Before I go…..

19 Aug

Today I’m off to fetch my son from Kansas.  This little journey back to the wheat fields is filling me with anxiety because it’s taking time away from massive amounts of work I have to get done here at home.  I wish there was some “Child Delivery System” that exists so that Sully can be safely transported back home to me.  Unfortunately, there is none.  So back to Kansas I go.  He’s been visiting his dad for the summer, and it’s the longest we’ve been apart.  Brad says it’s good for us, because both of us desperately cling to the umbilical cord like it’s our lifeline.  Sully has no desire to even put one toe into adolescent independence, and I am so very very ok with that.  Brad says we’re creepy.  I say “Fuck you, Brad”.  Sully’s 10 and still wants to always hold my hand, and give me hugs and kisses on the cheek, and is openly affectionate in front of classmates and in public.  I like this.  I prefer this to those kids who are all “too cool for their parents”.  And before I know it, he will be too embarrassed to be seen with me….  so I’m taking advantage of my cuddly little boy while he still is a cuddly little boy.  And as stressed as I am about having to go to Kansas to fetch him… I am delighted that he will be home with me.

But before I leave, I’m posting everywhere that I have new stuff available on my webstore, AND I put a ton of the older stuff on super-sale.  Almost the entire line is now available, and the more stuff that sells, the more stuff I can make.  So YAY for new stuff, right?  Here’s a few of the new items….

With all the clothing-related insanity going on, I’m trying to get ready for my upcoming solo show in Berlin at the Strychnin Gallery.  100 new pieces.  I’m kindof losing my shit.  But I’m trying my hand at teeny-tiny drawings, and I’ve fallen in love with them because they’re so tiny it makes me laugh and laugh.  I found these insanely decorative antique looking frames for them, so they look ultra fancy all framed and everything… here’s a few of them (and these pics are still larger than they actually are… they’re all only about 2 inches by 3 inches):

If you want to see all the pieces I’ve posted on line for the show, they’re on my flickr page. I still have to post a bunch more… but you’ll get the idea.

Off to gather my things and battle the crowds at the LA airport.  God…. I really HATE the LA airport.  Can someone PLEASE invent “The Jetsons” form of transportation where you just step into a tube and are at your desired destination in a matter of minutes?  PLEASE???!!!!  ugh.

7 Responses to “Before I go…..”

  1. christine August 19, 2008 at 11:19 am #

    i LOVE the teeny tiny pieces!! they are so cute!! are you going to be making more tote bags? im dying to get a new one!! <33

  2. Lemissa August 19, 2008 at 7:46 pm #

    come see meeeeee!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    lovelovelove

  3. whitney August 19, 2008 at 9:37 pm #

    have a safe trip to kansas!

    ooooooh my gooooood! i LOVEEEE the kitty with the moustache!!!!!!!!!
    it just screams “i need to be embedded into your arm, whitney!”

    that’s right.

  4. Berger August 20, 2008 at 6:15 am #

    Oh lady…I just looked at your Flickr page. your pieces for the show are awesome! the cockroach escaping from the beautiful birdie is amazingly beautiful and “behind the 8 ball” is also a favorite of mine. keep up the good work!

  5. Andrea Jay August 20, 2008 at 8:20 am #

    I LOVE the cat with the moustache! he rules! i also love the red and white shirt!

  6. Cassie August 20, 2008 at 8:48 am #

    OOOHHHHHH I love the moustache kitty! I wanna keep him in my closet!

    I for one think there is nothing wrong with a kid still liking their mother! I’m so glad mine still does.

    *fingers crossed* that you make it out of and into LAX with little or no issues.

  7. Kristen Ferrell August 25, 2008 at 7:45 pm #

    ok… i’m gonna have to make a shirt or something with that moustache kitty on it. it’s gotten quite the response.
    so keep a lookout! you will all soon be able to own a moustache kitty of your own!!!

Leave a Reply

