Monsters make everything better….

28 Jan

As I’ve stated in previous posts, I’ve been a little grumpy and overwhelmed lately.  And as much as I try to put on the “bright and shining” face for my son- he’s noticed (mainly because he’s not a moron and is really in tune with what the emotions of people around him are.  This is a quality in him that I hope sticks so that he doesn’t become one of those useless fellas who never has a clue as to what is going on with thier wife).

Sully usually gets up at around 6:30-7am.  I don’t get up that early.  As much as I try… I just can’t.  But for all the ways that Sully is high-maintenance, as far as mornings go- he’s a great solo pilot.  Every morning, by the time I’m shuffling around trying to pry my eyes open, he’s already dressed, has eaten a well balanced breakfast of fruit, yogurt, and cereal, has his backpack packed, teeth brushed, hair brushed, and is usually sitting in the kitchen reading.  Yes… I know I am very very lucky.

So this morning as I stumble through my office trying to wake up, I noticed a drawing sitting on my desk.  After breakfast, Sully spent the morning drawing me a little something to make my day happy…. and here it is:

From the brain of a 10 year old boy.....

Next to the drawing was a little note that said “Are you laughing yet? Love Sully”.

And yes…. I was laughing.  HARD.  I have the greatest son on the planet.  And the rest of my day was 100% tolerable because of his hilarious little drawing.  I think it’s mandatory that I get this guy tattooed on me.  Seriously.

Due to my recent stresses, I’ve started sleepwalking again… but with a weird twist.  I’ve mentioned before about my sleepwalking adventures (waking up all over the house, having rearranged furniture in my sleep, etc), and it seems to kick in when I’m going through rough life-patches.  This morning, I woke up and I wasn’t wearing my pajamas.  I use the term “pajamas” loosely, because I usually go to bed in whatever I was wearing that day (except if I was wearing jeans, then I’ll change into leggings or something).  But when I woke up, I found my leggings on the floor in the middle of the bedroom, and as I ventured through the house I found a trail of the rest of the clothing that I went to bed in.  So apparently not only am I sleepwalking again, but performing strip-teases for dreamland audiences throughout the house.  My biggest fear with the sleepwalking is that I somehow get out of the house and wander through the neighborhood.  This would now be especially bad if I did this after going-nudist.  I’ve won over most of my neighbors… but this isn’t a way to keep friends in the conservative and tight-knit suburban community that we live in.  I’m going to have to tie bells to my ankles at night to wake Brad up if I try to wander.

But all-in-all, today was a good day.  Thanks to Sully-monsters.

14 Responses to “Monsters make everything better….”

  1. sara z January 28, 2009 at 8:41 pm #

    sully is the cutest! and one of the smartest kids ever. honestly. one of the best conversations i’ve had with him was when we were discussing the theory of relativity and whether or not you would see the headlights of a car traveling faster than the speed of light. i’m a fan of quantum mechanics and sully fully understood the mechanics of the theory. i would rather talk to him than many adults, haha.

    i hope he continues drawing as he gets older. he’s got a fantastic imagination and i’d love to see what he comes up with. glad you’re feeling better kristen. it’s a shame when the world vomits mind numbing fail all over super awesome people.

  2. butcherbaby January 29, 2009 at 2:01 am #

    OMG that is sooooooo totally awesome! i LOVE kids art, absolutely love it.

  3. jamie January 29, 2009 at 2:40 am #

    UNDIES is great, and should be a tattoo. go sully! i sleep in my clothes, too, except for nights of exceptional drunkeness, when i wake up naked and a trail of items leads from my living room to bedroom, once i found a shirt inexplicably in the trash! and unfinished bread dough on the counter! all from the same night!

  4. christine January 29, 2009 at 8:05 pm #

    how freakin cute and thoughtful..I love how kids are so in tune with our moods. and usually know what to do to make someone smile.

  5. daMamma January 30, 2009 at 5:59 am #

    What a great drawing. I love it. The guy has talent, imagination, and that wonderful “in tune-ness” most guys lack in a big way, he’ll go far in life. He really is such an awesome give.

  6. Cassie January 30, 2009 at 6:13 am #

    Undies should definately be your next tattoo!!!

    I thing the bells idea ins’t half bad, if Brad would actually hear them. Glad you had a good day!!

  7. daMamma January 30, 2009 at 6:24 am #

    that would be “gift” not give.
    Stupid typos…

  8. megkup January 30, 2009 at 7:28 am #

    You have an awesome son!

  9. whitney January 30, 2009 at 10:41 am #

    haha! that’s fucking great. sully’s awesome.
    definitely tattooable. 🙂

  10. myshinyhell February 1, 2009 at 6:37 pm #

    COOL. DRAWING. I am not surprised by his talent, considering his momma, but WOW. And in my wildest dreams, my son does something this sweet and amazing for me someday. It’s good to hear that you had a happy day. xoxoxoxoxoxxoxox.

    P.S. I hope you don’t strip-sleepwalk for the neighbors. Bells on the doors! Bells on your ankles! Tie yourself to Brad! 🙂

  11. Kristen Ferrell February 1, 2009 at 7:08 pm #

    the funniest part about the sleepwalking thing is what I discovered later that day. I have sugar-bender-goodies stashed all over the house so that my boys don’t get into them (I hide cookies and cupcakes the way a dope fiend hides their drugs). When I went to break into my jar of Nutella, I found it cleaned out. After confronting both Brad and Sully and finding that neither of them knew anything about my hidden Nutella… I realized that I must have eaten it during my sleepwalking adventure. I had a naked Nutella party, and I don’t even remember it (and I didn’t even have the excuse that I was drunk). It’s a damn shame.

  12. nicole February 11, 2009 at 7:50 pm #

    hahah you just made my day with sully’s underwear monster &naked sleepwalking. fucking awesome! i’ve got to say, even though life throws a lotta shit your way, you somehow manage to make everything comical. probably easy for me to say, cause i’m not giving my neighbors nighttime nutella stripteases while i’m snoozin, but who’s to say that’s a bad thing.. i mean, shit, those up tight conservatives always seem to be the ones having some sort of fucked up fetishes, so maybe you’ll really win ’em over! =)

    also, you might want to lock up ezra for a minute.. i hear blink 182 is back together.. haha

  13. Anonymous February 17, 2009 at 1:47 pm #

    That is awesome!! The picture. Not the naked sleepwalking….

    Sorry things are so stressful!!

  14. melancholymonday February 17, 2009 at 1:48 pm #

    HA! that last comment is mine. Guess it helps to log in, huh? 😉

Leave a Reply

