Self awareness should be taught in school…

20 Nov

Last night Sully woke up about 8 different times because of increasingly ridiculous things.  The first couple times was to use the bathroom.  No big deal- except he has this weird habit of asking if he’s allowed to every time.  Every.  Single.  Time.  Always.  As if I’m going to say ‘no’.  Sorry Sully, you’ve now got to hold it for the rest of your life.  Then at around 2am, he wakes up and yells to me that he wants all the cats in his bed.  Then at around 3:30 we hear this huge crash, and he somehow kicked his little cd player out of his bed, and he wants me to get up and repair it.  Yeah, right guy… go to sleep. Then about a half hour after that, he yells to me that he thinks his feet are asleep… I yell back that he should follow their lead.  And on and on and on.

Then, when I made coffee this morning, I forgot to dump out the remainder of last night’s coffee that was still in the pot… so I came home from dropping off Sully from school to an overflowed coffee pot with a mixture of gross old coffee and new fresh coffee.  It was all over the countertop, spilled onto the floor, and the cats walked through it so there were little coffee paw prints everywhere.  So before I even had my coffee after a sleepless night, I have to get out the mop and clean the floor.

Then I turn on my computer, and this is one of the first images I see when I went online:

Fucking gross.  Like my day wasn’t off to a horrifying start already- I’m visually assaulted by this washed up relic, still sporting his cornrows.  Dear Life, I hate you today.

A good friend of ours was over the other night, and he happens to be the master of illegal downloads.  So he already had the new Guns N Roses album.  We flipped through the songs and listened to them.  Dear god… that shit is HORRIBLE!!!!  Like, embarrassingly horrible.  The kind of horrible that makes you cringe.  And Axl’s dedication to the cornrows and baggy “chubby old guy” attire doesn’t help matters any.  What I want to know is if he ever looks at himself in the mirror.  Ever.  And if he does, is he so far gone that he can stand in front of that mirror, inspecting his appearance, and think “Yeah, I look good… things are going just fine with me”.  Really?  Really???!!! I don’t get it.  Does he live in a bubble?  Or am I being really mean?…. ok, I am being really mean.  Do I care?  Of course not.

I’ve been doing my little daily crafts… and they make me giggle.  Here’s a few of the new fun stuff that’s now available on the website….

Severed Finger And Denture Cupcakes

Severed Finger Plush X-mas Ornaments

Severed Finger Plush X-mas Ornaments

Crocheted Little Birdy w/ Severed Finger Legs

Crocheted Little Birdy w/ Severed Finger Legs

I’m making custom painted plates tonight.  And I should be getting my dresses back from the screenprinter any day now.  And I just got tons of totes in to get screenprinted.  So there’s gonna be alot more stuff to look forward to on my little webstore.

Off I go to function….

Big hugs to you all (except Axl…. he’s too creepy for hugs).

22 Responses to “Self awareness should be taught in school…”

  1. germinfested November 20, 2008 at 4:30 pm #

    I have those days sometimes when NOTHING seems to be going right. Like yesterday when i was Mid-Flu, and all I wanted to do was watch a fucking movie, and my computer freezes up on me. Those are the days where all i can do is cry and scream into a pillow and curse baby jesus. It’s always proven effective for me. And if all else fails, bake something. Works best if you bake something with lots of sugar.

  2. Tenacious D November 20, 2008 at 7:44 pm #

    Is that seriously Axle? Oh my…I didn’t even recognize him.

  3. Kristen Ferrell November 20, 2008 at 8:16 pm #

    Oh yes… that’s Axl. Terrifying, right? Just do a google image search of him- but prepare to be horrified. It’s downright tragic.

    And I would looooove to bake something- but I’m a terrible cook.
    Instead, I went to Trader Joe’s. Since it’s almost x-mas, they have their JoJo’s cookies with peppermint sticks in them… but NOW they have peppermint JoJo’s that are covered in chocolate!!! So I ate a box of them with putting together a 1000 piece puzzle with Sully while watching old episodes of the “Twilight Zone” this evening. It made my evening considerably better than my morning.
    🙂

  4. germinfested November 20, 2008 at 8:26 pm #

    Oh man, I love puzzles. THOSE COOKIES ARE SO GOOD I CAN’T EXPRESS IT IN WORDSSSSS. I love the holidays. Not nessicary the holidays themselves but I love everything that goes along with them. Like Peppermint JoJo’s Peppermint coffee creamer, and all that good stuff. The especially exciting part is right after christmas when they do winter clearance and you can get all this amazing stuff FOR FREE.

    After taking a second gander at Axl, and then imagining THAT singing Welcome to the Jungle, I dry heaved. Ew.

  5. Tenacious D November 20, 2008 at 8:43 pm #

    I cringe when I think that my son won’t know him as I loved him. Blegh! And thanks for the image of fat axle doing the beautiful axle dance. Nightmares will be had. Oh yes they will. Sigh…

  6. Kristen Ferrell November 20, 2008 at 8:55 pm #

    You KNOW he still does that snakey wiggle dance. And now he does it with an old and sagging body, with cornrows a flyin’. VOMIT!!!!

    It’s sad when they fall apart. (but equally fun to laugh at).

  7. daMamma November 20, 2008 at 9:24 pm #

    Gosh Kristen, done the Sully thing more often than I care to admit. Done the coffee thing a few times too. Thankfully never at the same time! That had to really be awful.

    I agree Axle looks horrid. What happened? Did he get hit by a train or what? Yikes, time for that boy to just hang it up.

    On a lighter note, your new stuff looks fantastic! Love it!

  8. Anonymous November 21, 2008 at 1:31 am #

  9. christine November 21, 2008 at 5:31 am #

    the new crafts are so adorable!!!!!

  10. Cassie November 21, 2008 at 6:24 am #

    Lily does that to me every night! I am terribly sorry you have to go thru that, but it makes me feel better knowing that I’m not the only one with a kid who wants to have a “cat blanket”.

    Axel? What the hell happened to you?
    SERIOUSLY not liking the new album. Poor fella. *sigh*

    I love love love the new stuff

  11. dollypop-amyjeen November 21, 2008 at 7:43 am #

    fat axl.
    HAHAHAHA MOTHERFREAKING HA!

    ok, i haven’t had a band in years but i may have to start a small project just to name it fat axl !!!

    oh for the love of cheese…i just had a visual of him in those white bike shorts…OHTHEHUMANITY!!!!

    um ps.
    i know you are ridiculously, busy, but, this is my first year with a house and the man and a tree and all that gross happy crap.
    um, we are having a hard time agreeing on decorations. he found these rad black ones, at target of all places, if i paid you in advance, would you make us a few of those delicous finger ornaments ?!

    please?

    pleeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeaaaase!!!!!!!!!!

    i will do whatever you want !!!!!!!!!

    pss, do you still have a vhs player ?

  12. dollypop-amyjeen November 21, 2008 at 8:03 am #

    ok, i am going to take back my shameless begging for ornaments, you are way to busy, but tha would be an awesome addition to your store.

  13. dollypop-amyjeen November 21, 2008 at 10:31 am #

    um.
    hello.
    nevermind.
    heh.
    yes i dye my hair dark to hide the natural born idiot.
    link and xmas gift has been sent to the appropriate person(s).

  14. Kristen Ferrell November 21, 2008 at 1:34 pm #

    hahahahahahahaha!!!! you’re the funniest lady ever!!!
    XOXOXOXOXOXOXOXOXO

  15. whitney November 21, 2008 at 3:51 pm #

    its pretty funny now that VCR’s are now referred to as “VHS players” hahaha. i still buy tapes at salvation army….

    i saw a pretty gross image of axl, yesterday on yahoo or something. it is pretty ridiculous if he thinks he still looks good. i mean, seriously…. how can some literally make themselves look like that on purpose and think it’s okay! eesh.

    how in the hell are you already a crazy master-crocheter? yr stuffs really fucking cute!!!! i’m excited for the new goodies. 🙂

  16. whitney November 21, 2008 at 3:52 pm #

    i say “pretty” a lot….

  17. Kristen Ferrell November 21, 2008 at 5:09 pm #

    I’ve gotten pretty ok at crocheting because I’m obsessive compulsive. In the clinical sense. When I start something, I can’t stop until I feel it’s finished or that I’ve conquered it (which is rarely ever). But I channel it into productive things like my arty stuff… instead of destructive things like pulling out my eyelashes and picking at scabs so much that they don’t heal for months (like I did when I was little). But I do read the same books over and over, and watch the same DVD box sets from start to finish over and over. I’ve seen the Soprano’s from first episode to last dozens of times. It’s a comfort thing.

    And yes, I have a VCR- but Brad refuses to hook it up because he has stated that we live in the 2000’s, not in the 1980’s. Which SUCKS because all my favorite movies are on VHS (and I tried to hook it up myself and made a gigantic mess). Damn you, Brad.

  18. christine November 22, 2008 at 8:27 am #

    I LOVE VHS’s….and I love how VCR’s are so damn cheap now. I’ll help you hook it up!! just get me a plane ticket!!!! not only can I put people’s faces back together after a horrible disfiguring accident, I can hook up electronic devices!! Sometimes, I amaze myself.

  19. dollypop-amyjeen November 22, 2008 at 8:35 am #

    wooooooooo !
    andy got me 4 for xmas !!!!!
    our tree is going to rock!
    we are leaving an a few minutes to get craft plaster-super light weight- to use in a dios de los muertos mold for some ornaments.
    i have some fabric paint applicators which i hope will look like icing.
    and of course my glitter fake glitter cat poo ornaments.
    yeesh.
    well, we are getting a vhs convertor for xmas so i can free up room, i have honestly 300 tapes. if he wont hook em up i’ll just donate em : )

  20. yard November 22, 2008 at 6:24 pm #

    OHH!!!! Custom plates!!! I’ll be looking for them. They are the only thing I collect. Yippeee to new plates!

  21. Kristen Ferrell November 22, 2008 at 10:38 pm #

    They’re SUPER custom plates. I found enamel paints that I’m playing around with, so they’re all hand painted. They should be starting to go on the website tomorrow (I have to let them set for 24 hours then bake them).
    WHEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  22. Psychedelikat December 3, 2008 at 7:50 pm #

    Holy crap! I love those little crocheted birds! That ain’t your gramma’s needlework, for sure!

    And as for your son calling out to you and that Axl Rose ca-ca, it’s one reason why I’m thankful I became profoundly deaf. 😉

Leave a Reply

