I birthed the “Boy of Destiny”, and new K.F. items…..

10 Oct

I want to throw out a 2-part question to all that have tuned in… 1.) a show of hands who knew that Woody Harrelson’s father was a hired hitman; and 2.) If you did know, why didn’t you tell me?  Brad informed me of this the other night, and I want to know if this is common knowledge that I’ve somehow missed out on (the “somehow” really isn’t that mysterious, considering I’m going on a decade without television, I go out of my way to avoid celebrity news, and I read books instead of magazines).  But still… I’m pretty impressed by this.  “Impressed” may not be the appropriate word- but I can’t think of an appropriate one, so we’ll stick with “impressed”.

I’d like to make a public service announcement to all the little “punk” kids out there.   If you see me at a gas station (or anywhere for that matter… but the gas station was where my latest altercation was, so I’ll site that as an example), DO NOT ask me for spare change or to bum a cigarette.  ESPECIALLY when your “punk uniform” (ie: spiky leather jacket, leather boots, carefully maintained and manicured oh-so-shocking hair style, 12 billion patches and “punk” tshirts from all your ‘punk’ bands) cost more than I make in a week.  And DOUBLE ESPECIALLY when you’re sitting at a gas station in Huntington Beach (which means that you live in HB, which means that through your parents, you have shit tons more money than I do).  And SUPER ESPECIALLY DO NOT call me a  bitch when I deny you spare change or a “bummed cigarette”.  I will state here what I tell the spoiled little douchebags who like to hang out and beg because they think the idea of poverty is romantic: Begging does not make you “punk”.  The fact that you’re begging when you don’t need to PROVES  that you’re a spoiled delusional fucking brat who has been so disgustingly pampered throughout your life that you CHOOSE to beg (which is insulting to the rest of the people in the world who actually do struggle financially… and when people who are sincerely in need ask me for change, I openly give it to them).  Other people do not exist to give you free shit.  Other people do not OWE you anything, and you can’t walk up to strangers and DEMAND for them to give you their belongings, and then get MAD when they don’t.  It’s pathetic, and infantile.  And it makes me want to find out where you live, and confront your parents as to why they haven’t made you get a job and instill a little bit of character in you.  I don’t care if I am walking around with bucket of spare change and 200 cartons of cigarettes- you don’t get any.  Why?  Because you haven’t earned it.  I will deny you politely- but if you continue to get in my face about it, I will get loud, and make a complete ass out of you in front of all your little “punk” friends.   Being punk is not wasting your life in front of a suburban 7-11 in your patched stretch jeans and “Discharge” shirt trying to shock the local soccer moms with your boring attempts at rebellion and begging for smokes, you fucking loser.  Punk is politics. It’s the difference between ‘Rancid’ and ‘Fugazi’… one is fashion and marketing, and one is punk. Get a bit of awareness.

That turned into a soap box. Sorry.  Once I start typing, I kindof can’t stop.  Especially if the topic is something that thoroughly pisses me off.

Sully just walked into my office and told me that he no longer wants to be introduced to people as “Sully”.  He now wants to be introduced to people as “Sullivan… boy of Destiny”.  He was serious.  And he’s hilarious.

Sullivan....

I don't think a "Boy of Destiny" should be this angry... right?

I’ve finally started to get back into making things for my webstore.  As my regular folks have probably noticed, I haven’t added new shirts and fun for a really long time.  Why?  The economy hurt my feelings.  Ridiculous, I know.  But true, none-the-less.  To work your ass off to build a business from nothing, to do everything right, and to end up almost having to file for bankruptcy because the market crashed makes for buckets of resentment and bad feelings. But I’ve got over my bad feelings, and have scrimped up a bit of cash to go into production in limited runs.  So there will soon be new stuff on the webstore.  These new items aren’t going to be available for wholesale- they’re webstore and gallery exclusives because I’m only making a handful of each.  So as soon as they’re available, I’ll give a holler.

But for now- here’s the new little items I’ve got for sale…. Printables!!!  I figured that everyone was struggling for money just as much as I am.  And I’ve been getting tons of emails from folks wanting the stationary and card sets available again.  So here’s the new deal…. all the images for the card sets are available on my webstore.  You buy the images, and I email them to you (high res versions in color and black and white), and you can print them out yourself!  This way, instead of buying one set at a time, paying for shipping, waiting for them to arrive, and then finding that you need more… you pay for the images once, no shipping charges, and you can print out THOUSANDS!!  Awesomeness… right?  I thought so.

Little Cupcake Recipe Card Set!  Only at www.kristenferrell.com

Little Cupcake Recipe Card Set! Only at http://www.kristenferrell.com

Click HERE to go to the webstore to look at the new fun.  I’m going to have new printables on the store every week… so keep checking back!!

Sully just walked into my office again and showed me his latest drawing of a petrified eyeball.  I’m gonna go hang out with that kid cuz he’s pretty damn funny.

Big love to you all!!

18 Responses to “I birthed the “Boy of Destiny”, and new K.F. items…..”

  1. hayley October 10, 2009 at 2:53 pm #

    Mhmm, I know about all those little beggars. I’m always getting asked for cigs and money just because I sorta kinda resemble them. I like Discharge, and Fugazi, and Rancid, and am a poor college student, but I could never beg for money. It’s best to just decline them politely, then if they act like assholes, go ahead and be an asshole back.

    Has Sully been reading “Calvin and Hobbes” comics?
    In one of the comics, Calvin announces that he wants to be known as “Calvin, Boy of Destiny”, later on he wants theme music.
    I own all the comics, so I am quite familiar

    • Kristen Ferrell October 10, 2009 at 4:06 pm #

      HAHAHAH! That must be where he got it! That’s hilarious. He didn’t mention theme music- but he did say that he wanted me to start carrying cymbals in my purse to slam together whenever I’m done introducing him.

      I always politely decline the little beggars… but when they’re rude or confrontational after I turn them down, then they get screaming. I can’t stand that shit. UGH!!

  2. hayley g October 10, 2009 at 4:48 pm #

    you should see the ones who hangout on St. Marks in Manhattan!

    • Kristen Ferrell October 10, 2009 at 5:31 pm #

      Oh…. I’ve seen them. And they’re a pathetic and hostile bunch.

      Shit like that gives anyone in the punk/political movement a bad name. When the “average Joe” sees “punks” behaving like a bunch of assholes, they’re going to think that everyone from that subculture is an asshole. I can’t even begin to tell you how much venom was thrown at me from other parents when I took my son to preschool, or elementary school, or to the park, or even just grocery shopping. Why? Because of “punks” they’ve run into before me. With every one of these hostile encounters, I made it a point to be super nice and respectful… mainly to try to open their minds a bit, and so that they wouldn’t be so harsh towards other moms who look like me. Sometimes it worked and sometimes it didn’t… but if it wasn’t for the asshole “punks” and their bullshit behavior, I wouldn’t have been called a “white trash junkie mom” in front of my son by other moms at the park.

      • hayleyg8 October 11, 2009 at 8:58 pm #

        yea i agree with acting “extra polite” especially when i’m on the subway and the orthodox jewish people are giving me looks like i just shot up and kicked a kitten! and its funny the reactions you get when you are being polite from the old lady who you were just nice too.

  3. hayley October 10, 2009 at 8:50 pm #

    I think Calvin requests cymbals

    oh and he signs all his homework papers as Calvin, Boy of Destiny, so, just be prepared

  4. lemissa October 10, 2009 at 10:22 pm #

    Sullivan…Boy of Destiny…I LOVE IT!!!! What else could you birth but a Child of Destiny?

    • Kristen Ferrell October 12, 2009 at 5:30 pm #

      I dunno…. he’s getting into this apathetic phase- so his Mighty Destiny might be flipping burgers. If he wastes that brain of his, I’ll kill him.
      😉

  5. LRA October 11, 2009 at 7:47 am #

    Here in Austin, we call those punk kids “drag rats”. They hang out at the “drag” by Univ. of Texas. When they ask me for money, I inform them that, due to my heavy student loan balance, they are actually worth more than I am. Then I ask them for money. Hey, turn about is fair play.

    • Kristen Ferrell October 12, 2009 at 5:35 pm #

      “Drag Rats”…. hahahaha! I love it!! With my debt and our stupid cost of living, they’re worth more than I am, too.

      Wouldn’t it be nice if our only concerns were finding a ride to buy beer and smokes, and making sure our mohawk was straight when we hung out at 7-11? I’ll never understand what they’re so pissed about.

  6. berger October 11, 2009 at 8:39 am #

    so that makes you…”Kristen, the mother of the boy of destiny” all hail!
    i love that kid! i want him to come back and visit me so we can play with all my action figures again! they are lonely.

    • Kristen Ferrell October 12, 2009 at 5:35 pm #

      And Sully misses your action figures. But he misses you more.

  7. Brandi October 11, 2009 at 10:28 am #

    Okay, a few things. My sister were up and talking on our porch at 5am last week… getting ready for work, obviously dressed in my server uniform and she in her housekeeping attire. One of the local unemployed was walking around picking beer bottles off the neighborhood porches. When he walked by we said “good morning” and I guess he took that as invitation to come and see what we had to offer. As soon as he started walking up the sidewalk toward us I said “good morning is all you’re getting here buddy, so just turn around and don’t even come up here” He then asked for spare change. To which Brooke replied “change comes from within” and then he asked to BORROW a cigarette. I was like “why, are you going to give one back? One marlboro costs $0.36!” He then responds “Bet you’d give me one if I was white”. That started a whole other tangent and as he had two twin sisters screamed obscenities at him as he walked away, I bet he wished he didn’t ask.
    P.S. Peyton changed his name to “Ash” for the whole second grade.
    I tell my kids all the time… you guys aren’t “new school”… punk isn’t what happens just because you shop at hot topic and wear a lot of flare. act like you know, kids. ;-P

    • Kristen Ferrell October 12, 2009 at 5:50 pm #

      OH JEEEEEEEZUZ………. I’ve had the “you’d give me money if I was white” bullshit thrown at me before. And if I have change, and someone really is in need- then I’ll toss it their way. But if I don’t have it, them being a dick or insulting my character isn’t going to make it magically appear. It’s bullshit. And it makes me laugh at them.

      But coming up to your porch? That’s space invasion. And I yell at ANYONE who comes on my property uninvited- Jehovah’s Witnesses, people looking to mow my lawn, girl scouts- anyone. But I’m also one of those crazy territorial reclusive types, and I see it as an act of aggression to step onto my dwelling space without being invited first. I’m from Kansas- and from where I come from, uninvited guests will get met with a shotgun.
      😉

  8. christine October 12, 2009 at 11:23 am #

    I think we have more of the ‘mall metal’ kids around here, but when I venture out to other places and see ‘punks’ panhandling, I go nuts…Grow the fuck up, stop with the stupid hair that takes a million hours to spike up, and get a fucking job. Then, go on to educate yourself a little bit about the real world and finally figure out being punk isnt about going a long time without showering and having purposly ripped pants.

    • Kristen Ferrell October 12, 2009 at 5:51 pm #

      Try talking to them about politics.
      It’s really really funny (in a pathetically sad sort of way).

  9. Carrie October 24, 2009 at 12:52 pm #

    Whats wrong with Fugazi? Hot Topic is so corny you can buy tshirts there that are allready DIYed out with patches a nd safey pins, for 45$$$. Now that is punk!!!! Go avril!!

  10. daMamma January 23, 2010 at 2:27 pm #

    No, I did not know that about Woody’s dad. Interesting line of work, I guess. But no thanks, I’m into making things grow not kill them.

    The little punks out begging, useless waste of space if you ask me. How dare they act as though it were some game when there are so many people out there with no choice at all? That have to beg in order to have something to eat?

    “Boy of Destiny” I like it. It has a sophisticated, important sounding ring to it. That kid is too cool. ; )

Leave a Reply

