The ignorance is spectacular to the point of nausea….

29 Sep

In the hour that it takes me to actually wake up in the morning, while I drink cup after cup of coffee, I go on the almighty interweb and read the news.  It’s entertaining.  Then, I go onto the blog sites and read the public’s response to the news- which usually has me rolling.  Every once in a while, I’ll find some intelligent posting… but sadly, it’s rare.

This morning, however, I kindof wanted to puke.  I found the blog site of Melanie Morgan, a laid-off radio talk show host who occassionally does spots on Fox News (does that tell you a little about her political standings?).  Her writings were bland and redundant… mainly rallying support for the troops (which is a good thing- but these idiots don’t understand that you can support the troops and oppose the war at the same time, and ACTUALLY the best way to support the troops IS to oppose the war and get them home to their families where they belong…. duh!!).

The thing about her site that stopped me in my tracks was the merch she had for sale on it.  Let me just post for you a couple of her bumper stickers…..

Brad seems to think this is just a political cartoon, and not something to be offended by because there are women who are participating in the suicide bombing attempts.  Maybe it’s because at my old office job years ago, I worked with women who dealt with daily hatred bombardment from the general public’s ignorance because of their religion and the fact that they dressed this way.  I think that propagating this kind of imagery only creates a hostile environment for those who have no part in the violence.  Those women I worked with just wanted to live in peace in a country that claims “freedom of religion for all”, and not be punished for the actions of others.  Maybe I’m taking it a bit too much to heart… but I find this kind of propaganda ignorant and uncalled for.

Then there was this one about Palin, which I found beautiful:

Um…. yeah…. so?  That’s exactly what she is, and she makes me more and more ashamed every day to be a part of the same gender as her.  The conservatives call this a “racist statement”… I call it dead-on accurate.  And fucking hilarious.  But what’s more hilarious, is that in this next image (which is a yard sign), they seem to take pride in the fact that she’s a gun-toting moron….

Gross.  The fact that people are still backing her after her blatent incompetence and ignorance to the key issues of our country blows my mind!!  Even major conservative columnists (Kathleen Parker) who had her back in the begining are begging for her to step down!!  How can people STILL be into her?  I just don’t get it.  She IS a gun-loving bitter bible-thumping white person… to the most generic degree.  Vomit.

Now I’ve had my coffee.  Read my news.  And it’s back to work I go.

8 Responses to “The ignorance is spectacular to the point of nausea….”

  1. whitney September 29, 2008 at 4:40 pm #

    that first one is really fucked!

  2. Kristen Ferrell September 29, 2008 at 5:22 pm #

    Ok…. so it’s not just me, right? I thought it was awful! But Brad said that I was overreacting (which I sometimes do). But I didn’t think that this was the kind of imagery that intelligent, respectful, open minded people would be ok with.

  3. Kararararalyn September 29, 2008 at 8:25 pm #

    bizarre. i’m going to go remind myself (like i need to..) what a twat palin is by watching that katie coric video again. ….

  4. Kristen Ferrell September 29, 2008 at 9:28 pm #

    Ya know, even if I agreed on everything that she stood for, the bottom line is that she is just not experienced enough for the job.
    Period.
    She has no idea what’s going on…. and to such an extreme degree that McCain sent her back to Alaska so that the press didn’t have as much access to her. The less she speaks, the less he looks like a fool. She is a disaster.

  5. Yardley September 30, 2008 at 1:03 am #

    Images like those are what make “average” people have panic attacks when anyone who looks like they could be from Afghanistan boards a plane… That is an awful, not at all funny image and it makes me disgusted that I share the same country as these people… at least I’m in the middle of the ocean, but still…

  6. Anonymous September 30, 2008 at 2:59 am #

    this is the one that blew MY mind today:

    http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2008/09/28/palin-claimed-dinosaurs-a_n_130012.html

  7. Bobby D September 30, 2008 at 5:42 am #

    Fucking elections cause so much hatred and divide people so much. You are either one side or the other. The worst part is the people who often speak the loudest are the most ignorant motherfuckers on the planet. The “does this bomb make my butt look big” cartoon is’nt really a big deal (although it is offensive to generalize every muslim woman as a suicide bomber), the people who think that something like that is funny, or accurate, definately did’nt form their opinion from that cartoon. It is just fuel for the conservative fire, and anyone with half a brain will dismiss it. I’m Canadian, and we are also in the midst of election time, and we also have a bunch of morons running, I just hope that our Prime Minister, Steven Harper (who has the biggest boner for G.W.B.) needs to get the fuck out of Ottawa. Anyways I hope you Americans get Obama (not that he is that much better than anyone else), and I hope we just get rid of Harper, it will be a start. I will not be voting, as I cannot justify voting for the lesser of two evils. Maybe one day when they include a “none of the above” option I will. Anyways, peace and love.

    Bob

    ” What good is a good education with no direction? Like the right to vote, with no one to vote for in an election ”
    – Immortal Technique

  8. Lex October 1, 2008 at 5:55 am #

    Wow. And I had just found a heinous “movement” online (complete with merchandise) called Vote Bitter. Good thing I still have good stomach meds, I’m going to need them.

    Oh, almost forgot. This is now someone’s sig on the Hannity Forum, a place I can barely stand to comment at. Still, had to swipe < href=”http://1.bp.blogspot.com/_09R4odVgJw4/SMKZFQjXZ-I/AAAAAAAAAiM/99AjRNkXTLc/s1600-h/image.jpeg”this image for a blog post. More of the “bitter this, bitter that”. I hope you’re right Kristen, I hope she’s enough of a disaster to cause a major lost for the McPalin ticket.

    I heard, BTW, someone from beliefnet.com yesterday on “Fresh Air with Terri Gross” discussing her beliefs as well as Assemblies of God/Pentacostal in general. Palin, as Governor, actually signed in a “Christian Heritage” month or week or something, I’m going to look into that one for a post or 2 (or 5 more….LOL). “Party of inclusion”? Not for Palin apparently.

Leave a Reply

