GOTCHA, dickwad!!! (alternately titled: YAY for DNA!!)

17 Jul

Corey Elkins Sentenced to 48 Years for Rape

I really hope that link above works.

This is about Corey Elkins. Corey Elkins was a creepy fucker who ran around with the “Replay Crowd” back in the 1990’s (The Replay is the bar that was my designated stomping ground for years and years when I lived in Lawrence, Kansas… super great place where you could see the BEST bands for $2-$4, PBR’s are still only about $1 a can, and well drinks run you about $2… the perfect place for good music and a cheap-drunk night). Corey gave us all the willies… he was waaaaay too “huggy”, like to give us ladies little creepy presents and try to get us to go hang out with him at his house all the time. But he was tolerated because we were all a group of social rejects- and who were we to ban a fellow reject, right? That was until stories started emerging about him dosing the beers of girls at his house and raping them. And stories of him brutalizing and beating girlfriends. Fortunately for the Replay Ladies of Lawrence, a good friend of mine (who is the size of a bull and has one feisty Italian temper and a heart of gold) decided that since the cops couldn’t do anything, he decided “enough is enough”… he hunted Corey down at a bar, beat him to a pulp with a pool cue (and his massive and powerful fists) and sent him running out of town.

That was pretty much the last we saw or heard from Mr. Corey Elkins.

Until this morning. I got a call from my ex-husband saying that because of the beautiful and glorious advances in DNA technology, a few of the rape charges in Lawrence were re-opened (due to the diligence of one of the rape victims), and Mr Elkins was hunted down all the way to his new residence in Sacramento, California, dragged back to Kansas…. AND CONVICTED!!!! They weren’t able to convict him of all the charges because the statute of limitations was up on some of them… but he was found guilty of 4 counts of rape and 3 counts of aggravated sodomy. He will be serving 48 years in federal lock up. Corey is about 40 now…. and since he’s been deemed a serial rapist, he probably won’t breathe the air of a free man until he is very old and gray, and can’t get it up long enough to use his dick as a weapon anymore.

This is very very very good news. This is beautiful and vindicating news. I was friends of a couple of his victims. I saw what they went through- not being able to go out in our small town because Corey was everywhere. His damage went far beyond the few that they actually got him for… I’m sure we’ll never know just how many more girls he raped and brutalized. But he has been nailed down- hopefully for good. And hopefully he becomes many-a-man’s bitch in prison. THAT is justice.

But I’m posting this because alot of friends of mine from back in the “Replay days” read my ramblings on here, so they will all be pleased to hear this news. I’m also posting it because the ONLY reason that Corey was caught was because one of his victims refused to give up on convicting him. With the new DNA technology that we have, they were able to take these old crimes and finally get this guy behind bars where he can no longer do any damage. The cops of Lawrence wanted to get Corey behind bars in the ’90’s- but they just didn’t have the solid evidence to convict because the technology just wasn’t available. Now it is. So to any of you who are, or know victims, that are in similar situations (you know the attacker, have the DNA, but just haven’t been able to put it together)… now you can. Contact the police. See if they’ll reopen the case. Don’t let it go. The women who participated in Corey’s trial said that they were finally able to get closure… and the woman who’s case had past the statute of limitations was also there- and they said they felt the same feelings of relief.

Just thought I’d post a little bit of happiness and hope for the day. Let’s all smile for a while about this.

16 Responses to “GOTCHA, dickwad!!! (alternately titled: YAY for DNA!!)”

  1. Kansas City Joe July 17, 2008 at 7:09 pm #

    I have to say it is good news! As a former Police Chief in SE Kansas I worked a LOT of sex abuse/rape. It sucks for the victims, and the bad guy often got away for a long time as DNA was slow to process. I also had a friend in a bar in Westport rebuff a creep. He (speculation, as although the video inside showed him follow her out, nothing exists to show he actually took her). She was found the next morning, raped, and beaten so badly she had to be identified by jewelry and clothes by her partner. This scumbag still has not been brought to justice. I think like murder, rape, sexual assault, etc. should have no limitations in prosecutions as DNA is really advanced to the point is viable evidence. I know that cases like a priest did me, or daddy did this, well, DNA is not much help there. But in a rape or something of that nature, not a single limit should be imposed- put those bastards in a cage, and dont let them out! Not to mention, look at all the guys and gals that have been saved! SO..while I have a problem with someone taking my DNA, and putting it in a data base, I must say that I am happy that it is done to those convicted of certain crimes. My heart goes out to the victims, my little sister was a victim of rape, and it was repeated often as the perp was a older step brother-who is still in jail and hates the fact I track him so well, and send the prison officials gifts.
    Joe

    • richard marsh July 30, 2010 at 11:57 pm #

      Do you have any information as to what causes men to do these things?? He and his mother (my sister) did not get along well. His father died of alchoholism. Seems strange to me because I never saw any agressive behavoiur from him as a child… just another little boy. What happens to them/him when they grow up? But never saw him much afterward his early childhood. We lived in different states. I did see him a few weeks before his arrest because he was staying at his grandmothers. Hadnt seen him in decades….. now I know – from reading these emails here – how he got so beat up. he had a lot of messed up teeth from that beating and could barely open his mouth. Thx.

      • Kristen Ferrell August 1, 2010 at 1:18 pm #

        I’m so sorry to hear that you and your family have had to experience having a loved one turn to this kind of life. As a mother of a son, the thought has run through my head MANY times “What would I do if my precious child grew up to perform horrible acts and bring such unspeakable pain to others?”. Because rape can psychologically destroy it’s victims in a way that nothing else can. I’ve never been able to really answer that question, and it haunts me.

        But why men rape- that’s something that psychologists have been trying to pick apart and figure out the exact root for a long time. It is such a violent act, and happens under so many different circumstances and throughout every social, cultural, an economic class- there can be so many different reasons for why a man does this to women… but it all boils down to power. Rape is a violent physical and psychological assault that is more about domination than it is about sex. He chose women that he could get to easily trust him, and he played the “good buddy” role very well. He didn’t rape strangers- but women who confided in him and trusted him. To throw a little arm-chair psychology out there- his rapes seemed to be in the “Power Rape” category (the other categories are Anger and Sadistic- and since he usually drugged his women, they were women he knew, and didn’t mutilate them in any other way. Though he did beat many of his girlfriends, he could technically be put in either of the other categories, but I think “Power” best describes him). Low self esteem, poor relationships with women growing up, the drive to prove to himself that he is “man enough” to get these women he wants who reject him as a partner but only see him as a ‘friend’, etc. But it’s really difficult to be able to figure out what the exact thing was that turned him into a rapist, because MANY MANY men grow up with poor relationships with their mothers, or had abusive childhoods and they never turn to rape. 2 boys can be raised in identical environments, and 1 can turn out just fine and one can grow up to do the things Corey did. Psychologists have found in most cases of serial violent offenders that a personality disorder (like antisocial personality disorders that make them unable to sincerely care about other people) or emotional disturbances are at play from a very young age- and they don’t necessarily have to display any violent tendencies as child. But he could have also been molested or abused as a child which fused sex and violence in his mind. It’s a huge traumatic puzzle. Because the human mind is so complex, psychologists have a hard time pinning it down to just a few different things. And because sex is such a primal drive, rapists and molesters can never be “cured” of the desire to want to perform these horrible acts. Therapy, chemical castration, medication, etc- nothing has shown ANY real progress in keeping rapists or molesters from wanting to keep doing what they do. It’s hardwired in them the same way that what anyone prefers sexually is hardwired in them.

        My heart does sincerely break for you and your family. I’m sure it was difficult to read my blog and the responses that were all filled with so much anger dedicated to Corey- who in your head you still see as just a little boy. But this topic evokes such massive amounts of pain and feelings of helplessness and rage because the victims are rarely given any sense of justice and are left in shambles (and it’s still a crime that many times blames the victim). But no matter what environment he grew up in, his actions were performed in his adult life, and they are actions that HE is responsible for… not your sister or the rest of your family. I hope that your family is able to heal from his actions- because not only did he leave emotional scars on the victims of the women he raped, but on you and the rest of your family who are left to wonder “Could we have prevented this?”. I am truly sorry.

  2. wunnspeed July 18, 2008 at 2:38 am #

    Awesome! First… it’s great to hear that a World Class asshole like that finally gets his due. I’ve, in the past, come home from vacation to find out that my girlfriend had been raped. She never pursued it and I’d imagine that she is still damaged from the incident. It’s a really sick crime.

    Thanks to whomever for figuring out the DNA thing. Thanks also for letting us us know that there’s a ray of hope for some of the girls/women out there that this has happened to.

    On a different note… as former K.C. resident, I agree about the Replay Lounge being a really great place. I miss that kind of bar here.

  3. dollypop-amyjeen July 18, 2008 at 6:19 am #

    one millions hugs,high fives and dollars (if i had it) to the victim that would not relent and got this scum behind bars where i hope TRUE justice will be served.

  4. Natalie July 18, 2008 at 10:19 am #

    All rapists should be shot.

    This is extremely good news to me, seeing as I am a lady living in Sacramento. Dodged a bullet there.

  5. Kristen Ferrell July 18, 2008 at 10:41 am #

    Joe…. I ADORE the fact that you send the prison officials gifts!! That’s so fucking rad!! And I don’t understand why rape/sexual abuse has such a short statute of limitations. Especially now with DNA technology growing so rapidly, they should drop the limitations off completely because they can now take old DNA and link it to the perps without a doubt and close a bunch of cold cases (do ya like how I used the word “perp” and “cold cases”? I’ve been watching alot of old “Law and Order” dvd’s, so I’m totally down with the lingo.. haha!).
    Having people’s DNA in the system may seem like a violation of a person’s privacy… but I wouldn’t have any issues with having mine in there if it could speed up an investigation process… if they’re looking for someone who did something bad, and I might be a suspect, they could rule me out with DNA and focus on someone else so that time isn’t wasted.
    I love that you were a cop and can put your opinion in on this as an “expert”. 🙂

    But with DNA matching… it only will work if rapes are reported. I think that Corey would have had a much harsher sentence if all the ladies who were attacked by him went to the police. If you don’t get the rape kit and get the DNA, the cops can’t match it. As hard and traumatic as it may be, ladies, you HAVE to go to the police! Because the more that this is reported and documented, the higher the chances are that these guys will be put behind bars where they belong.
    Actually, they BELONG in a shallow grave by the side of the road… but that punishment isn’t an option… yet. Once I run the world,that will change.

  6. whitney July 18, 2008 at 12:34 pm #

    ho’ shit, that is fucking GREAT news.
    i can’t believe he got away with that shit for that long….

    the lady is amazing for not giving up.
    that’s so great 🙂

  7. Kristen Ferrell July 18, 2008 at 2:04 pm #

    That’s what is so scary… that he was out there for so fucking long destroying who-knows-how-many ladies. I think it was around 1996 or so that I met him… so that’s 12 years right there that he could have been doing horrible things to women that went unaccounted for. i think they should pull up rapes everywhere he lived over the past 10 years and see what they find. let’s keep adding “guilty’s” to that sentence to INSURE that he won’t ever get out on “good behavior”.

  8. MICHELLE August 4, 2008 at 1:35 am #

    I HAD THE PLEASURE (IF ONE WOULD FIND 9 STITCHES IN THE RIB PLEASURABLE) OF KNOWING CORY ELKINS (“LEGO.”) I liked your post so much that I printed it and am planning to put it in my messy, memory closet. We dated in Sacramento in 2004 (he was my tattoo artist.) He is far from my taste (good thing I quit smoking crank,) but his whole life story must be a lie. I probably should have assumed this, but hey! I find his sentencing liberating as well. Thanks for sharing 🙂

    -Michelle

  9. MICHELLE August 4, 2008 at 1:37 am #

    Oops. I’ve never been on this site before and didn’t know it was a post (not an email.) I would like to strike the word “dated.” It still mortifies and disgusts me; 4 years later. Ick.

    -Michelle

  10. Kristen Ferrell August 5, 2008 at 11:20 am #

    Corey had a way of wiggling his way into the trust of ladies. He was EXTREMELY manipulative, filled with lies, and always knew just what to say. He tricked the best of ladies- which is part of what left them reeling when he showed his true colors. He not only left them physically harmed and violated… but left them filled with doubt in their own judgment for actually trusting such an animal. That is what these kind of men count on to keep the ladies quiet. They need these women’s shame to be able to keep their game going. It’s fucking sick… and I’m so so sorry that you ever had to cross his path.
    But take comfort in the fact that he is in a cage (where he belongs), and one less predator is roaming the streets. You won’t ever hear from him again.
    xoxoxo

  11. Louis Sypher December 12, 2008 at 12:38 pm #

    I saw this post doing a google search trying to find out how many years they gave this waste of skin. Long enough that he will die in prison thankfully. He should have gotten longer, the statute of limitations needs to go. It would appear that if he had stayed out of the database for one more year he would have been off the hook entirely.

    I also was one of the Replay crowd in the 1990’s, living in Lawrence off and on from 1989 to 1999. One of the multitude of drunk broke ass crusty punk kids that drifted into town and got stuck. Not really sure if we knew each other, but that doesn’t really matter.

    (Just did a google search, we do (did) know of each other).

    As I remember it, Cory drifted into town as well. He was from Sac originally.

    I used to share an apartment with Cory (and others It wasn’t so much a formal apartment share, but more of a squat that someone was paying for.) in 1993/94. I wish to god that I would have known. I would have buried him in the fucking woods. Tough talk I know, but in time travel everyone kills Hitler on their first trip back right? Seriously, you knew the crowd, he wouldn’t have lasted long as a known serial rapist.

    Cory had a rep for beating up women. I was a friend of his pathetic longtime punching bag of a girlfriend. She would sport a black eye pretty often, and we talked about some fucked up sexual shit that was going on. It got to the point that every time I saw Cory it was “on”. Sometimes it was fists flying, other days it was me just telling him that he better vacate the air I was breathing. One day he just disappeared.

    I plan to write a snail-mail letter to him letting him know that I always knew it was in him, and how happy I am that he will spend the rest of his life locked up with the other animals. I would pay money to see the reaction on his face when he reads it and realizes that people remember and that he has lost the control that he obviously abnormally craved.

  12. Kristen Ferrell December 16, 2008 at 3:57 pm #

    I will NEVER understand why there is a statue of limitations on sex crimes. It’s an insult to anyone who has ever experienced a trauma like this, and the damage it can do to someone lasts a lifetime. So with the amazing advances in technology, and the fact that we can reopen old rape/pedophile/assault/etc cases and now possibly solve them- there should be no limitations. If a person rapes someone in 1987, the chances are pretty high that in 2008 they’re still raping. That ESPECIALLY goes for crimes against children. People don’t “experiment” sexually when it comes to rape and screwing kids… those are behaviors that don’t go away. So why make it to where those old crimes get the respect and attention they deserve, and the criminals get put away no matter how old the crime is? It makes me sick.

    What always puts a smile on my face is that Corey is not a “tough guy”. He goes after women who are smaller than he is. He could never really stand his own in a fight. So now in prison, he is surely someone’s bitch… which I think it pretty lovely karma. He now knows first hand what he put those women through. I know… 2 wrongs don’t make a right- but it sure does make you feel better.
    I love that you’re writing him a letter. Be sure and give him a big “fuck you!” from me!!!
    🙂

  13. trade unionist February 28, 2014 at 12:56 am #

    Hey Kristin: the subject of this piece of shit came up in some drunken late night Facebook posts last night. I was 18 when he was my roommate along with Evan Emerson and Brian garber. I knew he was a sociopath, and had heard he raped/drugged women you and i both knew. But I was young and lacked any real evidence to be of any help (not to mention a scrawny kid 7 years younger than he). I’ve always had a sense of guilt, that I should have been able to do something, but until the tap room incident it wasn’t so widely known what was happening. Its disgusting to think some of this may have happened under my own roof. Evan mentioned back in 2010 he had seen the conviction was pending… I’m not so sure what to say, he ripped people off left and right too. But I thank you for posting this (even though I’m responding 6 years later). There is no rehabilitation for people like this, and as much as I despise our prison system, I’m happy to know he’s behind bars quite likely until he dies. Daniel.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pages tagged "dna" - July 17, 2008

    […] bookmarks tagged dna GOTCHA, dickwad!!! (alternately titled: YAY for DN… saved by 1 others     snaggdadon bookmarked on 07/17/08 | […]

Leave a Reply

