Another reason why I don’t think we should have to pay taxes…

16 Jun

I’ve always said that if there are leaders in office that are doing a horrible job, people shouldn’t have to pay taxes. Since the American citizens “hire” these officials by voting (or at least the government likes to let us think that we have some control over that), we should have the right to sever their wages or fire them if they screw everything up or don’t do what they promised. We’re supposed to be the bosses- right? Or at least that’s how that whole “For the people” thing, and the public participation in the elections of government leaders has always read to me. Maybe I’m wrong. Correct me if I am.

One way to solve it is that if you voted Republican, and the republicans win- then they’re following an agenda that you support… so you pay taxes. But if you didn’t vote for them… then you don’t have to pay. But if you didn’t vote at all- you have to pay either way (if you don’t vote, then you didn’t even voice your opinion… therefore you have no right to bitch about anything that happens, you lazy bastard). When Clinton was in office, I would have had no problem paying his salary. He could have stuck cigars in every single employee of the White House for all I cared… he was a good president and I liked him.

Here’s one little example that my dad sent me as to why I don’t think any of our tax dollars should go to paying the salaries of our government officials…..

We shouldn’t have to pay them, because they aren’t at work. This blew my fucking mind. Congress puts in less than 3 months of actual work days out of the entire year. How is this possible??? And each member of congress makes at least $168,000 a year (the rate for speakers is well over $180,000)… and they’re also allowed to make an additional 15% of their salary from outside sources from speaking, consulting and legal practice. Also, they’re allowed unlimited income from book royalties, and receive retirement and health benefits just like any other government employee. All that for working less than 3 months out of the year.

I hate these people. And I don’t think our taxes should pay their salaries. They should AT LEAST have time cards so they get paid for time that they actually work, like the rest of us lowly peons who have to break our backs just to make ends meet. Maybe then they would meet a little more often, and it wouldn’t take FOREVER for anything to get done in our country.

That is my annoyance for the day.

Thank you all for listening.

6 Responses to “Another reason why I don’t think we should have to pay taxes…”

  1. Mike Harmon June 16, 2008 at 8:38 am #

    Nice writing style. I look forward to reading more in the future.

  2. whitney June 16, 2008 at 9:37 pm #

    why aren’t there more videos like that out there for EVERYTHING!

    but yes, i concur.

  3. Kristen Ferrell June 16, 2008 at 9:47 pm #

    tomorrow, me and sully are going to sit and watch all this guy’s videos.
    i think that if alot more people were aware of just how little our rich government officials actually have to work in order to stay rich government officials- alot more people would be pissed off.
    and a pissed off public tends to make changes happen more quickly.

  4. hayley g June 16, 2008 at 10:05 pm #

    heres some kitty chickens to make you happy

    http://www.freakingnews.com/Bird-Flu-Pictures-20461.asp

    its retarded i know but i thought you’d like the chicks with kitten faces hahah

    sorry its late and i dont know why i’m still on the computer 🙂

  5. Cassie June 17, 2008 at 5:43 am #

    Rant away lady! You give so much usefull info, it’s great!
    I am totally going to watch all of Uncle Jay’s stuff today and post it for my friends and family. Hopefully more people will get off their asses and get upset and actually DO SOMETHING about it.
    Just bitching and moaning wont solve or change anything.

    I didn’t live druing the 60’s, but I sure do miss the people’s involvement in our government and our country.

  6. Tawni June 20, 2008 at 3:33 pm #

    Like Whitney above, I too concur. It’s ridiculous, the state of our country right now. Ugh. Come on, Obama. It’s got to be better. xoxoxo.

Leave a Reply

