Growly Bear is in the house…

10 Jun

… “All these governors” by The Evens

“A salmonella outbreak linked to raw tomatoes serves as a reminder to take extra care with summer fruits and vegetables”… That’s from this morning’s yahoo news. This irritates me greatly. Not so much for the sake of tomatoes (because we have gigantic mutant tomato plants in our backyard that we utilize instead of purchasing them from the grocery store)- but because even if a person takes the steps to eat healthy food, they can still get poisoned. I’ve been a vegetarian for over half my life, and the lack of salmonella plus other forms of food poisoning has been a major perk in not eating animal flesh. But now it doesn’t matter because all our food is potentially tainted and toxic. Fuck you, corporate growers.

But even if all our food wasn’t tainted by contaminates present because of the ever declining standards of corporate farming- the food is now too goddamn expensive to even buy. I was at the store the other day, and a big bag of grapes was over $7. $7 for fucking grapes!!! (Yes, I declined that purchase… we don’t need grapes that badly). Gas here is $4.50 a gallon, the price of food is skyrocketing because transporting it is so expensive because of the price of gas, but wages aren’t improving. I can’t believe that our country’s leaders have the nerve to say that we aren’t in a recession yet. Unemployment quickly rising because companies are shutting down left and right or moving overseas, cost of living skyrocketing, home foreclosures are at a record high, wages are at a standstill, public institutions such as schools are falling apart due to lack of funding, etc. They say we’re almost there- but not yet. Really? How much worse does it have to get? I know that it CAN get much worse, but are they going to let it before changes are made? Jeeeeeeeeeeesus!! I don’t think our “leaders” have the right to call themselves “leaders” anymore. I think we should officially change their title to “rich lazy apathetic bastards”.

It’s 9:30 in the morning and Brad is blasting ’70’s feel-good disco music. My head is filled with visions of grabbing the exacto-knife off my desk and making a slasher-movie of his face because of this. This is not the music that you ease into your day with. This is the music that you dance around to during a drunken “girl’s night out”. What the fuck has happened to my husband? No one should have to hear the word “funk” so many times before 11am.

We took Sully to the Getty Museum on Sunday. I now feel it is a mandatory attraction to see if you’re in the LA area. It is BEAUTIFUL and the collections they have are fantastic. And as far as LA attractions go, it’s cheap! Free to get in, but parking is $8. Compared to the CRAZY expensive prices of amusement parks and other attractions in our area, this was pretty smiley. I took my camera, and let Sully pick out all his favorite pieces for me to take photos of (by the end of the day, we had taken 112 pictures… my little fella LOOOOVES art). For a Sunday, it wasn’t too crowded… but the rest of the people there all seemed to be families with many ill-behaved children. The guards there were in a frenzy trying to keep the unmonitored children from climbing on the sculptures, running through the exhibits with food and drinks, and tearing up the gardens. This totally blew my mind. Maybe it’s because I started taking Sully to galleries and museums when he was just a baby- but he knows that these are sacred places filled with irreplaceable artifacts that time line the advances of our species… and these places are to be treated with respect. Hands in pockets always, speak in hushed “library” tones so as not to ruin other people’s experience, and walk carefully at all times. I was so horrified and disgusted with the other families there- irresponsible parents who don’t have the sense to teach their kids to properly behave in a place filled with delicate artifacts from 2000 years ago. Sully was equally horrified. He knows that if you want to run around and scream, you go to a park… NOT a museum. It took everything I had to not slap the shit out of people. The only saving grace was there were quite a few grumpy old ladies. Grumpy old ladies are hilarious, and I love to stand near them and listen to the vicious venom that comes flying from their mouth. They take full advantage of the fact that they’re old, and not going to get reprimanded for talking mountains of shit- so they just say whatever is on their mind. I can’t wait until I’m a grumpy old lady. It’s going to be a blast.

Here are a couple of Sully’s favorite pieces we saw…….

(he really loves the old religious pieces. He’s fully aware that the skill and attention to detail has been lost over the centuries. My fella is brilliant.)

Here’s a little of the garden that the wretched children were trying to tear up:

Here’s my response to the other children at the museum that day:

I didn’t post all 112 pics on my flickr page, (because I didn’t want to bore folks, but also alot of them came out like crap because you can’t use a flash in museums). But a bunch of them are on there…. so go HERE if you want to take a peek at the other prettys we saw.

Tomorrow is Sully’s birthday, so off I go to get party favors for his classroom party, and treats and bla bla bla. He’ll be 10. It’s weird to me that I’ve owned him for a decade. I didn’t think 10 years could go by so fast… but it really really does.

(oh yeah…. I build a new website… so if you go to KristenFerrell.com you can take a peek.  For all the stores out there- there’s a whole new wholesale website, so click on the “wholesale” tab and submit your info for the password- or if you’re an already existing customer, just email me and I’ll give you the password.  And if my store looks different, it’s because I made an editing mistake and totally fucked the whole thing up and had to build a new one really quickly.  It will be more decorative when I have a little more time to dedicate to it.  That is all!!)  🙂

10 Responses to “Growly Bear is in the house…”

  1. whitney June 10, 2008 at 6:54 pm #

    i went to panera bread today and wanted to get their tomatoe soup, but since there’s a recall, there’s no tomatoe soup!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! it’s outrageous. even though it was last year, i remember hearing someone in line at the grocery store buy a bag of cherries for $15! i don’t know if that’s suppose to be a normal price range for cherries (i barely buy them), but it just seemed fucking nuts. blah.

    some people’s kids really amaze me. actually the people who have these crazy kids amaze me………… it seems that most people that have kids use them as some sort of novelty… kinda like that family with 1 billion kids. and no matter how awful they are, they parade them around like theyre some badass parent. askdjalskdjaslkdj….. i’m having a hard time trying to type my thoughts… i contracted some crappy sinus infection last night and it’s taking a shit on my brain…. i think i’m going to jammy-up, lay down and watch some Blade Runner.
    fuck yeah.

    hope all is well and happy birthday to sully!!

    <33 whitney

  2. Kristen Ferrell June 10, 2008 at 9:01 pm #

    I think today is sick day all around, because on my way out the door tonight to go run errands, I got that horrible “uh-oh… something terrible is going on with my stomach” feeling… and I proceeded to run into the bathroom just in time to projectile vomit into the toilet. No reason. At all. Just mountains of puke, and then I was fine. Lame.

    No, cherries should not cost $15. Unless you’re buying a shit-ton of them. The person who paid that much for them should have to pay everyone on the planet an additional $15 penalty for being such a fucking moron.

    And I get really grossed out by the “child accessory” parents. ESPECIALLY the ones who refuse to reprimand or enforce rules on their kids because they “don’t want to stifle them” or whatever. BULLSHIT!!! They’re only hurting the kids with that attitude, because if boundaries aren’t firmly set in to kids when they’re young, they will have a TERRIBLE time adjusting to the real world when they’re older. Because the real world is all rules, and boundaries, and expectations. You can raise a child with respect and boundaries, and STILL let them be free to be who they want to be. Rules make a child feel safe. Structure is good for them.
    This is why our future is doomed… because it’s in the hands of children raised by retards.

  3. dollypop June 11, 2008 at 6:25 am #

    i’ve been driving people nuts with the ” attack of the killer tomatoes” theme music everywhere.
    i can’t help it it’s one of my all time fave bad movies ever!
    and one thing i have noticed is everyone i know that does not fit in the society’s “cookie cutter” standard of appearance have the best behaved children.
    whilst many of the normal’s have the hellion’s that act like wild cat’s just let of a cage.
    why is this?
    aren’t the punk rockers and the like supposed to be bad, bad people ?
    hmmmmmmm…..pffffffffffffffffffflt !

  4. Kristen Ferrell June 11, 2008 at 8:56 am #

    What I’ve seen is that parents who are a part of “counter cultures” tend to be more driven by the arts and politics- and with that they raise their kids with a different set of ideals. Since we were tortured by the “cool kids” in school, we teach our kids to judge people on their actions and not their appearance. Since we see the farce and propaganda that fills every second of our culture’s media, we tend to keep our kids away from television and the tools of the media- which makes our kids more in touch with reality and more connected with people (ie: more respectful, caring, considerate, and aware of others). Since we are expressive people, we teach our kids to express themselves artistically, and encourage them to grow into the people THEY want to be- not the people that SOCIETY thinks they should be.
    We don’t let television and videogames raise our kids. We don’t tell them to look a certain way to fit in or impose guilt-based belief systems on them. We teach them to question things and think independently.
    I’m not saying that none of the “normal folks” out there do this… but it is amusing when I’m the one that gets glared at by the soccer moms… but it’s the soccer mom’s kids who are the ones who act like little monsters (and my son gets praised by strangers whenever we go out anywhere for having such great manners).

  5. whitney June 11, 2008 at 11:05 am #

    I’ve read people have recommended that you see the movie “Idiocracy”… although it’s got some cheesy-ness to it, it is pretty spot on with how our future is going to be.

    wheeeeeeeeee!

  6. Kristen Ferrell June 11, 2008 at 11:10 am #

    I LOVE THAT MOVIE!!! I recommend it to anyone and everyone.
    It truly is our future.

  7. Cassie June 12, 2008 at 12:54 pm #

    It freaks Lily out whenever we go tot the museum and there are other kids there running around or trying to touch th art. She gets this very serious look on her face and says to me,
    “What the ____ are they doing?” *yes, she purpousfully leaves the pause because she knows very well that she isn’t allowed to cuss until she can pay her own bills.

    It makes me laugh every time I get dirty looks from soccor moms and the like because I’m covered in tattoos. Well you know what?!? My kid is well behaved, she’s in the top 3% of her class and reads at a 9th grade level at the age of nine. Your child on the other hand will be voted most likely to flip burgers for the rest of their natural born life!
    *sigh*

    I must now go rent Idiocracy.

    and HAPPY BIRTHDAY SULLY!!!!!!!

  8. Tawni June 13, 2008 at 7:15 pm #

    Wow. There’s some sort of a pukey stomach bug going around the country, in addition to tainted tomato woes. I had it for four days straight, then Miles woke up projectile vomiting last night. He barfed seven times. Couldn’t even keep water down. We took him to the doctor today because his diaper was dry and they thought he might be dehydrated (hospital time… weeee) but he seemed to “turn the corner” this afternoon. I feel better too. Ugh. I read that you barfed up above in the comments, and had to wonder if you caught a touch of it, too.

    This is the first time I’ve been able to be on the computer for more than five minutes (slave to my toilet… ALL… WEEK) since last Sunday… so I have a lot of reading to catch up on. Forgive my late commenting, please! Hope you’re feeling good and that Brad has ceased to mindless disco-playing. 🙂 xoxoxoxoxo.

  9. Tawni June 13, 2008 at 7:16 pm #

    “ceased THE mindless disco-playing.”

    Sheesh. Speaking of mindless… doy.

  10. Kristen Ferrell June 14, 2008 at 8:16 pm #

    I think my puking is an after-effect of stress. My body will go into overdrive for weeks and be a well-oiled efficient machine… and then I hit the breaking point. Ulcers, insomnia, migraines and weight loss which lead to seizures because of exhaustion and my blood sugar problem, and hives and on and on and on. It’s like my body just totally freaks out and shuts down. But I’m coming out of the thick of it right now- the migraines are getting better, my stomach is feeling a little better, the hives are gone, and I haven’t passed out in a couple weeks. Now I’ve got to just start putting the weight back on and doing whatever it takes to relax so that I can sleep better.
    I don’t know how I got to be such a fucking mess.
    But it’s really annoying, and I just don’t have time for it.

Leave a Reply

