I turned 108 overnight… again….

10 Apr

I think I figured out how to put music in my postings on here… I think… maybe……..

If I did this right, there should be a little box up there that you just click on the “play” button, and it will play the same music that I’m listening to while I’m manically typing and working and doing whatever it is I’m doing right now. I probably fucked it up, and it won’t work- but I tried.  If it in fact DOES work, the song that’s playing is “The Skin of my Yellow Country Teeth” by Clap Your Hands Say Yeah.

I threw my back out. Again. I caught it from Brad. He was out with “Alkaline Trio” the past few days as a guitar tech, and screwed his back up from hauling gear (15 years of pushing amps will do that to you). He ALWAYS comes home from any tour with a fucked up back, so this isn’t new.

But since he was gone for a couple days, and since the production of my new line of clothing has been pushed back a couple weeks due to my shirt sewers being super slow- I figured this was the perfect time to powerhouse out a bunch of paintings for a huge show I have coming up in London, and not be distracted. So the past 3 days have been spend with me bent over my drawing table for hours and hours at a time- and since my lower back isn’t used to that (and I have the cheapest Office-Depot-piece-of-shit-super-bargain office chair), it gave out. I woke up this morning and wasn’t able to turn my body properly without it feeling like I had just been beat down. And then I made the mistake of continuing to paint for another 6 hours straight (only getting up to get another cup of coffee)- and now I can barely walk around. I’ve been doing my yoga, and trying to stay stretched out because I know that it’s bad to sit the way I do for that long at a time…. this is how I sit when I’m painting, working on the computer, reading… or really doing anything at all:

(please excuse the tardo face I’m making… that was for Brad’s benefit). So now my back is totally fucked, and if it follows the same pattern as the last time I threw it out, I’ll be walking with a cane within the next couple days until it fixes itself. The last time this happened was a couple years ago, and under the same circumstances (me in fetal position painting for hours straight everyday). Brad and I decided to play “Dr. Strangelove” when this happened last time (my face is made of rubber and can contort itself to the most gruesome states):

So that’s where I’m at tonight… totally screwed. But I can’t take a break from the painting because the “Leftover Crack” boys are going to be at our house in a couple weeks because they’re doing a little West Coast tour. And Sturgeon (the singer) and I are joining forces for an amazing little project to go along with my London gallery show, and I need to have a ton more work done in order for him to do his part of the project (for now it’s a secret project… so don’t ask me about it, because I won’t tell!! ha!!… but it’s going to RULE!!!!!!!). So further into lower-back destruction I go.

But now I leave you with the “Degrassi Junior High” Daily quote:

“If you can’t eat paper, then maybe you’re not ready for acid.”

(i’m going to start a “Degrassi Junior High” cult. I know my younger brother and sister-in-law will happily join. We could live in a compound in Canada. It will be beautiful).

10 Responses to “I turned 108 overnight… again….”

  1. Michelle April 11, 2008 at 5:48 am #

    That sucks about your back! Mine went out at Easter and holy crap, I’d never had anything hurt that bad for so damn long. And since comment sections are the home of unsolicited advice…. my dr. recommended Aleve and ice packs.It sorta worked. Good luck, and I hope your back magically unkinks!

  2. jamie April 11, 2008 at 8:31 am #

    oh man, my friend amanda and i will come live in your degrassi world.

    i express sympathy and empathy on your back. mine has been fucked up since i was 12 and its in various states of disarray: nominal pain all the way up to i-can’t-walk-or-turn-or-move-and-god-forbid-i-sneeze horribleness.

    i never got medical treatment when i hurt my back, and really, what could they do? i don’t want a pill regimen.

    i am bad and don’t do the strenghtening excersizes i should. my dream of life is someday to get monthly or bi-weekly professional massages or accupuncture. i feel like one or both would help. i kept putting off yoga til i lost weight [ease of movement] – so i guess i should start going to the place by my house! i am convinced the Bollywood dance video i got will help strengthen and loosen all that junk, too.

  3. Kristen Ferrell April 11, 2008 at 11:10 am #

    i have really really bad knees, so i do yoga to keep my leg muscles strong to take the pressure off my joints. and with yoga, you’re strengthening your whole body, so normally i don’t have trouble with my back. but normally i’m not sitting curled up in a ball for 10+ hours a day- so my body had it’s own little revolt on itself.

    and the aleve worked wonders… thank you michelle!!!

  4. joeyyy April 11, 2008 at 7:50 pm #

    Ok, that first picture freaked me out big time. Want to guess exactly how I was sitting as I was reading this? And for the past couple hours while working on homework? *sigh* At least I’m like two weeks ahead in one of my classes now.

    I hope you feel better soon and manage to get things done.

  5. hayley g April 11, 2008 at 7:58 pm #

    oh man, i totally know what you’re talking about. but at least you have a table to paint on. i have to sit on the floor and lean it on my bookshelf or my lap, with like the shittiest lighting on the planet too!

    they should warn you in school that if you want to be an artist your going to become a cripple and half blind (from never having the correct light) in a few years.

  6. whitney April 11, 2008 at 8:50 pm #

    first of all: hooray for ‘clap your hands say yeah!”

    secondly: why won’t you stop breaking?! haha, girl… take care of yourself! back problems are no bueno.

    3rd: did you get that red and white striped shirt from target a few years ago? cause i have it too.

    4th-ly: paper tastes good.

    5th: i’ve never have paper before.

  7. Kristen Ferrell April 12, 2008 at 12:42 pm #

    i don’t know what the fuck is wrong with me.
    the totally frustrating thing is that lately i’ve been really trying to take care of myself. normally, i live off 3 pots of coffee and chain-smoking, and a steady diet of candy. but the past few weeks, i’ve been really trying to eat right, drink more water/less coffee, and cut down on the cigs and junk food. and what does it get me? a pulled back. not saying that my back is a result of me trying to be better to myself- but it certainly is frustrating. i’m supposed to be feeling better- right? i’m not. uuggghhh!!

    and double yay for ‘clap your hands say yeah’.

    and i don’t know if paper tastes good- but my cats certainly like it.

    and joeyyy… i’m glad to know i’m not the only one who’s only comfortable in fetal position.
    🙂

  8. xoxonicole April 12, 2008 at 12:53 pm #

    fuckin ouch!! i hope your back is doing a little better now. but i like the cane, i must say. you could walk around with it always &use it to hit people in your way, like one of those crazy old peoples. =)

  9. Kristen Ferrell April 12, 2008 at 1:13 pm #

    i discovered that it’s my “office chair” that’s doing it. when i’m up and walking around, or laying down- it’s not so bad. but as soon as my ass touches my office chair, pain starts to shoot up my spine. so i’m going to have to invest in one of those fancy-pants back-correcting office chairs that cost WAAAAAAY too much money. goddamnit. like i need something else to spend my money on. blech.

  10. Dee Stroi April 19, 2008 at 11:08 am #

    Hope your back feels better. I was sitting the same damn way while reading this. haha. i dont even notice i sit like that. I sit a the table like that in the morning when I eat my breakfast. my family makes fun of me.

    I wanna be in your Degrassi cult!!!

Leave a Reply

