Fires, Death by hair, and arty nonsense…

16 Nov

Southern California is ablaze.  Massive fires all around us… but we’re safely tucked away by the beach, surrounded by miles and miles of concrete and stucco to keep the fires at bay.  Apparently this happens every year… instead of the Fall season, we have the Fire season.  Last year they were in Santa Ana, and it was snowing ashes for days.  This year, they’re a little further away- but the air is thick with ash and dust and you can feel it when you breathe.  Brad and I drove into Hollywood last night, and there were big spots of glowing red on the horizon where the fires are… it was creepy.  Here’s what the sky looked like yesterday afternoon as the smoke and ash started to blow through our neighborhood…

Creepy.  As the sun set, everything was glowing this eerie sickly yellow, and it had a very post-apocalyptic feel.  Yuck.

In other Kristen-events… I got my hair caught in the ceiling fan a couple days ago.  Yes… in the ceiling fan.  How does someone do something so unbelievably stupid?  It isn’t hard when you’re the Queen of Freak Accidents (which I currently hold that title).  My hair is so long that some of my dreads are down to my knees.  I keep it wadded up in a giant knot every day so it doesn’t get caught in car doors, drawers, the garbage disposal, set on fire, etc. (which all of the mentioned have either happened or almost happened multiple times… yes, they have caught fire before… don’t ask).  So while in a rush to go get Sully from school, I hurriedly was putting my hair up in my office.  I flipped my head down, separated my hair into 2 gigantic sections to knot together, and flipped it back up to tie it up… and SNAG… my head jerks back- and I immediately know what has happened.  As I flipped my head back up, the longest dreads got caught in the ceiling fan above me, and off I went.  So my head and the ceiling fan are in a tug-o-war with my hair.  I’m trying to pull it free- but trying not to pull too hard because I don’t want to pull the fan down on top of me and get another head injury.  I’m really glad that Brad wasn’t home to witness the battle, because instead of helping he would have grabbed his camera and started taking pictures.  Obviously, since I’m sitting here typing this, I was able to get free.  But I did have a nasty headache for the rest of the night.  Stupidest thing to ever happen to me?… not even close.  But it does fall somewhere in the top 20.

On to arty things…. since I’m most productive with deadlines, and I’ve been feeling unproductive lately, I’ve decided to kick myself in the ass.  I’ve started a little project called “A Drawing A Day”.  Every day, until December 15th, I’m going to create a new piece of art or craft to sell in the webstore.  Some may be great, and some may be totally ridiculous… but they’ll all be on there.  Each one will come with a little card stating which date the item was completed on.  Little crocheted creatures, drawings, tiny paintings, felt plush animals, etc.  As much as I hate crazy pressure- I work best with it.  So we’ll see if I finish it completely.  Yesterday’s finished drawing is on the webstore for sale…  here it is:

There was all kinds of other stuff that has happened, but my memory isn’t allowing any of it to be accessed right now.

So off I go to watch “Dirty Jobs” dvd’s with Sully and work on today’s crafty adventure.  Yay!!!!

14 Responses to “Fires, Death by hair, and arty nonsense…”

  1. hayley g November 16, 2008 at 5:12 pm #

    you have to admit, those pics would probably be pretty funny looking. 🙂

  2. Kristen Ferrell November 16, 2008 at 6:55 pm #

    Oh, I’m sure they’d be hilarious! But I would rather Brad help untangle me from the ceiling fan than take pictures of my demise… but I know that the pictures would come first. Always.
    😉

  3. yard November 17, 2008 at 2:10 am #

    I’m picturing the ceiling fan on… I imagine it wasn’t but did you take a minute and imagine if it was? Shiiitt that would’ve really sucked.

  4. butcherbaby November 17, 2008 at 3:03 am #

    ah hahahahawhahawhaha! trust me, i laugh with you because i have stupid accidents too. my husband still cannot fathom how i managed to slam the car door shut on my thigh one time (the bruise it left was truly a marvel).

    my real dreads were never as long as yours but i had a set of ass length extension ones that my friend and i made from our old human hair weave when it got too ratty. i never had any accidents but i do remember the extreme pleasure it gave me to whip them around while dancing at snotty goth clubs. anyone who got too close got whacked and but good. >:-)

  5. christine November 17, 2008 at 5:32 am #

    I am adding ‘death by hair’ onto my long list of weird possible/and actual deaths! thats a good one.

  6. Kristen Ferrell November 17, 2008 at 8:59 am #

    Yardley… yes… the fan was on. And yes… it really sucked.

    Butcherbaby… I accidentally hit my son in the face all the time with my hair. He’s as tall as me, and at least once a day he’ll get nailed in the face when he’s walking behind me and I turn too quickly. He’s learning to either walk next to me, or stay at least 2 steps behind me. OH! And I met one of your buddies at Amoeba the other night!! Brad and I were in Hollywood visiting a friend and your adorable buddy came up and talked to me at the store. You have good friends. 🙂

    And Christine- this is the 3rd time my hair has almost killed me. Once it almost drowned me; once it caught on fire; and now it got caught in the ceiling fan. So there are multiple versions to the “death by hair” that you can put in your records.
    😉

  7. Cassie November 17, 2008 at 12:11 pm #

    I went to Amoeba in LA when I was there last month. I adore that store! I’m sorry your dreads are trying to kill you. I cant even begin to imagine how badly your fan incident sucked!
    Steer clear of the fires and have kick some craft ass!

  8. whitney November 18, 2008 at 3:35 pm #

    how were you actually able to get free on your own???
    i’d be freaking out if that were me….. but i couldnt help but laugh out loud, HARD, until tears were in my eyes while i read about your near death experience by hair.

    as for the fires… welcome to autumn time in southern california!
    i HATE that orange glow the sun gives off through the smoke. i always told people it gave me that post-apocalyptic feeling too. gross. james never understood why i HATE fall time here in california until he moved out here….. it’s dry, HOT, windy and the fires fucking suck… and so doesnt breathing that shit in. it also sucks when youre in your car and the ashes and nastiness are blowing through the vents and get in your eyes.

    you should apply to be on “dirty jobs”… i was thinking about doing that for my job… since i wipe a bunch of adult re-re’s asses and faces all day. but, then i thought that maybe it would be mean cause people would probably think i don’t actually enjoy it or something. cause i DO enjoy wiping shitty asses and drooly faces all day.

  9. Kristen Ferrell November 18, 2008 at 10:11 pm #

    I adore “Dirty Jobs”. I’ve been contemplating writing a whole post about how I’ve fallen in love with Mike Rowe, and how he’s totally dreamy and I look forward to the evening time when Sully puts in the Dirty Jobs DVDs so I can giggle at him and look at his pretty face. I was actually on Mike Rowe’s blog this evening reading his funniness. I love him. He’s beautiful. And funny. And a witty old guy (I loooooooove witty old guys). I even had a dream about him the other night… but I won’t go into it. HA!!! I don’t think I have a dirty enough job to catch the attention of glorious Mr Rowe. My job is just tedious, stressful, and silly. If he hosted a show called “stupid jobs”, then I might be a candidate. 😉

    And I don’t know exactly how I was able to free myself from the ceiling fan. I just kept pulling and pulling. It was fully retarded.

  10. butcherbaby November 19, 2008 at 1:48 am #

    ha! we were just watching dirty jobs tonight and laughing our asses off. one of them was a chicken farm complete with piles of chicken shit and the other was at the mannequin factory, which i’d have to say i was pretty envious of. it wasn’t even that far from here, which makes me want to go find it and dumpster dive for their rejects.
    my friend was so thrilled when she met you that she texted me right after! i’m glad you like her, she’s really an awesome chick and one of my dearest friends.
    i used to have postcard (probably still do, somewhere) that was “california’s four seasons” and the pictures were earthquakes, fires, mudslides, and (i think) floods. so true. i really hate fire season though, because it always wreaks havoc with my asthma. i kind of like to breathe on a regular basis.

  11. whitney November 19, 2008 at 7:32 pm #

    FACT! did you know Mike Rowe used to be an opera singer?

  12. Kristen Ferrell November 19, 2008 at 8:24 pm #

    He sang opera on the episode where he made candy, and he sang at the beginning of a baseball game… so I’m not surprised.
    He was also an Eagle Scout.
    I know too much about him. I’m creeping myself out.

    But I just can’t help it.

  13. hi January 27, 2009 at 11:14 am #

    jjjj

  14. hi January 27, 2009 at 11:15 am #

    hello peeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeps im really tired and fucked

Leave a Reply

