The days of weekend sleep are dead…..

20 Sep

… “Not Another Christmas” by Morning Glory

The song above is by one of our “extended family member’s” band Morning Glory.  Click on the little arrow above to hear them.  Ezra (the mastermind behind the music, who is also in the same band as my hubby, Leftover Crack) is a darling fella and I love him like a brother.  They’re going to be on tour soon… so click on the link above and check out the tour dates… and then go see them.  They’re super fantastic.  Seriously.  Here’s our family and Ezra during “art time” at our house:

Yay for art time!  Yay for Morning Glory!  Yay for Ezra staying at our house and playing with Sully while I try and get stuff done!!

As far as trying to get stuff done and not being able to because of my mommyness…. weekend morning sleep-in has always been a sacred thing for me.  When Sully was little, he would just bring a bunch of toys into my bed and we’d play “The Sleeping Shark”.  This game consisted of me laying there in a constant “dozing off state”, but awake enough to open and close my mouth continuously.  Sully would make all his action figures run around the bed, get close to my mouth like I was going to eat them, and then he’d make them all run away from the Sleeping Shark in terror.  I could sleep, but still play with him at the same time.  I thought I was pretty brilliant for coming up with this game.

But now Sully is 10.  “The Sleeping Shark” is now deemed stupid.  He has ALWAYS gotten up waaaaaaaay before anyone else in the house, and has always made himself a well-rounded breakfast and gotten dressed before I even get up (even on school days)… but lately, he’s been really needy for attention.  He has to have someone paying attention to him every second of the day, which has been exhausting (and caused problems at school because he’ll do anything to get that attention- whether it’s good or bad).  This attention seeking has disrupted my weekend mornings.  This is what started at 8:30am this morning:

He walks into our bedroom (something he knows he’s not supposed to do unless asked to come in- privacy is something we’ve been working on for a long time) and starts in:

Sully: What are you doing?

Me (asleep): What does it look like I’m doing?  I’m sleeping.  And I’m gonna keep doing it.

Sully: Oh, ok.

8:40 am…

Sully (back in the bedroom): Did you sleep well last night?

Me: I don’t know because I’m still trying to do it.  Ask me again when I’m actually up and walking around.  And when did you think you could start barging into our room?  Come on, fella- the rules haven’t changed in 10 years.

Sully: Oh, ok.

8:45am…

Sully (standing right at the edge of my doorway so he hasn’t actually walked into the room): Did you have good dreams last night?  I had good dreams.  I dreamed that there was this cat and I had this gigantic car that had these lasers….

Me (starting to lose patience): Stop.  Now.  You know what you’re doing, and you know that I’m not into it.  Tell me when I’m up and walking around!

Sully: Oh, ok.

8:50am….

Sully (again, standing in the doorway): Do you think that if you had wheels on the bottoms of your feet that you wouldn’t need a car?

Me (totally annoyed at this point): DUDE?  REALLY?  SLEEPING!!!!!!!! And stop standing in the doorway!!!

Sully: Oh, ok.

8:55am….

Sully (yelling from his room): Mom… did Marilyn Monroe really have eleven toes?

Me: JESUS HOLY CHRIST!!! I’M UP!!!  I’M UP!!!!

Sully: Oh, ok.

I usually go to sleep at around 2 or 3 in the morning.  And during the week, I’m up at 7:30 in the morning to get Sully to school.  When I was younger, a couple hours of sleep a night was all I needed.  But I’m getting older, so weekend morning sleep-time is something my body now requires to be able to keep the late-night sleep schedule during the week.  And I adore my son- but that guy needs to get a fucking life.  He has more toys than any child I know, art supplies out the ass, all kinds of DVD’s he could watch, his own personal library of about 150 books, and 5 cats to keep him entertained.  All I ask is to be able to sleep in a little 2 mornings a week.  This was never a problem until recently.  But now I think I’m fucked.  Damnit.

And with his new-found need for constant attention, during the day every 3 minutes (no exaggeration- you could set a watch to it) I hear “hey mom?….” followed by some question that he had just asked me 12 time already.  It’s driving me a little bonkers.  I’ve always been very independent.  I like the people around me to be very independent.  So this new neediness is making me lose patience. I don’t know where it’s coming from, but it needs to stop.  I understand he’s just a child- but at age 3 he was more independent than he is now.  It’s fucking killing me!!!

But now that I’m up, I’m going to start in on my weekend project of making my “Severed Finger Cupcakes” to sell on the webstore.  Plaster molds of fingers (Sully, me, and our dear friend Sturgeon all participated donating fingers for the molds), and fake cupcakes that look totally real but will last forever.  Here’s a picture of some of the first ones I tried making (the new ones will be MUCH better):

Those are made with plastic fingers.  The new plaster fingers will be gray and dead looking.  With ribbons and sprinkles and all kinds of other fun.  They will be magic.  And hopefully done and on the store by Monday.  I’ll post pics when they’re finished.

That’s all for today.

Over and out.

11 Responses to “The days of weekend sleep are dead…..”

  1. Dianananana September 20, 2008 at 10:27 am #

    I HAVE to have one of those cupcakes!!!!!!!!!
    Go take a nap.
    🙂

  2. germinfested September 20, 2008 at 12:37 pm #

    Ohh, I am excited. Hm, seems they haven’t found a venue in good ol’ ventura yet. They took away the only venue that caters to the poor kids and I am still and forever will be bitter about that. I don’t know of any other venues that aren’t into the whole “sell your soul for music” thing.

    Yay! Finger cupcakes. It’s my lifetime goal to open a bakery, and when i do, I will sculpt fingers out of marzipan and stick them in cupcakes. Yay.

  3. Joey September 20, 2008 at 9:12 pm #

    Maybe he’s just clinging because you guys were seperated for a bit this summer?

    I’ve been meaning to tell you, I made severed finger cookies!! Well, more like franken-fingers because they turned out kind of bloated and I added green because I wanted them to look good and dead. I think next time I’ll add more flour to the mix so it doesn’t spread out as much… either way, they taste good!

    Here’s the pic:

    This was the recipe I used (except I used regular sugar not powdered) http://www.recipezaar.com/104126

    Oh, and I’m seeing LOC next month. October 12th, day before my birthday. 🙂

  4. Joey September 20, 2008 at 9:21 pm #

    Ooooh, and I forgot to mention they did a parody of American Apparel’s Dov Charney tonight on Saturday Night Live during the Weekend Update skit. Ridiculous mustasche and no pants.

  5. Kristen Ferrell September 20, 2008 at 11:35 pm #

    Sully might be acting clingy because he was away all summer… but he’s acting that way at school, too. I dunno… the one thing I can say is that mom’s weekend morning sleep-in is vital, and I’m going a little bonkers without it.
    AND THOSE COOKIES ARE AMAZING!!!!!!!!! They made me giggle really hard!!
    When you see LOC, be sure and punch Brad in the stomach, and then tell him it’s from his wife. 😉

    And the guy who owns American Apparel is totally gross. He makes me want to puke everywhere. vvvvooooommmmmmiiiiiittttttt……….

  6. christine September 21, 2008 at 7:29 am #

    I LOVE the cupcakes and cakes they are so adorable!!

    my (now ex) bfs son seriously had every toy under the sun, but demanded that you watch him play. even if you werent involved in the game whatsoever. And with the constant “hey chrissy…hey chrissy…hey chrissy..look..look..look at this!” god love him, but it drove me freakin bonkers. I now what you mean about the independant thing, i cant stand it when kids or adults act helpless!!

  7. whitney September 21, 2008 at 9:49 am #

    DID marilyn monroe have 11 toes???
    you should make monroe toes cupcakes.

    nom nom.

  8. Kristen Ferrell September 21, 2008 at 10:46 am #

    My little brother told me that she did, and if I remember correctly he was considering calling his old band “Eleven toe Monroe” or something like that. But I could have just made that last part up in my head. But if my little brother says something is fact, I believe it because he is one of those people who is a wealth of facts and odd knowledge.
    I SHOULD make Monroe Cupcakes. They’d be amazing!!!!

  9. Tawni September 21, 2008 at 1:44 pm #

    Oh, Sleep. Glorious Sleep. I think I miss you most of all- more than the loss of freedom, the loss of time to do “me” things, and the ability to pee by myself. The kiddos sure can suck the life out of a momma sometimes, can’t they? Mine is up between 6:45 and 7:15 every morning, so I found your Sleeping Shark idea to be brilliant. 🙂

    I hope you get caught up on rest and the Sullinator gives you a break with the bored puppy routine soon. I’m assuming that as my toddler gets older, with his age will come a bit less of the following around that drives me nuts and makes me a staunch cat person, so I can’t imagine how frustrating it must be to be reliving that clingy phase with a ten-year-old. Good luck, Kristen, and big hugs. xoxoxoxoxox.

    P.S. I have been craving chocolate cupcakes with pink icing all day, and seeing your delicious looking fake ones has pushed me over the edge. I will be going to the grocery store for supplies and baking some tonight! YUM.

  10. Anonymous September 22, 2008 at 3:30 am #

    aaaah! thank you for writing this. my husband and i take care of my developmentally disabled sister and i get the same needy/clingy thing too- it goes in cycles. she is 62 with the mentality of a 5 or 6 year old. it drives me insane when she is in that mind frame. we’ll be at the store or something and she’ll literally be standing an inch away from me. or i’ll be occupied with something and she has to come over every five minutes to say the same thing over & over about her day program. then i feel like and asshole for being annoyed. it’s been really hard for me to adapt to being a “parent” and not having the freedom & independence i used to, these incidents don’t make it any easier! i’m glad to know i’m not the only one.
    and PS i love your blue (aqua?) walls!

  11. Cassie September 22, 2008 at 6:33 am #

    From what my grandmother tells me it’s just something all 10year olds go thru. Lily wont even pick out her own clothes anymore without me standing there! Every 5 minutes it’s “Mom, I’m bored” coming from a kid who USED to have solid self-entertainment skills.
    ARGGGGGGHHHHH

    *deep breaths*

    I adore your cupcakes and am planning on buying some after I get back from LA, if you have any left!

Leave a Reply

