Yeah, Cracker… I’m talking to you…

13 Jun

…”Burn Hollywood Burn” by Public Enemy

A couple days ago, my darling Ashley forwarded me a VOMITOUS email that she had received. She was horrified by it, and wanted to share the ignorance because she knew that I would be equally horrified. And I was. Completely. Before I proudly step up onto my soapbox to rail against this ignorant justification for racism, I’ll let you all read it for yourselves…..

******************************************************************************

Do yourself a favor and read to the end. A.
Proud To Be White
Someone finally said it.
How many are actually paying attention to this?
There are African Americans,
Mexican Americans,
Asian Americans,
Arab Americans,
Native Americans, etc.
…..And then there are just –
Americans.

Some pass me on the street
and sneer in my direction.
They Call me “White boy,”
“Cracker,” “Honkey,”
“Whitey,” “Caveman,”
…..And that’s OK.
You say that whites commit a lot
of violence against you,
so why are the ghettos the most
dangerous places to live?

They have the United Negro College Fund.
They have Hispanic History Month.
They have Martin Luther King Day.
They have Asian History Month.
They have Black History Month.
They have Cesar Chavez Day.
They have Ma’uled Al-Nabi.
They have Yom Hashoah.
They have Kawanza.
They have the NAACP.
And BET.
If we had WET
(White Entertainment Television)
…..We’d be racists.
If we had a White Pride Day
…..You would call us racists.
If we had the White History Month
…..We’d be racist.
If we had any organization for only whites
to “advance” OUR lives,
…..We’d be racists.

We have a Hispanic Chamber of Commerce,
a Black Chamber of Commerce,
and then we just have the plain
Chamber of Commerce.
Wonder who pays for that?
If we had a college fund that only gave
white students scholarships
…..You know we’d be racists.
There are over 60 openly-proclaimed
Black-only Colleges in the US ,
yet if there were “White-only Colleges”
…..THAT would be a racist college.
In the Million-Man March,
you believed that you were
marching for your race and rights.
If we marched for our race and rights,
…..You would call us racists.
You are proud to be black,
brown, yellow and red,
and you’re not afraid to announce it.
But when we announce our white pride
…..You call us racists.
You rob us,
carjack us,
and shoot at us.
But, when a white police officer
shoots a black gang member
or beats up a black drug-dealer
who is running from the LAW and
posing a threat to ALL of society
…..You call him a racist
I am proud.
…..But, you call me a racist.
Why is it that only
whites
can be racists?
There is nothing improper about this e-mail.
Let’s see which of you
are proud enough to send it on…

For those of you out there reading this who DON’T get it, or maybe see some truth in these statements so cleverly written in the colors of our flag, lemme explain a few things to you.

We don’t need “White History Month”, “White College Funds”, “White Chamber of Commerce”, “White Entertainment Television”, “White-only Colleges”, or White-only anything else… because we already have it. It’s called the American Society. Our government is ALREADY blindingly white, and makes laws to benefit white people. Colleges populations are primarily white. Television is primarily white, and caters to a white viewing audience. We live in a society that has the cards stacked against people who aren’t white- which is WHY these separations exist. It’s the same reason why there are women-only colleges; scholarships that are only for women; television channels that cater only to women; special funding and banking situations as well as grants and government assistance that is only for women- because not only does our society cater mainly to white people, it caters MAINLY to WHITE MEN… so there are services and situations set up to help out everyone who is NOT a white male. It would be a beautiful thing if none of this was necessary… but unfortunately, because of the racist and misogynistic society that we live in- we need these things.

And lets talk about the crime comments, and they whole “ghetto is the most dangerous place to live because of non-white people” bullshit. If someone is so fucking stupid that they can’t figure this one out for themselves, they should be put out of their ignorant misery. Low income areas get the least amount of government funding for public facilities (schools, parks, police forces, libraries, etc etc etc). So the kids in these areas are getting a sham of an education so they don’t have the tools necessary to thrive in society; and if you can’t get into a college, or given the life tools to figure out a productive way to exist as an adult- AND you can make 50 times more money selling drugs than you can working at the local McDonalds so that you can maybe support your family… what would you do? And yes, there’s alot of drug use… imagine being raised in poverty and fear, being constantly given the message over and over from society that you don’t matter, KNOWING that you don’t have a chance to live out your dreams- wouldn’t you want to escape? Living in hopelessness would make me want to get loaded, too.

And keep in mind… white people live in the “ghettos” too. And white people commit just as many crimes as non-white people. I grew up in safe surburbia… and the scary difference between suburban white-kid crime and inner city crime is that inner city crimes are usually committed because of survival….. surburban white-kid crimes are committed out of socieopathic BOREDOM. AND the suburban white-kids usually get away with it because the parents can afford lawyers to get them out of their troubles… inner city kids get overworked public defenders.

It’s a horrible circle… being born into poverty & crime, being raised that your only option is poverty & crime, giving up and existing in poverty & crime, and having kids in the midst of poverty crime, and the circle goes on and on and on.

If I had been raised in this kind of environment, I’d be angry too. Yes- people do get out of the inner city and go on to do great things all the time- but that is WHY there are special scholarships for minorities, and government institutions set up to help minorities… SO THAT EVERYONE CAN HAVE A CHANCE AT A GOOD LIFE!!!!

All-black colleges are a GREAT THING!! Special days and months that celebrate the different cultures in this country are a GREAT THING!!! These special days teach our children that other cultures are wonderful, and allow those other cultures to feel pride in an white-dominated society.

So if you agree with the little email that I posted above… you ARE a racist. And if I have to explain why any further, than you’re too dumb to live and should rid the rest of us of your pathetic existence. I really don’t want to share the same air with such a waste of time, you fucking cracker.

15 Responses to “Yeah, Cracker… I’m talking to you…”

  1. whitney June 13, 2008 at 7:30 pm #

    bleh.
    i’ve seen that posting before on myspace from some “prepared to be a marine” type guy. i immediately deleted his ass.

    whoever created that chain mail should get stomped to death…. by a cracker.

  2. Tawni June 13, 2008 at 7:34 pm #

    Eew, eew, eew, eew, eew. My eyes feel dirty after reading that email. Your response is exactly what I was thinking as I read it.

    (“Um, hello? Icky email writer? We don’t need to focus on white history because that is already the main focus in every history class. We don’t need a white television network, because that’s what most of them already are. The minority-promoting holidays and organizations listed exist because they are attempting to correct an imbalance created by our white-centric American society. Oh, and P.S. You misspelled “kwanzaa” you racist morons.”)

    Thanks for posting a sane response to this, K! You rock, as usual, and make me feel better about the world at the same time. It can’t be so bad as long as there are cool folks like yourself living in it, right? 🙂 xoxo.

  3. Tawni June 13, 2008 at 7:37 pm #

    I don’t know what’s up with that winky-smiley emoticon there. I totally wouldn’t wink at the writer of the racist email. It was supposed to be the other side of my parentheses.

    I think I need to step away from the computer tonight. My stomach flu is inducing typos!

  4. Whitney Bones June 13, 2008 at 8:24 pm #

    Haha, people are so ignorant. I hear this kind of thing
    all the time. And after living in a little redneck town.
    That whole “but when we announce our white pride, you call
    us racists.” Makes me want to vomit.

  5. Ashley June 14, 2008 at 10:11 am #

    SO BEAUTIFULLY put! That is EXACTLY it, what those idiots don’t seem to get! EVERYTHING IS ALREADY BRIGHT VANILLA WHITE!!! Organizations are put together by people who want to support the minorities. It’s similar reasons people organize animal rights organizations. If people weren’t outraged by the treatment of an underdog, they would rarely get the recognition and support they deserve. I was also thinking that most organizations were probably established when they had little or no rights!….that’s why they organized them in the first place! I just don’t understand why we all aren’t equal? I’m sorry, but I watch the news,(&those extreme video shows) and I see just as many crackers doing DUMB ass shit as anyone else! The “white pride” comment gets to me…How does white pride even exist when emails like this are circulating? It makes me ashamed to be white. How can you be proud of this? I could go on, but we all get it…..it’s not just wrong because “you know it’s wrong to pick on someone”, it’s waaaaay deeper than that. I just think back to being little and knowing racism existed, and being completely baffled by it even then! I couldn’t understand how a person’s skin color made them different on the inside!? Much like I can’t understand why people would want to eat a cute little bunny or lamb, weren’t they little once, and wanted, or even had a bunny? I may sound completely insane here, comparing bunnies and racism, but I just wonder how we grow up to be such assholes, when we had such potential!?

  6. Kristen Ferrell June 14, 2008 at 8:07 pm #

    I’ve never understood the “White Pride” thing. Not that we should or should not be proud… but who cares? What do white people have to prove, or be threatened by? What’s wrong with other races celebrating their heritage? It’s wonderful that our country addresses the diversity that is here… those celebrations teach other people about different cultures.
    What difference does it make to the average white person that another culture is celebrated, or given attention, or assistance if needed? Are these white-trash motherfuckers so ignorant and insecure that they have to have ALL attention on them at all times? We’ve got a planet filled with over 6 and a half BILLION people- it’s time to stop separating everyone into teams, and playing the “us against them” games, and just see people as people.

    And I’d like to state for the record… who makes up the vast majority of serial killers? White people.
    Who was is who murdered 6 million Jewish people and minorities during the Holocaust in the intent of making the world as white as possible? White people.
    Who was it who murdered MILLIONS of Native Americans by stealing this country and claiming it as their own? White people.
    Oh… and the kidnapping and enslavement of Africans, bringing them to this country, torturing them, treating them like livestock, and not giving them rights AT ALL until about 50 years ago? Yup, white guys.
    Should I go on?….. I could if you’d like me to.
    Just say the word….

    Of course I’m not saying that white people are the cause of all evils and genocide that have gone down in history… but we sure as fuck have no reason to walk around like our shit doesn’t stink. Right?

  7. Lex June 16, 2008 at 8:08 am #

    Damn, this is the stuff I blog about generally and even I hadn’t seen that mail. Actually, I got into this a bit with the hubby the other night because I’m a bit more on your side of the argument here while he’s starting to see me as a “radical”. Whatever. He keeps reminding me, “I’M ‘whitey”. And he’s entitled to see it differently, did grow up a minority with economic privilege, him a white guy who worked since he was 15 all on his own. Still, he didn’t have to explain to the kids why he just got called “a dirty Mexican” and never will.

    Am I happy that Obama got the nomination partly because it feels good to see someone else who’s half-not-white (actually, only 1/4 white here) finally get somewhere? To see a break in a continuous line of white male leaders of this country? Fuck yeah that’s part of the excitement! And I’m not even going to apologize for it either. I wear my Obama 08 shirt proudly around southern Johnson Co. and Kristen can tell you how damned dangerous that can be! And my stickers….and the signs…etc.

    One funny note here, the older Spanish/Cubans in Tampa (and probably the rest of Florida) have taken to using the word “cracker” to describe racist whites, and I think it’s just bloody beautiful. To hear mi abuelo’s girlfriend say “estupido crackeres” rolling those “r”s on an old English word when talking about the hate out there, it’s just an amazing linguistic leap, the swiping of that one word by Spanish speakers and using it back at the crackers, who’d happily use it to describe themselves with pride (anyone who’s been to the Tampa Bay Area will have noticed that it surely must be the Confederate Flag apparel and accesories capitol of America by now–they don’t call it “The Redneck Riviera” for nothing, though that’s usually the panhandle).

    Kristen, thanks for posting this, it’s important that people see this crap. There are hordes of blogs out there supporting the ideas espoused in this mail. Even a neighbor I hadn’t met getting his mail the other day went off to my visiting Mom about the “abuse heaped these days on white men”. Ugh. I’m officially on hiatus, but do you mind if I link this post? You would absolutely LOVE talking to Abuelo right now. He’s saying everything you just said in the last comment, and he’s reawakened all because of the Obama campaign. Now he’s finally, at 85, speaking out about his experiences having lived in Georgia during the 50s-early 80s as a Spanish/Cuban/Floridian. “You know, not everything that Revernd Wright said was wrong, Grandbaby, you don’t know the way of the cracker!”

    “The way of the cracker” has become my new favorite phrase;)

  8. Lex June 16, 2008 at 8:11 am #

    Just had to share this one with you too, just because this is exactly what it seems like so many white people are freaking out over. And no, it’s not mine nor do I profit in any way, just thought it was fucking hilarious:

    Don’t Worry People, It Can Stay White on the Outside

  9. Cassie June 16, 2008 at 8:37 am #

    I couldn’t agree with you more!
    I have a group of friends who proudly state that they aren’t racists, they are seperatists. Irish boys who dont care to mix their company. It is just silly. I dont argue with them about it because they dont push it on others and they aren’t rude to non-white, non-Irish folks.
    It’s all just a waste of energy to hate someone because of the color of their skin!
    *sigh*
    I’m still baffeled that parts of our country haven’t grown up much.

  10. Kristen Ferrell June 16, 2008 at 9:01 am #

    It’s sooooooo easy for people to fall into this mindset when they choose to only surround themselves with “their kind”. One of the things that I love about living in Southern California is that there is a large Hispanic and Asian community- and Sully is exposed to different languages and cultures every day. When we lived out here the first time, he was one of only 4 white kids in his preschool and all the other children were Hispanic or African-American… and I loved it. He knew more spanish than I did and didn’t see skin color- only other people. This is how it’s supposed to be.

    Lex- I can’t tell you how sick I get of hearing about “the plight of the White Male”. This is such a joke. Brad and I get into this sometimes because he gets sick of my soapbox about how much more privileged white males are than anyone else in our country. His side is that he never got any special treatment, or any perks from being white. BUT he CHOSE to take the punk route at an early age (just like I did) and that separated him from normal society. Even though this was a counter-culture he was more comfortable in, him being ostracized because of his green hair IS NOT the same as being ostracized because of skin color or gender. He could always make himself more “normal looking” and blend in with the rest of the white male culture. Minorities do not have this option. There’s a big fucking difference. And there are white males who live in areas where they are the minority- but that should only make them be more sympathetic to this cause because they have been through it…. right? You can TOTALLY link this blog to anywhere you’d like. And I’m gonna check out that link you put up! Thank you!! You rule, lady!!

    Cassie… “Separatists” are racists. Plain and simple. Making it a point to only allow certain people in your life based on skin color or ethnic background is RACISM. If you’re gonna exist in that mindset, at least have the balls to own it for what it is. I pray that every one of their children marries someone from a different ethnic background so they are FORCED to accept this into their life, and maybe learn from it.

  11. Lemissa June 16, 2008 at 9:03 pm #

    You said it all lady, everything I would have (and have said) myself. Every time I hear the what about white pride argument, I say whay make a special concession for people who are AUTOMATICALLY ahead of the game…even poor white folks have more opportunities to escape their plight than anyone else. Thank you for ranting. I love you.

  12. Lex June 17, 2008 at 10:59 am #

    Thanks babe, put it up. The link I added is just hilarious, someone with stuff on CafePress that has a picture of The White House and says “DON’T WORRY PEOPLE, IT CAN STAY WHITE ON THE OUTSIDE“.

    You realize that even back in the good ol’ Replay days I got asked at least once a night “What are you?”? It never stops. Ever. I added a little to my post today about the neighbors even though I’ve ranted enough about them, but still. Having to explain why the neighbor kids are pointing at me and yelling “Dirty Mexican” in this fucking century is still just so outrageous to me that I felt it bears repeating. I know what you’re saying too, many of us have taken ourselves “outside of society” (as Patti Smith put it), and the more artistic people in societies have almost always been somewhat ostracized. It is somewhat the same in many ways, just like those with Asperger’s are separated out regardless of race. In my family’s case we have tons of Aspies who are also musicians and artists as well as Ionian Greek, or “Jews with funny names”, as the KKK told my Great-Grandfather when he tried to run for mayor in his FLorida town in the late 20s. My Grandmother still remembers them coming to the house to tell him he’d better call that off.

    I have NO options for fitting in. Period. Even worse, fearing racism my Spanish and Greek relatives (much like Gavin’s German ones) completely assimilated, which I think is wonderful actually, that we should be assimilated (I much prefer that to traditions which make my say in whom I marry mute!), but we are stunted linguistically. We can’t speak Spanish now that we’re mostly back in Florida which sets us apart. As for Kansas, the backlash against Hispanics (especially Mexican) is huge right now.

    I don’t know, there’s plenty of “white male culture” that I find utterly benign and frequently glorious. I don’t bash it. I’m also too young to have experienced complete subjugation by it though.

    Damn, separatists….I see that racially in places, but more and more what I see are religious separatists. This new denomination called “Evangelical Free”. This is what scares me. These people are moving into areas like mine and asserting their anti-secular society attitude to the point of excluding even children of non-evangelicals. And try as they might to say they’re not all white, well, most minorities get asked too many just flat out moronic questions by them to really want to get too involved.

    Thanks again for the post, I just wonder how far that email has gotten by now! Dang!

  13. Lex June 17, 2008 at 11:03 am #

    P.S. to whoever wrote that email, we have Presidents Day as well as days for just about every European country, most are just celebrated locally for areas with the heaviest settlement, Polish Day in Chicago, the Slavic/Croatian Festival here in K.C., the annual Scottish Games Festivals EVERYWHERE, Irish Fests, etc. Columbus Day is also a HUGE one in S.F. and for Italians. So that claim is complete B.S.

    Thanks, just had to add that one!

  14. Kristen Ferrell June 17, 2008 at 11:17 am #

    And lets not forget St. Patrick’s day. Somehow everyone in the country suddenly becomes “part-Irish” in March, and the way they choose to celebrate this holiday is by getting drunk on beer dyed green.
    I always thought this was the silliest holiday… and I never understood how so many people could suddenly claim that their ancestors were from Ireland.

    Pretty much ALL our holidays that are celebrated nationally are white… Thanksgiving, Valentine’s Day (from Europe), Christmas, New Years (not to be confused with the Chinese New Years, or any other culture’s New Years), Easter, Memorial Day, etc etc etc. And the religious holidays may have ties going back to other cultures… but they’ve been Americanized and replaced with fat white men shooting down chimneys and bunnies leaving candy for kids.

  15. melancholymonday July 16, 2008 at 1:02 pm #

    I’m just now getting caught up on your blogs…. summer here has been crazy.

    BUT I think you are forgetting the single most important part of your argument…. WHITE isn’t a race. You *can* be proud to be Irish, or German, or Italian, or Spanish, or etc. etc. There are German Heritage museums and Irish history books (and I’ve done my genealogy, and yes, I do descend from Irish folks who were shoved off to live in the Appellation Mountains of eastern Kentucky) and on and on, which is not a bad thing. But WHITE? No. Not acceptable.

Leave a Reply

