Openly embracing 2010 because 2009 was the biggest jerk EVER!

1 Jan

HAPPY NEW YEAR, my little kittens!!!!!

Historically, I’ve never really cared about the New Year, because all my years tend to run together and having a “starting over point” didn’t seem applicable to me.

But 2009 was a whole different situation.  2009 was just rude.  It was the equivalent of an abusive ex-boyfriend that wouldn’t leave me alone.  As much as I tried to say to myself “Whatever, 2009- I don’t care about you and I’m not going to let you affect me anymore.  Just leave me be to exist in peace, and let me quietly wait for something better”, the lower it sunk in it’s attacks to prove it’s place in my life.  The more I ignored it, the louder it screamed. Day after stupid fucking day.  But now it’s dead, and I don’t ever have to hear it’s name again.  I’m welcoming 2010 with open arms- and looking forward to it helping me repair the damage that 2009 did.  Day 1 of 2010 is in effect, and things are already looking brighter.  Thank you, dear sweet 2010.

We didn’t even try to get a babysitter last night to go out for new years (because we’ve been parents long enough to know that it’s a futile quest), so we had some family over and just had a fun little new years at home.  And Sully and I made these:

Our little 'non-gingerbread' houses

My little gumdrop snowman!!!

When I try to bake/cook anything with more than 4 steps in the recipe, things go disastrously wrong.  So we opted to use graham crackers for the housing structures instead of having me attempt to make perfectly formed gingerbread walls/roof for the house .  Sooooooo much easier and fool-proof!  They’re sloppy and silly and won’t win any awards- but it was a SUPER fun way to spend an evening.

Then I was met with a horrifying discovery this morning.  Since all of Sully’s regular pajama pants were in the process of being laundered, he threw on a pair of pajama pants he hasn’t worn in a couple months.  And this is now how they fit:

WTF!!!

Someone explain to me how my 11 year old little boy grew THIS much in 2 months??  Is that even possible?  His doctor told us to expect for him to shoot up in height in the next year… but this is crazy.  At 11, he’s only about an inch shorter than me (and I’m 5’4″).  He’s going to be 10 feet tall by the time he’s 16 if this keeps up, and I don’t know if the psychological hold I have on his behavior will hold up when he’s towering over me.  This makes me a little more afraid of his upcoming teen years (and Brad- being the stepdad- is downright terrified).

Off I go to start my New Year taking my 2 oldest cats to the vet.  Leo (the ancient crypt keeper) needs a shot, and Oscar (almost as ancient, but doesn’t look like he’s falling apart like Leo does) has gotten a cold and has been sneezing nonstop for 3 days.  As hilarious as it is to see a cat having sneezing fits, I don’t want my little buddy miserable.  And Sluggo is too in love with Oscar for anything to happen to him.

Proof of Sluggos love for Oscar (they sleep like this everyday)

And to entice my friends and family to cash in on the trips they’ve been planning to come out and visit us, THIS is what winter looks like where we live….

Our orange tree is producing more oranges that we could ever eat.  No snow (unless you want to build a snowman, then it’s a painless drive to the mountains).  No scraping ice, salted roads, or chained tires.  No crazy heating bills, and you don’t even need to bring a sweater.   Sound nice?  I’m  not complaining.  And times like this make understand why the cost of living is so damn high out here.

To all of you, have a super happy new year (and the best cure for a hangover is Pedialyte- I swear to god).

BIG LOVE TO YOU ALL!!!!!

28 Responses to “Openly embracing 2010 because 2009 was the biggest jerk EVER!”

  1. jamie January 1, 2010 at 1:52 pm #

    cat sneezes are super hilarious.

    i always think it is magical to be able to go out in one’s backyard and pick oranges, lemons and avocados off of trees. for free.

    • Kristen Ferrell January 1, 2010 at 1:59 pm #

      Cat sneezes are the greatest thing ever. Especially when they do it 22 times in a row. But I can’t have too much fun at my poor Oscar’s expense, so off to get him better.

      And it IS magical to go into your back yard, and come back inside with armloads of fresh fruit and veggies- all year ’round. But I did kill the avocado tree- so I’ve got to start over with that one. Oops!!

      • daMamma January 1, 2010 at 8:24 pm #

        When my poor mr. boots could not quit sneezing I took him to the vet. Turned out the poor guy had a small bit of grass up his nose!

        Amazing photos, thanks so much for sharing those! And my your new year be filled with Love, Joy, prosperity, and all things good. You could really use some extra special blessings. (hugs)

        • Kristen Ferrell January 2, 2010 at 12:49 am #

          Jesus… if all that’s wrong with Oscar is that he has something lodged up his nose, I’ll be pissed. They wanted almost $100 today to see him on New Years Day, so we’re waiting until tomorrow to take him in because I love Oscar… but if I wouldn’t spend $100 on me when I have a cold, I’m certainly not going to do it for my cat.
          I’ve had to take my cats to the vet for the most ridiculous things over the past couple years, that I really don’t need any more.

          I hope your year is filled with overbearing amazingness and utter blissful joy!!!! (bear hug!)

  2. whitney January 1, 2010 at 2:07 pm #

    Pedialyte? who would have thought!

    2009 was terrible… and this passed month just proved it. ugh… so happy 2010! yay we made it!!! haha.

    i imagine that when Sully reaches 13, he will probably be between 5’7″ and 5’9″!

    and i love Oscar too much too to want anything to happen to him. i miss the little chocolate milk moustache man!

    • Kristen Ferrell January 1, 2010 at 6:45 pm #

      Pedialyte saved me in college, and made it possible for me to make it to my early morning classes in college after drinking too much the night before. All hangovers are is dehydration- and pedialyte is created to powerhouse-rehydrate more than anything else out there. So it’s pretty magical.

      Poor Oscar… he’s just so miserable. I tried buying him some new catnip mice to cheer him up, but he just sniffed it and sneezed. 😦
      For those of you who haven’t met Oscar… everyone who’s met him loves him. He is the most adorable and friendliest cat on the planet with the silliest looking orange hitler moustache. He is adored by all, and I’ve had repeated threats that people will kidnap him. He’s pretty much the best cat ever.

  3. Jeanne January 1, 2010 at 2:36 pm #

    Sluggo and Griffin both have Ophelia’s face, and the same (non-chocolate) milk mustache. That makes me happy. 🙂

  4. kat January 1, 2010 at 5:10 pm #

    hehehe…. Looks like the Grow Fairy stopped in to say Happy New Year to Sully! Oh, a side note from my 6’5 fiance- Sully might begin to get stretch marks on his shoulders and calves from growing so fast. You might want to help him get plenty of water and amino acids to keep his skin all stretchy from the inside 🙂

    • Kristen Ferrell January 1, 2010 at 6:49 pm #

      That’s REALLY good advice!! Because he’s shooting straight up like a monster (thank god he got tons of new clothes for xmas because he’s almost grown out of everything he has right now). My checkbook can’t keep up with his growth spurts.
      Thanks to you and your uber-tall fiance!!!
      xoxo
      😀

  5. hayley January 1, 2010 at 5:28 pm #

    Your cats are precious. My cat does the same exact thing but only to me. I swear I’m her alltime favorite ever. For me, 2009 was a teasing bitch. It gave me good days, it gave me really epic moments, and then it gave me some real shitty days as well. I can’t take it’s mood swings.
    So because of school, and hopefully finding work, 2010 better take its meds and stop being such a teasing bitch.

    Also Sully’s feet are frighteningly big. Do I even wanna know what size shoe he wears?

    • Kristen Ferrell January 1, 2010 at 6:52 pm #

      You really don’t want to know how big his feet are. It’s crazy.

      And I do have TOTALLY precious cats. They’re all total sweethearts and LOOOOOOOVE anyone who comes in the house. Except Daisy Ding Dong Stupid Face. She’s kindof a shitbag- but she’s so little and weird, that it’s adorable when she tries to be an asshole.

      2010 WILL be better. I’m dedicated to it. For reals.
      xoxooxox

  6. chelsea rae January 1, 2010 at 9:32 pm #

    Hooray for giddy optimism!!
    Every day i marvel at how incredible it is that i can walk around in shorts, smelling the jasmine & plumaria that bloom in the dead of winter. That the coldest it gets here is in the mid-fifties.
    Oh dear! Why-ever am i moving back in January, of all times!?

    • Kristen Ferrell January 1, 2010 at 10:52 pm #

      Oh honey…. your body is going to be in SHOCK from the weather!!!!
      I didn’t know you were moving back! Take lots and lots of sweaters.
      xoxoxooxox

  7. chelsea rae January 1, 2010 at 9:36 pm #

    And ps: Cutest little gumdrop snowman ever!!
    xo

  8. Angela Easton January 1, 2010 at 11:55 pm #

    your gingerbread houses are awesome. the little gumdrop snowmen looked like ghosts at first glance and i thought that was pretty awesome. i need to keep some pedialyte stocked up because my hangover this morning was horrible! being that we go out like once a month (if that)because of the hooligans, it’s nice to know there is painless way to recover so i’m not having to debate whether or not i want a cocktail. my oldest son, dominic, is seven and i swear i buy clothes for him and then two months later, i am having to get him a whole new wardrobe. i’m lucky though because with two younger guys, at least his clothes will be used again soon 🙂 happy new year!

    • Kristen Ferrell January 2, 2010 at 12:46 am #

      The trick is to drink some of the pedialyte before you go to bed (if you are in enough of a state to remember- I usually wasn’t) and some when you wake up. Double-whammy it, and you’ll feel WORLDS better. But if you don’t remember to drink it before you go to sleep, it still works if you chug it in the morning… it will just take a little longer to take effect.

      HAPPY NEW YEAR, LADY!!!
      😀

      • Jeanne January 2, 2010 at 12:09 pm #

        I also recommend taking a B-vitamin *before* going out. Works wonders in conjunction with plenty of water, can only imagine it would work better with pedialyte.

        • Kristen Ferrell January 2, 2010 at 9:54 pm #

          Oooh! I’ll have to try that!! Thanks Jeanne!!
          😀
          xoxoxo

  9. christine January 2, 2010 at 5:29 am #

    Your catss are soo cute!! And your gingerbread house and snowmen are great..mmm making me hungry! 2009 was a total asshole, and i’m not sorry to see it leave. In another month I leave NJ so I will see you soon! I cannot wait..its brr cold here.

    • Kristen Ferrell January 2, 2010 at 11:45 am #

      Sully and I had his kids “National Geographic” open and turned to their holiday section of gingerbread houses, trying to replicate the pretty ones they have in there. I don’t think we even came close- but we had a blast, so we don’t care. 😀
      Me and my cats can’t wait to see you!!! Come out here and thaw out!!!
      xooxoxoxox

  10. Stephanie January 2, 2010 at 10:52 am #

    no wonder you bailed on kansas. i’m in nebraska stuck in 3ft of snow from the storm and zero degree weather. jerk. 😀

    • Kristen Ferrell January 2, 2010 at 11:42 am #

      This is the first winter that I’m REALLY happy to be on the west coast. Our house in Kansas was over 100 years old, and no matter how well you try to insulate and weather-proof those old houses, they’re still just drafty and cold and you end up with $400 heating bills. I love the snow- but too much of it + a cold drafty house for months isn’t fun. brrrrrrrrrrrr!!!!!!!!!

      • daMamma January 2, 2010 at 12:03 pm #

        Oh you got that so right! When I lived in Massachusetts, we lived in a house that was already getting old when George Washington marched by it with his army. No matter what we did it was still cold and drafty in the winter. Ugh!

        I’m much further north now, but the house is also much better built. Freaking colder than a witch’s you know what outside, but very nice indoors with a low heating bill. Love that!
        (winters get to minus 40C and colder. add in that windchill and if you talk outside the words just freeze. Have to bring them indoors to thaw! LOL)

        • Kristen Ferrell January 2, 2010 at 9:58 pm #

          haha! I can’t even imagine that kind of cold (and I was raised in Kansas- so I know cold). I’m scrawny and wear sweaters except in the dead of summer- so ANY kind of cold is just PAINFUL. In my Kansas house, I’d be wearing so many layers that I could barely move and have the heat on AND space heaters… and I would STILL be cold. I don’t miss it. At all.

  11. Katie January 2, 2010 at 6:02 pm #

    Completely agree on the Pedialyte!!! Saved my poor drunk ass more than once! haha

    Have a great new year! I figure 2010 has got to be great, cuz 2009 sure hated me!

    • Kristen Ferrell January 2, 2010 at 9:55 pm #

      I think 2009 will go down as the year that hated everyone. It was a mean bully. On to bigger and better things for everyone!!
      😀
      xooxoxoxox

Leave a Reply

