Prop. 8 in California, and having to refrain from attacking old ladies before I’ve had my morning coffee….

30 Oct

It’s unfair to bombard someone with politics before they’ve had their morning coffee.  It can lead to violent tendencies and justifiable homicide.  Especially when you’re dealing with hot issues such as gay marriage, abortion, etc.  This morning, I had to fight every single natural urge surging through my body to keep from running a bunch of grannies over with my car because of exactly this (and even on my 2nd cup of coffee, I wish I HAD run them over).

We have a proposition on the table here in California threatening the sanctity of gay marriage.  It’s Proposition 8.  If Proposition 8 is passed on election day, it will define marriage as only being between a man and a woman.  Those conservative Bible-thumping piles of shit just can’t let others be happy and leave people alone.  They feel that EVERYONE has to live under their ancient and outdated doctrine, no matter how harmful and oppressive it may be.  These are the people that reaffirm my hatred of everything God-like, every single day. If their god is such a power-hungry bastard, then he had better stay off my side of the fence or I’ll beat him with a baseball bat.

So, this morning I’m driving Sully to school.  I’m still in my pajamas (which is routine… I don’t ever get dressed unless I have to), and half-awake because I haven’t had my morning coffee yet.  We pull up to the school, and across the street are groups of old ladies holding their “Vote YES on Prop 8; Save Marriage” signs.  I see red.  It’s 8:30 in the god damn morning!!!  And in front of a public school!!!  I fucking HATE these people!!!

Sully sees them.  He reads the signs.  He asks me “Who are they saving marriage from?”.  I tell him “They want to make it illegal for homosexual couples to get married legally”.  He says “Isn’t that homophobic?”.  I say, “Yes, honey…. very much so”.  His eyes narrow, and he growls under his breath “Hitler was homophobic, too”.  I have the BEST 10 year old on the planet.  He gives me a hug and a kiss, gets out of the car and walks to the school, looking back every few seconds and openly glaring at the old ladies.  Now I’m not only seeing red… I’m seeing blood and bile and fire and brimstone.  These stupid fucking old ladies have started my son’s day off with a big dose of ignorant social hatred and prejudice.  If they want to go and stand outside a mall, or at an intersection- that’s one thing.  But to stand in front of an elementary school and inflict their hate, stupidity, and religious oppression onto innocent children is just WRONG.  I parked the car and almost got out.  I sat there fuming and writhing in my seat, picturing the tire iron in the back of my car slamming into the face of one of the grannies who was wearing a sweatshirt that said “Grandmas for safe marriage” with little hearts on it.  I’m so fucking sick of these people.  Why don’t they all die already and let everyone else live in peace???!!!

But I didn’t get out.  Because I KNEW that if I confronted these ignorant women in that mental state, I would end up getting arrested.  And I preach non-violence to my son… so it wouldn’t be a very good example for him to see mommy getting hauled away by the police in front of his school in her pajamas and slippers after kicking the shit out of a bunch of old ladies.  But I did scream “GET CANCER AND DIE” at them when I drove past (immature… yes… but better than the tire iron scenario, so they got off lucky).

I’m just so sick of the ignorance in this country that it literally makes my stomach hurt.  Whether or not someone agrees with homosexuality, who the hell are they to tell ANYONE how they are allowed to live their life?  How is gay marriage being legal going to effect heterosexual marriage in ANY WAY?  Are the straight marriages out there all of a sudden going to be less valid, or change in some way?  Or are the religious conservatives out there SO selfish, hateful, and childish that they can’t stand the thought of people who they don’t like having the same rights as them?  Why do they care so much?  I honestly don’t understand it.

And this bullshit of letting the homosexual community only have the right to a commonlaw union, as long as they don’t call it a “marriage” is just insulting.  It’s “Separate but Equal” all over again.  “Separate but Equal” is a slap in the face to anyone having to live in it.  “Sure, we see your union as valid enough for you to share property rights, have medical authority over each other, share health insurance benefits, etc- BUT don’t you dare dirty our sanctity of marriage with your evilness”.  Why do the conservative Christians (the most hateful, harmful, and socially retarded religious group) get to set the rules for everyone else?  Why do they get to dictate the lives of so many people?  I FUCKING HAAAAAAAAAAAAATE THEM!!!!!!!!!!

I really hope these ignorant grannies aren’t there when I go to pick Sully up from school.  And if they are, I hope their god is ready to lend a hand if they say one word to me as I walk past them.  I don’t believe in god or Satan, but if they’re going to throw god at me, I might have to throw a little Satan back at them.  The 11th Satanic Rule of the Earth is this:

“11.  When walking in open territory, bother no one.  If someone bothers you, ask him to stop.  If he does not stop, destroy him.”

I like the sound of that.  (Too bad I don’t believe in religion, or else I’d join their team in a second)

TOO ALL YOU CALIFORNIANS- VOTE NO ON PROP. 8!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

22 Responses to “Prop. 8 in California, and having to refrain from attacking old ladies before I’ve had my morning coffee….”

  1. Kelly October 30, 2008 at 10:15 am #

    I think you showed remarkable restraint…especially for not being caffeinated.

  2. Kristen Ferrell October 30, 2008 at 10:27 am #

    Thank you!! 🙂
    Unless I’ve had at least 2 cups of coffee in the morning, I cannot be held accountable for anything I say or do. Everyone who knows me, knows this to be true. I have no social filter pre-coffee, and if provoked in this mental state I will say and do things that are TOTALLY horrifying. It’s just how I am… for good or for bad.

    So I’m very proud of myself for not getting the tire iron out of the back of my car and smashing some grannies…. or at least threatening.

  3. MissM October 30, 2008 at 10:40 am #

    Thank you, thank you, thank you. You summed up my feelings exactly.

    I wonder – how many of these Prop H8 supporters are marriage counselors? In my immediate family, alone, there are 13 divorces. Oddly, none of these church ladies showed up to save those marriages.

  4. Kristen Ferrell October 30, 2008 at 10:58 am #

    WONDERFUL POINT!!! The divorce rate for hetero couples is through the roof! How much sanctity does it hold for hetero couples today? BUT my gay friends who are in long term relationships have some of the healthiest, most honest, loving and dedicated relationships I’ve ever seen. I have more gay friends who are in healthy and wonderful relationships than I have straight friends who have healthy marriages. I hold my gay friend’s marriages up as an example of what I want my marriage to be.

    These conservative douchebags have no clue what they’re talking about.
    I hate ignorance.

  5. Bobby D October 30, 2008 at 11:11 am #

    your son is lucky to have a mom like you. you have obviously brought him up right if even at 10 years old he sees the similarities in the hate of those dusty peices of shit and hitler. you should definately throw on a “gay rude boys unite” tee for when you pick him up, see what they have to say about that!

    peace,
    bob

  6. Kristen Ferrell October 30, 2008 at 11:16 am #

    OH SHIT!!! I’m going to!!!!! That’s a GREAT idea!!!! I’m going to go steal one from Brad’s inventory right now (I’m allowed to do that because I’ve taken over the running of his webstore since he’s crazy busy with school). YAY!!

    And thank you for the parenting compliment. I try to teach Sully to think globally, and have a broad social mindset instead of clinging to his own ideas and forcing them onto others. I’m also trying to instill some strong common sense… something the conservatives could use a huge dose of.

    🙂

  7. Julie October 30, 2008 at 11:53 am #

    HAHAHA!!!!!#@$#$%#$%^@!!
    That’s the funniest thing I ever heard!!! When I read that you rolled down the window and yelled at the grannies I almost pissed myself.
    I always do stuff like that, and sometimes later I regret it. In this case, I could SO BAD see myself doing this!
    good thing I drink tea.

  8. Kristen Ferrell October 30, 2008 at 12:10 pm #

    If I can’t punch with fists, my only alternative is punching with words. There is no option to “not punch”. I don’t have any “not punching” in me. Normally I wouldn’t direct it at the elderly… but that one granny’s sweatshirt pissed me off too much.

    I really can’t help it.
    I swear.

  9. Your Friend October 30, 2008 at 1:50 pm #

    Kristen,

    I assume that you are exagerating when you talk about your seething hatred and violent impulses toward innocent strangers. If not, please seek professional help. Our jails and prisons are already full of people who chose not to control their rage. I would “hate” for you to become one of them.

  10. Kristen Ferrell October 30, 2008 at 2:55 pm #

    Um….. not really. I have tons and tons of violent urges everyday. I always have. It was a problem when I was a kid, but it hasn’t been any trouble since my teen years because I learned control and finding outlets. As a responsible adult who has control over herself- I don’t act on them. Instead I paint them, and make a living off it. And I write about them and laugh and laugh and laugh at them.
    And the hatred… I have just as much abounding hatred for people as I do love. When I find someone good, I don’t just like them- I love them to my core. And when I happen upon someone that I see as bad, or oppressive, or interfering in the happiness and well being of the people I do LOVE (like the douchebags who are trying to outlaw gay marriage, or who want for abortion to be illegal, etc), my hatred for them swells like a massive hurricane. People don’t get to fuck with the ones I love… and so in my eyes, they are FAR from innocent. I don’t inflict any of my personal beliefs on their private lives- so if they decide that they, as a perfect stranger, can inflict THEIR personal beliefs onto my life and the lives of my loved ones…. yes, visions of hammers smashing skulls runs through my head.

    The rage and hate isn’t a problem because I’m not afraid of it, and I have the power to control my actions (we all do). But we are all born with violent and horrible tendencies (which is why children have to be TAUGHT not hit, bite, kick, etc. instead of it coming naturally), and it’s always going to be in every one of us. Instead of stifling it and letting it swell, I’m pretty vocal about it. And I giggle at the bloody paintings I make. And I laugh through horror movies. And I find it hilarious. I may feel all these things… but it’s still all in good fun. If you can’t have a sense of humor about the horrors in life, then you’ve got a long hard road ahead of you.

    And my husband and I do have a marriage counselor (because we don’t argue very nicely)… and she thinks I’m funny… not disturbed. And even if I was ever deemed “disturbed”… fuck it. I haven’t killed anyone yet… and I don’t plan to any time soon. And without the “disturbed” aspect of my mind, I wouldn’t have a career. So I’m totally ok with it all. 🙂

  11. whitney October 30, 2008 at 2:56 pm #

    those people make me fucking siiiiiiiiiiiiick!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    i tear out “yes on prop 8” lawn signs whenever i get the chance.
    it’s so fucking mean and unfair…..and yes, what the hell right do they have to say how someone should live their life?
    it just TOTALLY boggles my fucking mind that these people think this way and that DONT think about how it affects other people lives because their god thinks it unholy or some bullshit. and what the fuck does it matter to them?!??? what damage is it possibly going to do??
    and i hate the whole “they’ll start teaching our children about gay marraige in school!” OH NO!!!!!!!!!! fucking… please…..
    first of all, they don’t even teach about ‘traditional’ marriage in school now, so why would it be an obligation for gay marriage to be taught in school? it doesnt make sense??

    on a side note- james is in a critical thinking english class, and the teacher had them break in groups and talk about the up’s and down’s of the propositions. one of the guys in his group (who is also one of his co-workers) is this total conservative, republican, right wing kinda guy who served in the military. they were talking about prop 8 and the guy said something to james like “would you let your kids be taught about gay marriage in school?” and james goes “yes, i would…i don’t mind… it would teach them tolerance.” and the guy stops…and says “ya know, that’s a good point! i never though about that, i’ll have to rethink this.”
    fucking amazing?? yeah?
    BUT WAIT! it gets better……
    and so they guy goes on and says to james “you’re voting for obama, arent you?” and he tells him yes and then asks the guy who he’s voting for… and he says he is voting for obama too! amazed, james asks why he changed his vote from mccain to obama and he says “i’m not down with his VP choice.”
    WOW!!!!!!
    if only there were more people out there like that.

    let us know if those old, hitler hags were still outside the school what you did to them! 🙂

  12. Kristen Ferrell October 30, 2008 at 4:44 pm #

    It blows my mind the things that have to be explained to people. But it’s always fantastic when someone gets their eyes opened a little.
    People can’t always help how they were raised, or what ideals and thoughts are shoved into their heads. But as we get older, it’s our job to question those teachings and see if they apply to our lives, or if they’re even healthy for us (or our society as a whole). The thoughts and beliefs of our parents aren’t always the thoughts and beliefs that are going to be the most healthy and happy for us as adults. It gets scary when people NEVER question anything they were taught, and cling to it just because it’s there… and that’s really common. Just because we’re taught as a child that things are a certain way DOESN’T mean that’s the reality. I’ve seen way too much of it on the negative side… racism, sexism, homophobia, classism, etc. People aren’t BORN with these ideas… they’re taught to them. But once a person gets to an age where they can think for themselves, if they still cling to these horrible mindsets then the blame rests on their shoulders. Especially in this day and age where we have more access to knowledge than any other time in human history. There’s just no excuse anymore for ignorance.

    The hitler hags weren’t there after school. I was a little concerned about them being there… not for anything that I would say, but Sully would totally get in their faces. He’s a very outspoken child (I have no idea where he gets it from.. ha!) and has no problem telling people if they’re being awful. Once, when he was 5 and we were living in Kansas, we were eating ice cream at a local shop. He stood up on his chair and yelled “George Bush is a bad man, and he had better not ever come around here or I’ll get him”. We lived in a very progressive town, so he got a standing ovation. 🙂
    He would have butchered those ladies.

  13. whitney October 30, 2008 at 5:02 pm #

    yeah, i can understand that. it’s pretty sad some of the things that are pushed into kids heads from their parents. especially when it’s the negative things…. but yes, the stronger and smarter ones are good enough to think for themselves!

    i just got home from more halloween shopping and there are even more “yes on prop 8” scumbags on the corners of intersections waving thier yellow signs around. needless to say they were all old and white yuppies…. i flipped the old ladies off. it was pretty great.
    there was one girl on an opposite corner who had a sign that said “prop 8, RELIGIOUS FREEDOM!”
    could you please explain to me how that could possibly make any sense?
    ….no, for real. i don’t get it!!!!

    can i steal you and sully?

  14. christine October 31, 2008 at 5:14 am #

    these old people are nuts!! This may sound terrible, but so be it..die already!! give me more business!! I consider myself religious, and I come from a very religious family and I do not oppose gay marriage at all. I’m fortunate that in my job, i’m exposed to all types of different churches, religions, practices, and its just great. The conservative Christians who totally live in a bubble from the rest of us are the most corrupt and biased, and are such hypocrites!!! Its insulting for those people who do horrible things in the name of Christianity. Look how bad straight married couples are to each other! The divorce rate alone is staggering, and i’m sure most of these people are from denominations that consider divorce a ‘sin’. How can they be more superior to a gay married couple???

  15. Kristen Ferrell October 31, 2008 at 11:12 am #

    I think that anyone with common sense, religious or not, would agree that gay marriage is nothing to be worked up about and should be freely allowed.
    Here’s the thing that pisses me off…. the entire debate is based on what someone prefers in the privacy of their bedroom. Any debate surrounding homosexuality is a full violation of people’s privacy because it’s opening up their sex life- and that’s just wrong. If 2 adults want to get married, they should be able to get married. Period. But because these 2 adults happen to be of the same gender, and that means that they’ll be having “gay sex”… then it’s all of a sudden some monster issue because the Conservatives don’t like “gay sex” because some book written thousands of years ago that has been retranslated hundreds of times (so much so that we’re not even sure that the original text is anywhere near what they’re preaching now) says that “gay sex” is bad.
    The bible laws no longer pertains to modern life- so everyone just needs to get the fuck over than one right now. And one religious group shouldn’t get to decide the lives of other people. And, finally- AND MOST IMPORTANTLY- what 2 consenting adults (gay or straight) do in the privacy of their bedroom IS NOONES BUSINESS AND SHOULD NOT BE PUT UP TO DEBATE WHEN DEALING WITH LAWS AND LEGISLATURE!!!!! PERIOD!!!!!!!!!

    It’s rude. It’s invasive. It’s insulting to the point of sickness. And it isn’t anyone’s god damn business. Not the church, not the government, not friends and family, not ANYONE.
    But the whole debate is stemming from these very private acts. And it’s just plain WRONG.

  16. Angela November 2, 2008 at 8:46 pm #

    Alec and I were just talking about this today… Why do people care so much??? It makes no sense.
    But yeah, I get nauseous every time I drive past the people holding those signs and I also was immature and yelled at them yesterday. I couldn’t help it. My heart starts beating so fast and I want to puke. Tuesday is going to be scary is this prop passes.

  17. Kristen Ferrell November 2, 2008 at 11:49 pm #

    Now, MAYBE I can understand if some really old people who have lived a really sheltered ultra-crazy-christian life could possibly hold these beliefs…. because they’re ignorant and don’t know any better. That doesn’t make it right AT ALL, but maybe I could understand why they suck.

    But aside from old people who have existed in a bubble- there’s just no excuse for the ignorance.

    I watched this video on youtube the other day that listed tons of serial killers, rapists, murders, pedophiles, etc who all got married in prison… and even fathered children during their incarceration. These are people who our society deems as so horrifying that they are no longer allowed to exist except behind lock-and-key… and in some cases SO awful that they were put to death by the prison system. BUT these people have a constitutional right to be married. Ted Bundy. Members of the Manson family involved in the Tate murders. Danny Rolling (the “Gainsville Ripper”). Both the “Hillside Stranglers”. Richard Ramirez (“The Night Stalker”). John Wayne Gacy. All these MONSTERS were allowed to have legally binding marriages AFTER they were behind bars….

    So why the fuck can’t 2 tax paying, law abiding, loving and committed adults get married just because they happen to be the same gender?

    HOW THE FUCK DOES THAT MAKE ANY SENSE AT ALL??????????????

  18. Brittany November 3, 2008 at 10:49 pm #

    Kristen – I’m 17 and pursuing a career in art. You’re an inspiration to me both in terms of your art AND in the fact that you don’t take any BS. I’m with you on not having the option to “not punch”.

    anyways…

    thought you might appreciate this. It made my day. goes to show that there is still hope for some of these ignorant assholes to see the light.

    Jerry Sanders, San Diego Mayor on his change of heart about gay marriage –

  19. Kristen Ferrell November 4, 2008 at 12:48 pm #

    I’m SO SO SO SO glad you posted that video!!! The way he got all choked up made me cry!!! You RULE!!!!!! THANK YOU!!!

    And if you stick with your art, you’ll do great. Seriously. You just have to go after it like you would any career.

    And as far as not having the option to “not punch”… I’ve never understood the “turn the other cheek” bullshit. Why allow yourself to be a doormat? Why show forgiveness and kindness to people who try to make life hard for you? It just makes no sense. I never ever go out looking for a fight, but if someone shoves one in my face- I’m certainly not going to smile and walk away! I’m going to fight back… and I fight dirty. When you fight, you fight to win- not to be fair (or else what’s the fucking point??).

  20. Jen Daking December 3, 2008 at 7:10 pm #

    I’m sure you’ve seen this one already, but I still want to kiss this man.

  21. Jen Daking December 3, 2008 at 7:10 pm #

    Oops, that didn’t work. Maybe this will:

  22. cwxwwwxdfvwwxwx December 25, 2008 at 5:57 pm #

    well, hi admin adn people nice forum indeed. how’s life? hope it’s introduce branch 😉

Leave a Reply

