we were staying in, so there was the daily scramble to get all our dirty clothes off the floor and hide the drunken tumblings from the night before so it would be hidden from the eyes of the press and buyers. But here are a few photos (the rest are on my flickr page… there would be more, but because of the previously stated constant drunkenness- they are worthless):

hotel lobby

this is a little part of the hotel lobby. i really wanted to start a game of dodgeball with those gigantic ball-pillows… but i got drunk and forgot (which is probably a good thing)

and here are some of the rooms……

and here is MY room (i squealed like a cracked out mental patient when I saw it… it couldn’t have been more perfect)

We were taken to crazy French discotecha’s and danced to the most eclectic collection of 1980’s hits I’ve ever heard, didn’t get more than 2 hours of sleep each night, and all became the best of friends.

Right now I’m experiencing the worst jet lag on the planet (which is a first for me because I NEVER get jet lag), and Sully was sent home sick from school so I’m having to take care of him while dealing with a serious case of brain-mush. My house was destroyed over the week by my 2 messy boys… and added to this mix with the fact that all 12,000 members of “The World Inferno Friendship Society” stayed here while I was away (though the mess didn’t come from them- it was all Brad and Sully’s doing). I still can’t seem to scrub the “flight stench” off me from the 16 hour trip home, and my cats are taking turns attaching themselves to my lap because they were terrified that I wasn’t ever coming home (which is an understandable terror- considering Brad won’t ever clean the litterbox).

Off I go to stumble around and try to clean. When I remember more of what happened during my trip, I will tell more stories. .. stories of me setting my hair on fire… stories of 70 year old frenchmen forcing me to ballroom dance with them and then trying to get me to go to the bathroom with them to do lines of coke, stories of how to gracefully escape Italian men who want to know if I also have tattoos on my vagina… etc. For now, I’m dead on my feet.

PS……

you can see more about the even at http://www.Juxtapoz.com (or just click HERE)…. just scroll down until you see the articles about the Fusion 5 Festival in Cannes, France! YAY!!!

13 Responses to “Back from France and 10 times dumber….”

  1. Angie March 11, 2008 at 9:09 pm #

    I AM SOOO HAPPY we were at the festival together!!! Oh and you know our friendly old man coke sniffing dancer looked up my dress too… when that happened i KNEW I was in FRance! 🙂

  2. Kristen Ferrell March 11, 2008 at 9:13 pm #

    god bless him for trying, right? viva la france!
    you are my little bunny dream-come-true, and i adore you!!!
    YAY for us!!!!
    XOXOXOXOXOOXOXOXOXOXOXO

  3. whitney March 11, 2008 at 9:20 pm #

    oooooooh myyyy goooood!!
    that room is SOOOO YOU!!
    i want a room like that!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    sounds like you had a fucking blast. can’t wait to hear more stories!!!

    CAN I USE ANY MORE EXCLAMATION POINTS?!?!??

  4. Kristen Ferrell March 11, 2008 at 9:41 pm #

    isn’t it amazing???!!!! the “Strychnin” crew hand picked everyone’s room so that it would match the art… and they told me it took them all of 0.5 seconds to decide that one was perfect for me.

    and i love you and your exclimation points!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!……

  5. Candice March 11, 2008 at 10:02 pm #

    I can’t freaking get over that hotel! The colors are so pretty! It makes it look like everything would taste good if you licked it. Hmmmmm…maybe it’s a good thing it wasn’t me staying there…

    I’m interested to hear these other stories, and I REALLY hope it was just a tiny piece of hair that burned. I would be really sad if your awesome locks were harmed!

  6. Kristen Ferrell March 11, 2008 at 10:40 pm #

    i couldn’t believe it either!!!! every single inch of the place was beyond belief.
    i only took a handful of pics… but angie mason took a million. if you go to her flickr page, you can see them…. http://www.flickr.com/photos/angiemason/
    (i don’t know how to make links on here, so just cut and paste the above url into your browser)

    now… i must sleep… zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz……

  7. Kristen Ferrell March 11, 2008 at 10:40 pm #

    hell… i guess it made it’s own link! well, there ya have it.
    *poof*

  8. Candice March 11, 2008 at 11:25 pm #

    wow, not only did I get to see more of the cool hotel, but more awesome art. Her stuff is pretty damn cool. Thanks for pointing me that way!

  9. Tawni March 12, 2008 at 4:30 am #

    I was going to ask if they picked the rooms out for the artists, but I see above that they did. That room is soooooo perfect for you! I love it. If I ever come into millions, I want to live in that hotel for the rest of my life.

    I can’t wait to hear more about your French Adventures, but I hope you get caught up on sleep (and housework, grrrr… naughty boys) soon and feel better.

    I’m going to bounce over to Flickr to see more pics now… yay! 🙂

    Welcome home. xoxoxoxoxoxoxo.

  10. bergertime March 12, 2008 at 6:04 am #

    i am very jealous. when i come to visit you, i expect the guest room to look very similar to the rooms at that hotel. for your information!
    p.s. i miss you.

  11. Cassie March 12, 2008 at 8:19 am #

    That room is perfectly you! It’s like the inside of Jeanie bottle. YAY!!!!!
    I am glad you made it home okay and the Brad & Sully didn’t burn the house down. {{hugs}}

  12. Kristen Ferrell March 12, 2008 at 9:46 am #

    shit! it IS like the inside of Jeanie’s bottle!! i was trying to find some way to describe it to brad over the phone, but couldn’t find the words! you totally nailed it!!

    and yes, berger… i will get brad right on redecorating the guest room just like that- just for you. he works at about the same pace as another fella we know, so holding your breath isn’t recommended.

  13. Paulinajk March 24, 2008 at 2:07 pm #

    thats for sure, guy

Leave a Reply

