One-man blood fountain at the Grand Prix…

17 Apr

Today Brad, Sully and I went to the Grand Prix in Long Beach.  This is not something that I would have ever bought tickets for, or something that I envisioned myself ever attending- but Brad’s dad gave us free tickets and Cheap Trick was playing after the race so we said “Hell yeah!”.  I was overwhelmed by how LOUD the cars were, but after watching about 10 minutes of them going in circles I became less and less impressed with each lap (it kind of felt like watching tennis- after a bit, ya get the idea and no longer care who wins).  I think you have to be really drunk and with a crowd of equally drunk buddies to thoroughly enjoy an event like this.  Sully had worked himself into a pre-teen angst ridden mood which was quickly killing what little soul I have left, so we decided to watch a couple of songs of Cheap Trick and bail.  Then something amazingly bizarre happened.

We were standing in the crowd watching the band and Brad rams into me from behind, and this big sweaty guy barrels his way past me.  He stops just long enough to turn around and look at me with these creepy glazed eyes, turn his head, and vomit a massive mouthful of blood onto the ground. As he stumbled off and disappeared into the crowd, everyone around me was looking at each other with horrified looks of “What the fuck was that?!”.  The fact that so much blood came shooting out of his mouth wasn’t that disturbing (because I’ve seen oodles of barroom brawls where blood was flying EVERYWHERE)- but what was unnerving was this guy didn’t have a scratch on him.  No abrasions or fat lip, or even any signs of a struggle on him anywhere (he didn’t even have blood on his clothes)… just glazed eyes and blood shooting from his mouth.  It’s like in those prison movies where someone ate ground glass, or in “28 Days Later” when a person just got infected with “Rage”.  My immediate response to anything disturbing is to start laughing hysterically- which I did, and then turned to look at Sully.  He looked at the giant pool of blood on the ground, and then to me laughing, and said with the most disgusted voice I’ve ever heard from a child “What is wrong with you?!?!?”.  Which only made me laugh harder.  I couldn’t help it.

A few minutes after this went down, Brad and I decided that we had taken in enough of what the Grand Prix and Sully’s crappy attitude had to offer and turned to leave.  As we were walking through the crowd, I looked down and saw more pools of blood from that guy.  The more we walked, the more pools I saw.  Sometimes just droplet trails, and sometimes whole murder-scene-splatterings.  It got to be kind of a game with Brad and I (to which Sully told us we were disturbed and tried to ignore us)… how far back did the blood trail go?  How long did this guy wander through this dense crowd saturated with security and police officers without anyone noticing or stopping him to see if he was ok (which, obviously he wasn’t).  We walked for 10 minutes to the front entryway, and that’s where the blood trail stopped.  I was astounded.  This guy wandered for that long spewing MASSIVE amounts of blood without ever getting stopped by a single person.  I can understand not wanting to get too close to the guy (because I certainly didn’t)- but there were HUNDREDS of police officers and security guards everywhere we turned.  It was one of the most heavily guarded events I’ve ever been to- and not a single one noticed this guy.  Or they noticed, and also wanted to keep their distance.  It was bizarre.  But maybe that’s just how it rolls at the Grand Prix.  I don’t think I’ll be going back.

Aside from that little tale, me and my brilliant friend Kara (who owns Hush Hush Bang Bang salon) have started taking on the massive task of making my black hair blonde.  Why?  Because I’ve never had blonde hair, so why not?!  It has proven to be an overwhelming undertaking because my hair has been black for over a decade, and it seems to really like it that way.  But I own my hair, so I will make it submit no matter what.  We’re now at Stage 2 of the bleaching process, and it’s almost there.  But we’ve got to let it rest for a couple of weeks before that final bleaching.  But to cover up the icky orange streaks, we decided on a super fun hot-pink/red.  Here’s what the brilliant Kara has created:

Kara is all kinds of awesome.

Aside from that, I’ve got new shirts up on the webstore (FINALLY), and more in the making.  The new shirts are the “Pockets full of Posies” tees- a tribute to my favorite nursery rhyme “Ring Around the Rosie” which was about The Plague.

AND my totally brilliant jewelry-making-goddess friend, Gabby, and I are going to be collaborating on some absolutely nutso but super fun jewelry.  More will be posted about this soon enough… but just know that it’s going to be FUN FUN FUN!!!!!

Off to watch Soprano’s box sets and paint paint paint!!!

16 Responses to “One-man blood fountain at the Grand Prix…”

  1. Angela April 17, 2010 at 9:45 pm #

    I totally dig those shirts and plan on ordering one! I would be a little grossed out about the vomiting myself. I wonder if this dude was like bleeding internally. Creeepppyyy!
    I would be so dreadfully bored watching cars go around and around. I hate Nascar and anything similar.

    • Kristen Ferrell April 18, 2010 at 3:02 pm #

      I didn’t know what to expect with the Grand Prix. But there were lots of VERY drunk people. And lots of mullets (which always amazes me that it doesn’t matter if you’re in California or Oklahoma- hicks look the same everywhere). And lots of rowdy behavior. I guess that’s what I should have expected, right?

  2. whitney April 17, 2010 at 10:48 pm #

    CHEAP TRICK!!

    that is VERY strange about that guy…. isn’t vomiting blood a sign of tuberculosis?? and doesnt that shit supposedly not around anymore??? fucking freaky. what if it IS Rage!!! check under your bed for mad apes tonight.

    love the hair! makes me want to do mine… it’s at that crappy stage of growing out and i can’t do a damn thing with it except throw it in pigtails or under a beanie, and i haven’t colored it in months so now my natural poop brown is growing out. fun!

    • Kristen Ferrell April 18, 2010 at 3:00 pm #

      I want to grow my hair out super long- I don’t know why I ever cut it in the first place. Ugh!!
      You always look adorable! And I like you in pigtails. 🙂

      I have no idea what was going on with that guy. But the thought of someone wandering around a large crowd of people at a show with some illness that we’re supposed to be rid of doesn’t make me very comfortable. No matter what, it was creepy.

  3. Tawni April 18, 2010 at 6:08 am #

    CHEAP TRICK! YES.

    I once puked bloody stomach lining when I drank vodka on an empty stomach. I remember thinking, looking at the blood-filled toilet in my drunken haze, “I didn’t drink red Kool-Aid today, did I?” Eeeeew.

    I laughed so hard out loud while reading about your inappropriate laughter and Sully’s disgusted response. Sometimes, when something is so bizarre it rolls over into the area of absurd, all you can do is laugh. It tickles the “Are you fucking KIDDING me?” funny-bone. I only hope to elicit the same sentence from my own son someday. (:

    YOUR HAIR. It looks *so* cool. You are making me want to grow my pixie cut out so I can do fun things with dye again too. You look gorgeous with any color, but oh, that bright red on the blonde is so striking.

    I once put Manic Panic electric blue on white-blonde (back when I was in Frogpond and without a day job) and the color glowed. Blonde is such a great base for bright colors. I always wanted to do blondes, greens and blues mixed together all mermaid-y. Or bright blue, bright red and white blonde in three horizontal stripes, like a human Bomb Pop.

    I remember when you had leopard spots dyed in your hair and when you wore bright orange eyeliner. I decided right then and there that you won coolest girl style EVER. (:

    Anyhow, I’m babbling. I love hair fun. You look incredible. As usual. Please keep taking lots of pictures for your hair dye junkie friends. xoxoxoxoxox.

    • Kristen Ferrell April 18, 2010 at 2:55 pm #

      Thank you, lovely lady!!! I forgot all about my orange eyeliner… I don’t know if I could pull that off again. There are most certainly things that you can pull of when you’re 19 that you should never try to pull off when you’re in your 30’s. Ha!! But your pixie cut looks ADORABLE!!!

      Sully doesn’t get my sense of humor sometimes. Well- alot of the time. I laugh at horrible things way too much- and Sully just doesn’t get it. But he’s got a great big heart that hasn’t been jaded yet. Though he never keeps from letting me know when he feels I’m being inappropriate. Should I be worried that my Asperger’s child has more appropriate responses to life situations than I do?

  4. LRA April 18, 2010 at 9:04 am #

    Ew. Somehow, laughter was not the best medicine here. (LOL!!!)

  5. Andrea Jay April 18, 2010 at 6:18 pm #

    Your hair looks very beautiful! i made the change from black to blonde recently, and i liked the red inbetween shades.

    • Kristen Ferrell April 19, 2010 at 3:28 pm #

      The orange-y shade that the bleaching caused looked just horrible with my skin tone, so we had to pop the red into it. But it’s ALMOST there. A couple weeks of resting for my hair, then we’ll hit it again!! 😀

  6. candice April 18, 2010 at 8:54 pm #

    I thought I should admit that after I read this I got scared for you and the world and looked up the incubation period of ebola. If about 20 more days go by and you’re not spewing blood then I think you’re in the clear. HA!

    In other news, welcome to the world of blondie fun! Well, pinkie fun now but blonde soon! If you need help with any remaining yellow brassiness (what I call “butta”) then blue toning conditioner will be your best friend. Aveda Blue Malva is my favorite-it makes my hair almost silver!

    • Kristen Ferrell April 19, 2010 at 3:30 pm #

      Ebola?! Eeeekkk!!! I’ll keep you posted on whether or not our family start vomiting blood everywhere. But hopefully, we successfully avoided it. Gross!!!

      And thank you for the blondie tip!! Blonde is very new to me, so you’ve saved me some trial-and-error!! Big hugs to you!!
      oxoxo

  7. Lemissa April 19, 2010 at 11:54 am #

    that guy…probably a chronic alcoholic with chronic hepatitis C. My uncle had it and the expelling of copious amounts of blood was a regular event.
    that guy in public…wrong, sad and ewww…

    your hair…definitely growing on me.

    lovelovelove

    • Kristen Ferrell April 19, 2010 at 3:34 pm #

      I dunno which is worse- Ebola or having such advanced Hep C that you’re projecting blood everywhere. Though I will say that if I could projectile vomit blood at will, I would have quite a bit of fun with it. Especially at bars or shows where shit-bag guys try to be all gross and “hey lady, what’s you’re name?”. I’d love to vomit blood on those guys. You may say “ewww!”- but picture it in your head, and just try to tell me it didn’t make you giggle a little bit.
      lovelovelove right back.

  8. Lemissa April 19, 2010 at 9:22 pm #

    I did picture it and I did giggle…a lot.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention One-man blood fountain at the Grand Prix… « That’s the thing…… -- Topsy.com - April 18, 2010

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Kristen Ferrell. Kristen Ferrell said: One-man blood fountain at the Grand Prix…: http://wp.me/pbxjx-9Y […]

Leave a Reply

