Just because we can, DOESN’T mean we should….

12 May

I worked retail for about 10 years.  When you work retail for an extended amount of time, you’re exposed to just about every type of person out there- and you grow to loathe almost all of them.  But the people that I grew to hate with a blind wild passion are couples with litters of children.  All my friends in the food service industry will raise a fist in the air and scream “hell yeah!” to this statement as well.  You’ve got over-tired parents just trying to get out of the house for a while, and their kids are running and screaming through stores and restaurants…. almost tripping waiters or getting their grubby clumsy little hands on all the merchandise in the store.  But do the parents stop them? Of course not!  Why?  Because they’re too fucking exhausted from over-breeding to be able to pay close enough attention to all their millions of kids, and there are just too many of them to keep track.  These people are service workers worst enemy.

Not only is having massive amounts of kids selfish and completely narcissistic (come on- are you REALLY that awesome that you need to duplicate your genetic code over and over and over and over again? No, you aren’t), but it’s so globally irresponsible that it’s sickening.  Overpopulation is the number one reason why our planet is a complete mess… too much waste, too much consumption, too much over-development of our wildlife, too many toxins, too many landfills, too many factories, etc etc etc etc.  When I see people with enough children to have their own family softball team, it makes me nauseous, and I have to fight the urge to beat the ever-lovin’ shit out of them.  To inflict the planet’s population with your pathetic drive to start your own genetically-coordinated city is just rude.

A couple days ago, Brad showed me this photo:

This is a couple in Arkansas who have 17 kids, and are expecting child number 18.  18 FUCKING CHILDREN!!!! I had to take a couple days before I vomited my public response to this because I blew my fucking top.  How dare these piles of trash burden our society with this much breeding!!!  How fucking ignorant are these assholes??!  I hate these people to my very core.

Let’s talk about waste… starting with diapers.  A baby will go through about 5 diapers a day (if your lucky- but it’s usually more those first few months).  By age 2, a child will go through approx. 3650 diapers.  If you have 18 fucking kids, that comes to over 65,700 diapers.  That is this asshole family’s contribution to our landfills.  But let’s say they used cloth diapers instead- when you have a baby, you’re doing laundry every day anyways- but ESPECIALLY if your using cloth diapers.  On average, one load of laundry uses about 22 gallons of water.  But let’s be realistic and say that these folks have to do about 2-3 loads a day because they are starting their own army.  In their 18 years of breeding, they will use 290,000-434,000 gallons of water on laundry alone. That doesn’t include the chemicals going into our environment from detergents- or the hard core bleaching chemicals that a cloth diaper service uses if they chose this route.  This is just diapers and laundry… then there is water waste from this many people’s dishes, bathing, etc.  Then there is food waste and consumption.  And energy waste to keep this many people going.  Etc etc etc….  god- this family makes me SICK!!!!

I don’t know exactly what the “right” number of kids is.  My mom always told me that after my little brother came along, she realized that 3 kids was a little too much to handle, and that you should only have as many kids as you have hands (or else the extra kids are running with scissors in the streets towards strangers with candy).  Every child deserves so much love, care, and attention that if those emotions have to be split up between too many kids someone is going to be neglected.  And if you DO want to have more babies than you know what to do with- how about adoption???  How about the countless numbers of children in the foster care system who are DESPERATE for a loving home?  Do you REALLY need for ALL your kids to have mommy’s eyes, or daddy’s nose?  If someone is so fucking ignorant that they think 18 kids is a good idea, that’s the LAST person on the planet who should have 18 kids.

I’m going to find out where these fuckers live, and mail them an economy sized box of condoms and some “safe sex” literature that can be found at any local highschool.  Michelle and Jim Bob Duggar from Rogers, Arkansas… fuck you to hell for making our planet a that much more crowded and filthy by your blind stupidity and inflated sense of genetic greatness.  God won’t be mad at you for slowing down the reproduction… and your uterus will thank you (if it hasn’t fallen out in an attempt to escape already).

24 Responses to “Just because we can, DOESN’T mean we should….”

  1. hayley g May 12, 2008 at 10:53 am #

    hah 90,000 diapers to date (god knows when this article was written too!) http://health.discovery.com/convergence/duggars/funfacts.html AND they are debt free! What the hell?!!

  2. Kristen Ferrell May 12, 2008 at 11:37 am #

    if i had been pregnant 135 months of my life, i’d blow my brains out.

    So let’s recalculate the amount of water wasted on their laundry using the new information of having to do 200 loads a month… lowballing it by just saying over the last 18 years, that’s 43,200 loads of laundry… which equals out to 950,400 gallons of water. fuck these wasteful selfish douchebags.

    what blows my mind in your link is that it’s titled “Fun Facts About The Duggars”. these aren’t “fun facts”… these are reason for public reprimand. why are they being praised for being morons? i can’t tell you how often i hear the bullshit speech from people “oh… you’re only going to have one child? you should have more! won’t your son get lonely? etc etc etc”.
    No… my son won’t get lonely because he’s being raised with a self-esteem so he doesn’t need to be around other people all the time to feel complete. and i have enough respect for the other 6 and half billion people on this planet to not inflict them with a fucking litter of children. AND i’m aware enough of my own limitations to know that one is all i can handle, and to bring any more into my life would be bad for our family because i’d jump in front of a bus.

    how the holy fuck are they debt free???!!! though it is really fucking cheap to live in a town in Arkansas that only has 50,000 people. and the dad was in politics and is a real estate agent. and they have the lord on their side… right? (they’re WAAAAAAAY southern baptist)

  3. ash May 12, 2008 at 1:51 pm #

    hahaha! You are a funny lady! Damn those Duggars? Doesn’t it disturb you that the families that have 12+ kids are usually EVANGELICAL CHRISTIANS? Eww, I know!

    • My opinion November 11, 2012 at 10:37 pm #

      Actually that isn’t true–the difference would be that their names are both on the birth certificate and they are married. Some unmarried guys are apparently out there screwing everything that walks and creating various single parent “families” and only wanting to be known if it is a benefit.

  4. Kristen Ferrell May 12, 2008 at 3:55 pm #

    Recently, the pope announced the new sins for the new era… and environmental disregard was one of them. The catholics are on board with common sense… which is a really good step in the right direction. But the evangelicals are afraid of Harry Potter, condoms, and “rock music”- so trying to explain to these folks the global ramifications of overwhelming amounts of breeding won’t do much good.

    Babies aren’t “god’s will”… babies are science projects. Egg + sperm + right “time of the month” = fertilization.
    If all babies were “god’s will”, then that guy is an asshole for knocking up 13 year old crack addicts.

  5. hayley g May 12, 2008 at 4:45 pm #

    oh, speaking of babies, Happy belated Mother’s Day!

  6. Lemissa May 12, 2008 at 8:38 pm #

    amen sista!!!!!!!!!!
    I often get the, “when are you having kids?” welll I am creeping up on 33 and that clock ain’t ticking at ALL…thank the gods! I don’t understand it at all. I have always maintained to never let the children outnumber the adults and since I am hardly an adult yet I can’t have kids! whoo-hoo!

  7. Bobby D May 13, 2008 at 5:24 am #

    With the number of people who question religion these days maybe these religious types who have a thousand kids are just making sure they have some young impressionable minds to poison to keep there church numbers up, and keep the collection plate filled. I saw this family on TV before, and they are fucking ridiculous, they make me want to punch life.

  8. Cassie May 13, 2008 at 5:36 am #

    I cant even tell you the amount of times I get asked,
    “Aren’t you going to have another one? Dont you worry about Lily getting lonely?”
    No, no I dont.
    She has 3 cats, a dog, me and a cousin who is the exact same age as her plus numerous friends. Her possibly getting “lonely” is not a justafiable reason for me to have to have another child living off my insides for 9 months.
    I do not posses the patience it would take to have another child. And I dont believe this planet needs another mini me. Lily does an excellent job at that all by herself!

    Christians aren’t have more and more kids because its gods will or they are against condoms. They are doing it so they can slowly take over the planet! Forcing all of us free thinkers out of the way with their sheep mentality and identical hairstyles.

    Love you. Love your rants!

  9. whitney May 13, 2008 at 6:42 am #

    i bet more than half of those ladies kids hate her for that… but they probably won’t admit it.

  10. whitney May 13, 2008 at 6:43 am #

    oh and the dad… i bet they hate him too.

    fucking….inconsiderate pricks.

  11. Kristen Ferrell May 13, 2008 at 8:15 am #

    One thing I will never ever understand is forcing your kids to believe in the same religion that you do. All religions have pretty much the same ethical code (ie: play nice), so raising a child with strong ethics is just basic parenting. But religion is such a deeply personal thing, that to force anyone else to believe the same thing that you do (or to raise someone without the option of believing something different) is SO FUCKING NARCISSISTIC! How can a person be absolutely positive that their religion is the right one for everyone? And how can a parent be absolutely positive that their god will give their kids the same comfort that it gives them? Noone has the right to make that choice for someone else.
    Personally, I think the concept of a God is just funny… BUT at a really early age I started teaching my son about ALL the religions so that when he gets older, if he wants a god he knows about all the different teams and can choose wisely. That choice is HIS – not mine. And it’s important for him to learn to be a good person because he cares about other people- NOT because he’ll go to hell if he’s not.
    Fortunately, he’s very logic-driven. And he’s never understood the “god” thing, or the “faith” thing, and he’s been exposed to tons of bible stuff and sees it all as weird. So I don’t have to deal with a little evangelical in my house trying to “save my soul”.

  12. Tawni May 13, 2008 at 11:06 am #

    Kristen!

    I saw the Duggars on one of those morning “Today” or “Good Morning America” shows the other day (I was looking for weather/tornado conditions and flipping around channels, so I don’t know which one it was) and I was FURIOUS.

    Don’t explode, but they said on the show that they had nineteen kids, and… she’s PREGNANT again!!! They are going to have twenty! I almost had an aneurysm on the spot. Total fuming mad meltdown.

    The show’s host then started congratulating her on the pregnancy (like that fucking means anything anymore to her) and talking about some gifts they’d be receiving from the show for coming on and I was screaming “Don’t REWARD THEM for this!” at the television set and ranting about how selfish they are and the ecological impact of mindless breeding and how we’re all probably paying with our taxes for their litters of children, etc. I had turn the channel, with a promise to myself that I’d “write it out of my system” in a blog or something.

    Then you did it for me. And that’s why I adore you. 🙂

    (P.S. The hubby got the vasectomy a few months ago. We can’t afford more than the one kid we have and don’t expect the government to take financial care of our reproductive accidents. Do you hear me, you breeding Duggars?!! Stop it!!!)

  13. Kristen Ferrell May 13, 2008 at 11:42 am #

    Brad’s supposed to get a vasectomy… but he hasn’t yet. I’m not sure what he’s waiting for. A vasectomy costs about the same as an abortion- so I tell him that he can either get clipped now, or get clipped after he accidentally knocks me up and has to pay for my “clinic time” so we don’t have a bouncing-baby-brad. I say it’s easier and cheaper for him to get clipped now. I don’t need any more high-maintenance people living in my house.

    I can’t believe they’re going on 20 fucking kids. Did you see that their names all begin with the letter ‘J’? The forced cuteness factor of that makes me that much more nauseous. Putting all social and environment issues aside… can you imagine what the mother’s body must be like? I’m not talking about what it looks like… but the amount of damage that birthing 20 babies could do to it internally? The human body is not supposed to have that many fucking kids. The whole thing disgusts me. It’s irresponsible on every fucking level.
    And the fact that they’re getting praise and gifts for their selfish and ignorant behavior is just the icing on the cake. FUCK YOU, DUGGARS!!!!

  14. Kaybomb May 13, 2008 at 1:41 pm #

    UG, I feel sick today reading this. Directly after deciding to have maybe a child or two…

  15. Kristen Ferrell May 13, 2008 at 2:36 pm #

    I see nothing wrong with have a child or 2, or 3 or whatever. But when people have 10, or 15, or 20… for christ’s sake- gimme a break! Kids are amazing, but that many kids is just out of control. It’s not necessary. And I don’t see why these good christian families who are so pro-life that they don’t believe in condoms aren’t adopting babies out there who need homes?!

  16. Ashley May 14, 2008 at 3:11 pm #

    UGH!!! I KNOW!!! I also HATE how the morning shows and news GLAMOURIZE them!!! EWWWWW! It’s a vagina Mam, not a clown car. I saw this, and INSTANTLY felt guilty for bringing another child into the world. The only good excuse I have is that I am “responsible”, cloth diapers, organic clothing & bedding, we don’t have to kill more animals to survive, we recycle and REUSE everything, you know, crap like that. I’m not bragging, I just would feel too fucking guilty otherwise. It’s not perfect, and it will still leave a dent on the planet, but I try. Her vagina will fall out with this one. They’re just too creepy.

  17. Kristen Ferrell May 14, 2008 at 10:04 pm #

    “It’s a vagina Mam, not a clown car.”….. HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!! That’s the funniest thing I’ve heard in weeks!!!!!!

    There’s such a difference between a few kids, and a dozen kids. Plus, you’re the most environmentally aware person I’ve ever met- so you haven’t got a damn thing to feel guilty about, lady!!!
    xoxo

  18. nicole May 17, 2008 at 12:10 pm #

    i’ve worked in retail since i was 16, &wow, i’ve totally grown to hate 2 kinds of people: really mean old people (i never thought old people were mean prior to getting my first real job, b/c my grandmas are fuckin great!) &bad parents. holy fucking hell, little brats skating through the store on their fucking heelies or whatever the fuck they’re called, god, all i can do is hope for them to fall backwards &knock the wind out of themselves. so annoying! &the best part is when the parents get pissed that they’re in the way, or that they’re knocking shit off the shelves &embarassing the parents.. it’s like, control your fucking child &DON’T FUCKING BUY THEM WHEELY FUCKING SHOES TO WEAR IN A STORE! fuck man, this is not a skating rink! that’s a perfect example of something that sounds really fun until it’s actually put into action..

    anywayyy, i am so glad you made this post, because the duggars must be stopped! hahaha no really, they are mad.. i am furious to hear that they’re having their 18th fucking kid! when will it fucking stop?! can we please neuter these retards before they do it again??? it’s sick to think that these two people are so set on populating their own little planet, especially when there are tons &tons of kids out there who are just waiting to find a permanent home. why are they not as worthy of getting a home &a family as the duggars’ little brats? it’s like, if you’re going to have a farm, at least make yourselves useful &adopt some kids who really deserve to be brought into a family! i feel bad for the duggars’ kids, too, because they didn’t ask to be brought into a freaky fuckin weirdo family, &they’re so brainwashed, they’re going to be fucked when it comes time to become an actual part of society. i think their oldest sons are in their 20’s &still live at home, &work for their dad or something– hmmm, ok, so are they going to continue being socially retarded until they’re 80, living with all their freaky siblings?? i can’t but hope that at least one of them gives their parents high hell throughout their teenage years– maybe that’ll make them think twice about having another kid.. &another thought– i can’t believe they don’t use cloth diapers!! these people built their own home, for fuck’s sake, i mean– if you’re going to be all about saving money, at least be smart &consider how much money you waste by using disposable diapers, not to mention, the sheer waste you cause by using them alone.. if nothing, consider the consequences that your 50-fucking-million kids will have to endure when you’re dead &gone. blah, sorry to rant in your journal.. haha in relation to the above comment, my boyfriend showed me this a while back, &i almost pissed my pants laughing! http://photos1.blogger.com/blogger/3510/2037/320/vagina.jpg

  19. Lex May 18, 2008 at 6:55 pm #

    OMG…I had to chase the Bob Jones University Alumni family off my street and they had EIGHT. And yes, it was all about “breeding us out”. OTOH, tons of the families I know from all over Latin America tend to have tons of kids too, and it’s these kind of people who tend to get pissed when any of us “ethnic” folks have large families…even if these families can pay for them. The family on my street couldn’t even keep track physically of these kids though. It was ridiculous. Plus, the 1st few were 8 years apart and then one right after the other, all right after they joined that cult out in Stillwell or wherever. Ugh.

    Either way, I saw this movie the other night, “The Mist”, and I swear Marcia Gay Harden did the absolute best impression (right down to the hair, clothes and most of the speeches) I’ve ever imagined of my former neighbor, Mrs. Pottery Barn Ruby Ridge. Seriously, how I missed that actress visiting this street to study Mrs. PBRR is beyond me.

  20. Lex May 18, 2008 at 7:03 pm #

    Oh, BTW, the scene in “The Mist” includes the anti-“it’s God’s wrath” folks shooting the Marcia Gay Harden character, and that really didn’t happen in real life (to my neighbor). I always say all life is sacred too, but honestly, if someone finally put that woman out of her misery I’d probably stifle giggles not tears. Does that make me a total bitch? I mean, I’m not a “real Christian” after all…..ROFLMAO.

    I just wonder if this family is anything like the one here. I swear, hearing 5 year olds saying that “all black people are bad, except for the ones who play for KU” and “some people think the Earth is millions of years old, but my Mom says that they’re stupid!” and saying these things to MY KIDS! Honestly, I’ve had enough of a time just trying to teach my children even more to undo the damage by those brainwashed little rubes! (Though hearing them freak out over Obama would be pretty hilarious, I’m still glad they were more willing to pay two house payments than stay on a block with a neighbor who ISN’T ashamed of having a gay sibling!!) OK, sorry, end rant about neighbors again./

  21. Lex May 24, 2008 at 7:36 am #

    Thought this might interest you. From National Review (I have a gift subscription, don’t ask) in the “This Week” blurbs in the June 2 issue:
    “We extend our congratulations to Mrs. Michelle Duggar of Tontitown, Ark., who has learned that she is expecting her 18th child. The new addition will join seven sisters and ten brothers, including two sets of twins. All the children are home-schooled, and each learns to play both violin and piano. Their father, Jim Bob Duggar, is a realtor who served in the Ark. House of Representatives from 1999 to 2002. The Duggar family’s philoprogenitiveness has arounsed a quite astonishing level of scorn and disgust on the anti-natalist left: “This kind of indiscriminate, excessive breeding is disgraceful,” etc. Astonishing that such a love of life and natural fruitfulness should draw such wrath; encouraging that children are still regarded as an unqualified blessing, in any quantity, by at least some Americans.
    (emphasis mine)

    This from a mag that now spends most of its time ranting about “black nationalism”, how “global warming doesn’t exist”, and disgusted otherwise that such “fruitfulness” causes people in over-populated countries to want to come to this country for better opportunities for their children.

    Just thought you’d enjoy that little zinger. Don’t worry, the much more adept minds than mine over at sadlyno.com spend plenty of time ripping on these writers;)

  22. Kristen Ferrell May 25, 2008 at 9:49 am #

    “Astonishing that such a love of life and natural fruitfulness should draw such wrath; encouraging that children are still regarded as an unqualified blessing, in any quantity, by at least some Americans.”

    “Natural fruitfulness”????!!! We are not rabbits. There is nothing natural about having this many kids!! Nature did not intend on a woman’s body to pump out this many children!! Just because by some freakish ability they are able to does not mean that they should have done it! And this certainly is NOT an example of a “love of life”… if they truly loved life, they’d respect the 6 billion plus lives on the planet AND the planet itself and not add to the the damage caused by overpopulation.
    At least they’re aware that not everyone thinks they’re awesome- but they think that they have god on their side, so I’m sure they don’t give a damn.

    These people make me want to kick things.

  23. Candice May 26, 2008 at 12:21 pm #

    I was just talking about this family with my friend the other day. I decided it was time for Arkansas to change their state motto from “The Natural State” to “The Walking Uterus State”.

    On their site they say that they believe birth control is selfish and they blame their prior use of it for the miscarriage of a baby. It’s a sad way of thinking to me. I guess females are selfish if we’re not constantly popping out babies! Not to mention that it doesn’t at all make sense with their supposed belief system. It seems that (according to their beliefs) if their God had wanted them to have that child, then it would have lived. Funny how some Christians think that things like birth control are more powerful than the all powerful, all knowing, ever present being that they worship.

    It’s all beyond me really. But it makes me wanna vom.

Leave a Reply

