Sympathetic Psychosis…..

4 Jul

My 4th of July so far has consisted of making some fake cupcakes, playing Star Wars Wii with Sully (and being so bad at it that I was dragging his character down- so because I love him, I gracefully backed out), edging the lawn , pulling some weeds, grocery shopping, and making some of the best damn guacamole that I think I’ve ever eaten.  I only know how to make “finger foods” and appetizers.  When I make dinner for myself, it looks like been to a picnic buffet.  But today has been wonderfully laid back.  Brad’s folks are coming over for some BBQ-ing on our trusty little grill- so I think the rest of the evening will be wonderfully laid back as well.  I prefer laid back any day of the week.

On to the main topic for today… I’ve started doing something a little odd- and I’m not sure of the reasons for it.  I’ve been getting up in the middle of the night and eating.  Not just a glass of milk…. but EATING.  A little back story… Brad does this.  He’s done this for almost a decade.  We’ve tried everything we can think of to thwart his midnight zombie-like-state snacking- but nothing works.  We know it’s tied to stress, but since he’s a manic stresser it’s hard to control.  More backstory… for those of you who are just tuning in, I’m a terrible sleeper to begin with.  Sleep walking, sleep talking, nightmares, night terrors, insomnia- the works.  I’ve always been this way, so I’m used to it.

So a couple weeks ago, I went to bed… and then woke up in the kitchen finding myself with a mouthful of cookies.  The brand new box of cookies that I had bought that day was half empty, and there must have been about 4 cookies in my mouth at once.  I was a little entertained by this, and a little unnerved… but shrugged it off and went back to bed.  A few nights ago, the same thing- but with a box of graham crackers.  And last night, I woke up with what must have been an entire Hershey’s chocolate bar in my mouth, the wrapper of a 2nd bar laying on the floor, and the jug of milk out half empty (no glass, mind you- chugging straight from the jug) (and I don’t normally have stacks of chocolate bars laying around, but we’re making smores over the grill tonight, so I had gotten a slew of them).  Yes, I see a pattern developing.  But I’m not under any abnormal stress right now (or at least not more than what I usually endure)- which is the cause of Brad’s late night snacking.  So I’m not sure where this is coming from except to think that since Brad’s out of town and not attacking our fridge at night, my brain has decided that it’s my turn.

I don’t care if this habit I picked up from Brad makes me gain weight- because I’d love nothing more than to put on about 10 more pounds.  And I’m used to not sleeping well, because I’ve never slept well.  But I just informed Brad that I’ve been doing this, and it was met with an echoing “NOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!  NOT YOU TOO!!!!!!”.  And frankly, our monthly food budget really can’t handle 2 people attacking the kitchen every night.

So how is this stopped?  Suggestions?  Anyone?

I just heard my first 4th of July fire truck siren of the season outside heading towards the beach.  The parties have officially started.  Since we’re not doing the fireworks this year, all of you blow up something for me.

7 Responses to “Sympathetic Psychosis…..”

  1. whitney July 5, 2009 at 1:10 pm #

    i need a fricken Wii systme… SNES is starting to get dull and i can’t see to beat Bowser’s world…. ugh…

    ANYWAY, that is very strange! you’re probably right though, since Brad’s outta town you’re starting to pick up the habit… maybe it’s just a subconscious thing that is set loose on yr mind while you are sleeping, therefore it happens in your sleep. Brad doesn’t sleep walk into the kitchen with an appetite too, does he? or does he voluntarily go get a snack?
    haha, either way, i’ve never heard of this before and it just may end up being another infamous ferrell antic that has no logically explanation! though i’m pretty convinced that maybe you have delicious dreams. 🙂

    • Kristen Ferrell July 6, 2009 at 8:23 pm #

      Brad’s night eating states are kindof like sleepwalking. He sortof knows he’s doing it, but isn’t really aware enough to stop himself. Mine was full blown sleepwalking… I just added eating to the mix.
      Brad just got back today, so we’ll see if the midnight eating keeps up now that he’s back, or if I pass the torch back to him.
      😀
      xoxo

  2. earaeslehc July 6, 2009 at 2:01 pm #

    Seriously, while i am concerned that you might choke on a mouthful of peeps some night, the image of you, coming to with a box of cookies in your face will tickle me pink for weeks to come.

    • Kristen Ferrell July 6, 2009 at 8:21 pm #

      Haha!!! You know that everything I do is to make you giggle, right?

  3. nicole July 6, 2009 at 6:14 pm #

    holy cow, kristen, i can’t keep up with all of your posts! haha while this seems like a bit of an overkill, i suppose you could padlock all of your cupboard doors /fridge shut.. this was the solution to keep my step-brother from drinking all of the pop while his dad wasn’t home. he literally put a padlock on the fridge, which i later inherited to take with me to college. try explaining that one to every person who comes through your dorm.. hahaha also, they’d put the ‘good’ junk food in their cars &lock them so he couldn’t eat a week’s worth of lunch supplies in an afternoon. i wouldn’t recommend that one for you though, because sleep-driving is the last thing you’d want to deal with..

    ps. i told brad i have sluggo’s doppleganger after the detroit show. his eyes lit up, i think he misses his bud! =)

    • Kristen Ferrell July 6, 2009 at 8:21 pm #

      Ya know, I did used to padlock the fridge and cupboards when Brad’s midnight eating was at it’s worst. And I’d do that now, but all our cupboards have these tiny round pulls on them instead of the handle ones like we had in our house in Kansas. I do hide all my junk food from the boys. There are “Kristen Sneaky Spots” all over the house filled with cookies and candy so that my boys don’t eat them all. Ha!!!!

      When you told Brad about your kitty after the show, did he then want to obsessively swap cat stories? He used to ask me to email him photos of me while he was on the road… now he just wants photos of the cat. It’s a little insulting. :/

  4. left eye July 7, 2009 at 3:34 am #

    Ohhhh man I do that!!! I thought I was alone in this odd habit. Mines even worse though, I bring the food from the kitchen to my bed 😦

    Once my boyfriend came over to surprise me with breakfast and he described it as “it was almost like you were trying to be really romantic spreading rose petals all over the bed…..except it was with sour cream and onion chips.”

    I’ve been to doctors and everything and the best advice I’ve gotten so far is to put a lock on the interior of my bedroom so I would be confused. That probably wouldn’t work for you though because you have Sully.

Leave a Reply

