Can we PLEASE bring back “Scared Straight”???!!!

30 Apr

… “If I Gave A Damn” by the Hardaways

I would like everyone to watch this video please, and tell me all the things that are wrong with this situation:

uuuummmmm…. WHAT THE FUCK!!!!

Now, I have a “high maintenance child” who likes to cause trouble and instigate chaos… but the thought would NEVER EVER even enter his head to steal my car keys, invite another kid into my car with him, and then go “joy riding”… and the little boy in this video is 2 years YOUNGER than my son is!!  Where were the fucking parents in this situation?  Why was noone keeping an eye on this 7 year old? And how in 7 short years did this kid get so screwed up that he doesn’t care if he kills people by driving around in his grandmother’s SUV because he was “mad at his mom” and wanted to go do “hoodrat stuff”??!!  And did everyone see the state the car was in when he finally killed it?  It died after hitting multiple parked and moving cars!!  And did you see how nicely the cops were talking to him?  I’ve been screamed at by cops for going 6 miles over the speed limit… but this kid jeopardized the lives of the kid who was in the car with him and everyone else on the road that day, not to mention destroyed his grandmothers car, everyone else’s car he hit, and all kinds of public and city property!!  How come I get screamed at by the police for minor traffic violations, and this fucking brat gets the calm soothing tones after his “hoodratting”?  And how the holy fuck does a 7 year old know what “hoodrat” even means???

This is my son’s peer group.  This is the kind of moronic unsupervised sociopathic bullshit nightmare that my kid gets to grow up with, go to school with, and hang out around.  Ya wanna know what’s going on with the “kids today”?  Here ya go.  Ever seen the movie “Idiocracy”?  If not, go rent it.  Right now.  It’s the Nostradamus of our time, and a frighteningly true tale of things to come (told in a really funny way). If you have seen it… it has started- and this kid is a major player.  The plague-like retardation that has hit our country is only gonna get worse, and the next thing we know we’ll have doctors saying things like “It says on your chart that you’re fucked up. You talk like a fag and your shit’s all retarded” (one of the best quotes from the movie- it’s so good that I actually remembered it).

I would say “this kid needs some serious help” (which is obvious)… but how uncommon is this kid?  Granted, alot of them aren’t stupid enough to take their grandma’s car out joyriding… but I see how kids act at parks and my son’s school.  And there are quite a few of them that aren’t much different than this little horror.

The really scary thing is that when we’re old and gray, THESE are the kids that are going to be running the show.  Chew on that for a while… (kindof makes you wanna throw yourself in front of a train, huh?).

12 Responses to “Can we PLEASE bring back “Scared Straight”???!!!”

  1. matorias April 30, 2008 at 8:50 pm #

    I recommend that movie so often, its not even funny.

    And, welcome to the age of television raised kids.

  2. Kristen Ferrell April 30, 2008 at 11:09 pm #

    That movie made me giggle until I hurt- but scared the shit out of me at the same time. I loved it. 🙂

    And this is EXACTLY why I got rid of all television when my son turned three. We still have a television set, and a DVD player… but our TV doesn’t get any channels on it- not even PBS. By the time he was 3, he had learned everything “Sesame Street” was going to teach him, and anything worth a damn can be rented at the library. He had a “play date” when he was 4, and learned to say “shut up” from watching “Rugrats” on nickelodeon. I have never once regretted getting the television out of my house. When he wants something to do, he reads a book, or draws, or builds things. And the only “video game” crap he has is a “gameboy” that we used when driving from Kansas to California when we moved… and it’s been locked away on a shelf ever since then.
    This is why at age 9, he’s reading at a 9th grade level. And he draws the most insane and ingenious things I’ve ever seen. And he can explain “Sacred Geometry” to you, or tell you all the different habitats that every type of monkey is supposed to live in.

    As long as he stays away from all the other “Idiocracy” kids out there, he’ll be fine. But they are quickly becoming the norm, and it’s terrifying.

  3. Brandi May 1, 2008 at 5:28 am #

    We don’t have television either. We do other things. For more than three years now we have not watched television. My kids are more creative for it…of course, we do have internet-which is the new tv, and other various screens for occasional dvd watching and video games. When Peyton was 13 I finally broke down and let him play GTA. I can’t tell you how ridiculous I felt when I felt I had to explain to him the consequences of actually doing the things he does on that video game. When he looked at me and said “I’m not going to beat or rape anyone, mom” I felt like a total asshole, because of course he knows these things are only glorified in that context, but even so, every time that game is on I feel like a terrible parent, but…that said. I read somewhere that who are children end up is ultimately determined more by their friends than their parents. THAT is fucking scary to me.
    When I was 15 I stole my grandma’s car, and drove around with my 14 year old girlfriend and ended up trashing, and crashing it before I brought it back at about 6am. I turned out okay, so there may be hope for this kid.
    Television is raising our kids friends.
    We are so desensitized to voilence, abuse, etc. as a result of the amount we see on television that we minimize how serious things like this are. It’s another form of entertainment.
    I don’t get how violence is entertaining…and it’s a part of world history. We are historically entertained by death and violence. It was in the town square, with executions for every one to veiw and the gladiators in the colosseum, and now in our living rooms and homes we can watch murder, child rape even on our televisions sets and call it entertainment.
    *sigh, stepping off of my soap box*

  4. Kristen Ferrell May 1, 2008 at 8:18 am #

    When I was about 13, me and my friends used to take her parents car out… but there’s a big difference between 7 and 13. At age 7, I was playing with dolls, going to the park, and dressing my cat up in “people clothes”… not stealing cars. It was more the attitude of the little kid that disturbed me than the actual act itself. And the fact that there was no supervision at all, which allowed him and his friend to steal the car.
    My son is really susceptible to external influence like television or violent video games- so I’m standing firm on it not being in the house until he’s much older and can make clearer judgment calls with his own behavior. Part of his Asperger’s Syndrome is that he doesn’t understand normal social behavior and cues- so he will mimic what he sees on TV and in movies in order to “fit in” because he thinks that must be how people behave. So I keep a firm thumb on all that stuff, and only let him watch “happy happy niceness”, nature shows, or really entertaining forms of educational programs (ie: “Dirty Jobs” or “Myth Busters” dvd’s we have). As he gets older, he’ll get more freedoms- but for now, our house will not be infiltrated by all the crap that’s out there.
    It’s really hard to be a parent right now… external and media influences are completely controlling how are kids look, act, and think- and 99% of is complete bullshit filler or harmful to their little minds.
    I didn’t like violence in movies or on TV until I was in college- and that’s just in horror movies. I loooooove Japanese horror films because they are so over-the-top that it’s hilarious. But little kids who are obsessed with this stuff freak me out.

  5. Cassie May 1, 2008 at 8:50 am #

    My cousin took my uncles car joyriding in the country and almost killed someone. He was 4.
    Things like this have been coming for quite some time now and it worries me. Just like what Brandi said about our childrens friends being the deciding factor in what kind of people our children become…….
    Lily is never leaving the house again! *sigh*

  6. Kristen Ferrell May 1, 2008 at 9:59 am #

    We are who we surround ourselves with. This is just fact (and that’s why I am VERY PARTICULAR with who I choose to spend my time with). We take in and adapt to whatever our surrounding are in order to fit in and have companionship. It’s part of how our minds work. So if you’re surrounded by good people, you’ll tend to behave that way- the same goes if you surround yourself with scumbags, you’ll become desensitized to scumbag behavior and start to think that way. This is ESPECIALLY the case with kids and teenagers, who are insecure and still trying to figure out right-from-wrong in “real world” situations. Once our kids get to be of a more independent age and are running around with friends, this gets scary because they don’t have that parental eye watching over their decisions. You’ve got to just cross your fingers and hope that some of the good lessons you put in their little brains shines through the bullshit. Raising them with a strong sense of self is key in this- so they have the courage to say “ya know, I really don’t want to stick that needle in my arm and get loaded” or “I’d rather not slash all the tires in that mall’s parking lot” or give into mob mentality and beat up people or whatever.

    I’ve heard scores of stories of toddlers and little tykes taking out cars… but I think that’s more out of curiosity (because kids that age have no concept of consequences to their actions). The kid in that video, though… he just didn’t give a shit. Little sociopath in the making. Ugh!!!

  7. Brandi May 1, 2008 at 10:56 am #

    you are very wise.
    it’s true. That child had no remorse. He actually said something like “maybe I’ll be without video games for the week(end)…” or something to that effect. Seriously, if I was grandma I would sell the game system and all the games on ebay, along with everything other unnecessary bit of entertainment to pay for the damages to those other vehicles.
    But, then again…what sort of shit would he get into without the games and/or television to babysit him?

  8. Kristen Ferrell May 1, 2008 at 11:09 am #

    If the majority of what a kid is exposed to as far as society goes is what he/she sees in video games, movies, and on television- AND if that kid doesn’t have a parent there to monitor what that child is watching, you have a kid who has totally unrealistic perceptions of what is normal, healthy, and appropriate behavior. There’s nothing wrong with the shows or video games… but “age appropriateness” needs to come into play here, and watching too much of ANYTHING isn’t healthy. Everything can be ok if in moderation.
    It’s all just very disturbing.

  9. Caitlin May 1, 2008 at 12:41 pm #

    Oh my god. That video made me feel sick.
    Did that little boy seriously say “it’s fun to do bad things” and “i wanted to do hoodrat stuff with my friends”
    AREN’T HIS FRIENDS SEVEN YEAR OLDS TOO?!
    It’s appaling, really.

  10. Kristen Ferrell May 1, 2008 at 4:37 pm #

    By age 7, kids know right from wrong and have a basic understanding of the results of their actions. Granted, that understanding is extremely simplified- but it IS there. This kid is frightening in how he just doesn’t give a shit.

  11. whitney May 1, 2008 at 9:34 pm #

    crimany…

    what’s Brawndo?
    it has electrolites in it.

    what are electrolites?
    it’s what’s in Brawndo.

    i’m batin’ scro.

    …i apologize for all the quoting i’ve been doing lately.

  12. Kristen Ferrell May 1, 2008 at 11:02 pm #

    it’s totally ok… you give good quote. 🙂
    xoxoxo

Leave a Reply

