Everything and nothing….

26 Sep

… “Blue Eleanor” by Old Canes

I really really really adore the song I posted above.  It’s one of my favorites of all times.  Whenever I hear it, I always envision that there would be a tap dancer performing with the band during the verses.  I like tap dancers alot.  They need to make a huge comeback.

I’m on day 2 of the resurgance of the “head spike”.  The horrible headaches I get (but haven’t had too badly in the past couple months or so) where it feels like a gigantic knife has been jammed into my forehead above my right eyebrow.  Sometimes it will take little journeys over to my left temple, or to the back of my head- but only to briefly visit.  Then back over my right eye.  It makes my eye do this weird twitching thing.  Sometimes it will flair up like lightening, catching me off guard, and almost knocking me off my feet as I double over clutching my forehead in some “Harry Potter just had a mind-meld with Voldemort” kindof way.  Constant pain is exhausting.  It makes your whole body tense, and disrupts any kind of concentration you may be attempting, and your patience is forever wearing thin.  And I just don’t have time for this shit.  When these happen, I go through the checklist and try to make sure that I’ve done everything possible to lessen their volatile effect…. did I drink enough water?  Did I eat right today?  Did I drink enough coffee? Did I take my vitamins?  Yes, yes, yes, yes… damnit.  I guess I just have to wait it out and endure they’re grating presence until they decide to leave the party.  I hate unwanted guests, don’t you?

My dear friend, Jackie, turned me on the art of “laying on the floor and staring at the ceiling”.  Normally, I’m unable to do this because I’m too manic of a person.  But during the “head spike”, I found it to be a glorious thing.  This has been my view off and on for the past 2 days:

But I can only do this for short stints at a time, because my cats get really concerned when I’m just laying around doing nothing.  They start to circle around, climb all over me, chew on my hair, nudge at my face… and it’s all just too distracting for me to really relax.  But I’m trying.

Brad brought home the movie “A Perfect Storm” last night.  It came highly recommended, and I love George Clooney- so I thought I’d give it a chance.  It’s supposed to be based on a true story.  (I’m about to spoil the ending because it annoyed me so greatly… so for anyone who hasn’t seen the movie, skip ahead a bit or stop reading right now…. unless you want it to be spoiled- then by all means, continue)  But since all the fishermen died- how in the holy hell did they get the facts for ANY of the movie?  How the hell did they know that there were guy’s fighting each other, or that they kept getting thrown off the boat, or that Clooney had to take on the death-defying task of climbing onto that stupid long anchor thing with a blow torch in 30 foot waves to detatch the anchor that kept swinging around and smashing in the windows?  How did they know they had caught 60,000 pounds of swordfish?  THE GUYS DIED ON THE WAY BACK HOME!!!!  NOONE KNOWS WHAT HAPPENED!!!!  THIS WASN’T BASED ON A TRUE STORY!!!!  The only TRUE part of the story is that a bunch of guys went out fishing and died.  The other 1 and a half hours of the movie was all TOTALLY MADE UP!!!  I was greatly annoyed by this, and went to bed feeling lied to and betrayed.  I expect more from Clooney.  But I expect absolutely nothing from Marky-Mark (who I would very much like to vomit all over), so he fit his role in the movie well.

We also tried to watch the movie “The Cable Guy” because I had never seen it, and was told it was really creepy.  It wasn’t creepy.  It was really really really really really really stupid.  About halfway through, Brad got sick of looking at the complete annoyance and disgust that was all over my face (Jim Carey makes me want to gag), so he turned it off, and then came “The Perfect Storm”.  Overall, a night of failure.

Speaking of Marky-Mark Wahlberg… I saw him perform once with “the Funky Bunch”.  I was a junior or senior in high school.  It was Marky-Mark, Technotronic, and The Village People.  I went to see The Village People… but the other 2 acts were just an added bonus.  Surburban gang-banger wannabes, starry-eyed teenaged girls, and gay men.  That was what the audience was made up of.  It was beautifully surreal.

That is all I have to say about anything.

Except that I will never understand why I’m the only one in my house who has the ability to put a new roll of toilet paper in the toilet paper roll holder once the last roll is used up.  This is not difficult.  This is not a challenging thing to accomplish.  When you use the last of the toilet paper, just put a new one on.  Why does noone else that I live with get this but me?

Ok… now I’m done.  Really.

6 Responses to “Everything and nothing….”

  1. Janai September 26, 2008 at 6:44 pm #

    Kristen I’m glad that you just posted this blog, I was going to msg you via myspace but don’t know if your watching the debate but am I crazy or did Mccain really just say “the average S.Korean is 3 inches taller than an N.Korean”?!
    Was I tired and crazy? Or did he really say that shit?!

    Oh yeah and lying on the floor allllwaaayys helps me. It also helps if you go in another room and turn out the lights.
    Or sit on the toilet with the lights off. Whatever you do, do it in another room b/c my cat does that too and she’s rude, she’ll step on my face.

  2. whitney September 26, 2008 at 10:56 pm #

    know what’s more (or equally) annoying than no new TP roll?
    when someone does replace it… but it’s put on backwards!
    there’s nothing more irritating when you have to pull the tp from the back. ugh….
    one movie i can say you should…SHOULD like wahlberg in is “the departed”. if you have already seen it and didnt like him (or movie)…then i’m sorry, but you’re nuts! 😉

  3. christine September 27, 2008 at 4:19 am #

    I flat out refused to watch The Perfect Storm..it kind of freaks me out since I have a brother who works on boats like that, hes been to the same spot where that whole thing happened and was asked to be an extra in the movie since they filmed some of it in Jersey. He saw it and said it made fisherman look bad, and was inaccurate also!! so you are definately right..very disappointing indeed.

  4. Brandi September 27, 2008 at 5:55 am #

    I have issues with watching any screens at all without falling asleep within minutes. I even fell asleep during “The Big Lebowski” that I begged eric to download so we could watch it in bed because I have a cold. The next day I tried again and within minutes I was asleep. I barely made it through the debate last night.

  5. Kristen Ferrell September 27, 2008 at 1:35 pm #

    Whitney, I’m going to have to go with “nuts”- because I almost fell asleep during that movie. I really hate Leonardo Dicaprio too, so I just couldn’t get myself to care enough about any of the characters to not want them all to just get in a car crash and die. I’m really really really picky with my movies, so take my opinions on them with a grain of salt. 🙂

    Christine… yeah, it did make fishermen look bad. It gave them the feel of being foolish irresponsible drunken thrill-seeking man-children who care only about the fishing and don’t care about family. Which I know isn’t the case. They have an incredibly hard and dangerous job, and have to be responsible and take it seriously in order to do it. Bad movie. Not worth watching. At all.

  6. Cassie September 29, 2008 at 6:12 am #

    I also disliked Perfect Storm, crap crap crap. I have this strange obsession with buying movies though, so I do own it. But I also own Chairman of the Board w/ Carrot Top and I love it, so who am I to judge?

    I hope your stabbing headaches stop soon. I used to get ones very similar to yours but they stopped after I quit my soul sucking management job at Musicians Friend. Apparently mine were stress related, go figure!

Leave a Reply

