As if I didn’t have enough to do already….

15 Dec

Who got a day job?  Me!!

Yup… when the economy shits the bed, the first thing people stop spending money on is the arts.  So who got a financial sucker-punch for christmas this year?  Who?  Me?… awwww… ya shouldn’t have!

I understand it… because I’m not able to spend money on art (or much of anything else) either.  It’s just the way things are right now.  When weighing out buying new clothes or arty fun vs paying the bills- I opt for bills as well.  And I was REALLY fucking lucky and have super awesome friends who’ve got my back, and I got a little office job that doesn’t care about how I look, I have my own office, flexible hours, and the nicest coworkers & boss ever.  And after getting turned down for seasonal positions of stocking shelves at Whole Foods (apparently they don’t believe that I can lift my own weight in coucous), I have never been more thankful for office work.

But with my new job, comes added life pressure.  I thought I didn’t have enough hours in the day before.. but now, I’m a little fucked.  Here’s my typical day:

  • 7:15am: Wake up into the madness of getting ready for work and getting Sully ready for school
  • 8:30: Drop Sully off at school
  • 9:00 Get to work
  • work work work work
  • 2:00pm: Leave work
  • 2:20: Get home, print orders, start business calls, deal with web stuff
  • 3:00: Get Sully from school
  • Go to store/post office/whatever errands need to be done
  • 4:30: try to package orders while strong-arming Sully to do his homework
  • 5:30: Start making dinner while making calls to whatever large corporations/utility companies/financial institutions I’m having troubles with that day
  • 6:00: Dinner
  • 6:30: Pulling up all the Blacknoise webstore stuff and getting the shipping ready for that (because,yes, I’m still running Brad’s business as well since he’s still in school)
  • 7:30: Quality Sully time
  • 8:00: Get Sully to bed
  • 8:15: Package Brad’s orders so they can go to the post office the next day
  • 9:00: Dishes, Laundry, chores, and whatever else needs to be done around the house
  • 10:00: Finally sitting down to my own paperwork & website technical stuff that I usually would have done during the day, but now have to do at night because of the day job
  • 11/11:30: Try to check on/respond to emails, customer service stuff, tracking lost packages online, banking and bill paying, etc
  • 12/12:30am: Try to paint, draw, etc pieces for upcoming shows, or work on x-mas presents for people
  • 2/3:00am (usually later): get ready for bed.

Yup.  I’m tired.  It doesn’t help that it’s the holidays.  I loathe christmas… but this year it’s particularly depressing since we have no money for presents for anyone and I have no time to make stuff like I wanted to.  But it will be over soon, and that’s one less thing on my never-ending list of “to-do’s”.  So if I’m not writing as much on here as I normally was… now you know why.

Aside from that madness…. This past week I had some of my darling friends from NYC in town for gallery openings.  It was a much needed jolt of laughter and beautiful faces to keep me going.  Saturday night David Stoupakis had an opening at the Corey Helford gallery, Matthew Bone (a LA local) had an opening at the CoproNason gallery, and on Sunday night David Hochbaum & the Goldmine Shithouse crew had a screenprinting party.  I got out of the house.  I got to dress up and run around with friends.  I got to see beautiful art and laugh.  I got to play with my friends.  I haven’t gotten to do those things in a really long time.  And I NEEDED it.  Here’s a few pics of these beautiful friends of mine…..

Hochbaum is one of my favorite people on the planet.

Hochbaum is one of my favorite people on the planet.

That beauty in the middle is Aprella, another one of my favorites-for-keeps

That beauty in the middle is Aprella, another one of my favorites-for-keeps

My cuddly Matthew Bone

My cuddly Matthew Bone

My Brad and the Davids (Brad makes great Bad Face)

My Brad and the Davids (Brad makes great "Bad Face")

I allowed myself 30 minutes to dork around on the computer and babble on here, and my time is now up…. and now it’s back to The Schedule.

But on a final note, here is Daisy Ding-Dong Stupid Face, about 30 seconds before she knocked our x-mas tree down.  Again.  For the 15th time.  She’s a total dick.

Merry Fucking Christmas

Merry Fucking Christmas

(Ps… I saw the new trailer for “Harry Potter & the Half-Blood Prince” tonight.  Complete awesomeness!)

8 Responses to “As if I didn’t have enough to do already….”

  1. christine December 16, 2008 at 9:52 am #

    Ugh I feel your pain. Between working 2 jobs I am in the process of moving and Christmas shopping while I have no money for groceries..I have been living on crackers and Easy Cheese YUM! I love your Christmas tree!!

  2. chelsea rae December 16, 2008 at 1:30 pm #

    Now you know why my precious vintage aluminum tree never leaves my basement. Especially not with what i have left of my Shiny Brites.
    Effing cats.

  3. daMamma December 16, 2008 at 8:16 pm #

    Love your kitty. Aren’t they just a joy. My current cat likes to use it as his personal scratching post and toy delivery system. I have as many needles on the floor with this fake one as I would if it were real. He’s lucky I love him so much.

    Many years ago I had a pair of cats. Mr. Boots and Ms. Princess. There were many fights over the Christmas tree, and IN the Christmas tree. The whole thing just a shaking and shuddering like mad, hissing, spitting, slapping and clawing, the ornaments flying every which way. Oh happy joy! The next year we got a fake tree, same deal.

  4. Pink Velvet Bird December 17, 2008 at 6:00 am #

    I hear ya! I’m currently doing the day job thing after having to close down my art studio (which i decided to move to the living room! hooray, no commute!). My customers just didn’t have the $ for my art classes and supplies and though I try not to be grumpy about the fact the walmart has taken a lot of my sales away it’s tough.
    Keep up the fight, keep up the art, girl! This too shall pass!
    PVB

  5. HarleeQ December 17, 2008 at 2:45 pm #

    Yeah I was so sad when i saw the trailer before Tropic Thunder, went home to look up info on it and found out it was postponed from November 21 to July or whatever.

  6. Kristen Ferrell December 17, 2008 at 9:27 pm #

    They really need to get the lead out with the Potter movies. Those kids are going to be in their 30’s by the time the last one is made if they keep pushing back the dates (they’ve already lost one Dumbledor, and McGonagall is looking like she’s on her last legs). And didn’t Slughorn have a big busy moustache in the book? Why doesn’t he have a moustache in the movie? Am I nit-picking? Probably. Whatever.

    PVC- I’m so sorry to hear about your studio!! Things are so bad right now… it’s past the point of “scary”. And there’s no help to be had. It makes my stomach hurt. Hang in there, and hope for better things!!!!

  7. butcherbaby December 22, 2008 at 5:17 pm #

    god i understand this all too well. i had to hang up my flea market business indefinitely because i couldn’t even afford my overhead anymore. profits? haha, what are those?
    i can’t find a day (or night) job to save my life, which is making my married life none too happy right now. he doesn’t seem to get that jobs are scarce for everyone right now, and that it’s not me “just not trying hard enough”.
    it seems everyone we know is doing shitty right now….when the hell are things going to start getting better?

  8. lyle thompson May 13, 2016 at 10:00 pm #

    Stop being a birch u don’t know what real problems are

Leave a Reply

