Clearing things up pertaining to the previous post…

27 Apr

I’ve gotten close to 3 dozen emails since my last blog about tattoos in the workplace.  I guess people linked to my blog stating that I’m a tattoo artist, which led people to my site to contact me.  Granted, I’m sure it’s a little confusing because I have photos of people with my work tattooed on them on there- but I have tried to be very clear that I didn’t do the tattoos- just the artwork that the people took to the parlor and got put on them.  So I’m going to clear this up right here, because I’ve had to repeat myself in almost 3 dozen emails to confused people that I can’t tattoo them- and a few of them have gotten very grumpy with me (which I don’t really understand.)

Soooooo….. for the record……

  • I am not a tattoo artist.
  • If you want me to tattoo you, I can try- but I guarantee you won’t be happy with the results
  • I am actually just an artist who has tattoos
  • Sometimes people get my art tattooed on them
  • I didn’t put the tattoos on the people- someone else did.
  • Let me restate that for complete clarity: Someone found my art, printed it out on their printer, walked into a tattoo shop, showed the printout to the tattoo artist (who isn’t me), the tattoo artist most likely made a stencil, applied the stencil to the person’s body, and tattooed the art onto them.  I had no actual interaction with any of these people.  As much as I appreciate and like these people- none of them are me.
  • I would love to be a tattoo artist, but I’m not.
  • Maybe someday, when I have more time and financial freedom I could apprentice and then become a tattoo artist- but for now, I can’t make that happen because you’re mad at me due to the fact that someone told you I’m a tattoo artist.  I am not currently the person you want me to be.  You’ll have to live with that (which should be ok because we really don’t know each other and you have only even known about me for a couple days, so you shouldn’t have that much emotional investment in me.  If you do- well, that’s kindof creepy and you maybe should go talk to someone).
  • Is Kristen a tattoo artist?  No
  • Would Kristen like to be a tattoo artist? Sure!
  • Does the fact that Kristen would like to be a tattoo artist make her a tattoo artist? No.
  • Does the fact that YOU would like Kristen to be a tattoo artist make her a tattoo artist? No.
  • Does getting mad at Kristen for not being a tattoo artist make her a tattoo artist?  No.
  • Does it make sense to get mad at a stranger because they are not what you want them to be? No.
  • If Kristen became a tattoo artist and then you came into her shop and let her know that you were one of the people who got mad at her for not being a tattoo artist and then you got a tattoo by her, would she make sure that tattoo hurt more than it should?  Yes.

Are we clear?  I really hope so.  And for the people who were really sweet and didn’t get super snotty and yell at me about having photos of tattoos of my work on my art site- thank you!  I do know oodles of amazing tattoo artists that I would be happy to recommend to anyone out there.  But if you did get a tattoo by me, this is what it would look like:

Kids- DO NOT try this at home!!! I don't need emails from angry parents.

Noone wants that, now do they?  I didn’t think so.

xoxoxo to you all (except the angry emailers- they can go piss up a rope).

22 Responses to “Clearing things up pertaining to the previous post…”

  1. chelsea rae April 27, 2010 at 10:49 pm #

    O. Kristen. So much lolz.
    xoxo

    • Kristen Ferrell April 28, 2010 at 4:25 pm #

      Laughing at it all keeps me from constantly screaming with frustration (though I’m still not sure which feels better… laughing or screaming)

  2. Sunny April 28, 2010 at 5:46 am #

    Hey Kristen, I need you to pierce my septum for me, I’ll be over tomorrow.

    • Kristen Ferrell April 28, 2010 at 4:26 pm #

      I have a hammer, a nail, and some whiskey. It’s the best I can do…. does that work?
      😉

  3. Erica April 28, 2010 at 8:29 am #

    okay okay, wait a minute… your and artist, who has tattoos, and lots of people have tattoos of your work, but you didn’t put it on them?! WTF THAT’S IMPOSSIBLE, YOUR A LYING BITCH 😛

    I actually wouldn’t mind a tattoo like the one you did on yourself, as long as you did it and I could say “I have a Kristen Ferrell tattoo, no not of her work, but she did draw a scribbley line on me” and I am visiting LA in a week….. 🙂

    I’m rather surprised that you had to clarify for people. Now tattoo me.

    • Kristen Ferrell April 28, 2010 at 4:31 pm #

      Hahaha!!! I guess that if people didn’t mind getting truly terrible tattoos, then I’m down. But it took me a ridiculously long time just to tattoo that horrible little “Value Ape” face on my leg- and it still came out terrible. So some signed waivers would definitely be in order. 😀

  4. hayley g April 28, 2010 at 8:33 am #

    Is Kristen Ferrell hilarious? Yes!

  5. savannahshutup April 28, 2010 at 12:37 pm #

    So, Im flying out tomorrow because I’m expecting you to spend your entire day tattooing me. . . wait, you don’t tattoo? Oh, well I’m going to attack you.

    Ugh, People really got mad at you? Eh, it was a full moon.

    Maybe everyone was just have their monthly visit. Just tell them to go suck an infected egg. 🙂

    • Kristen Ferrell April 28, 2010 at 4:35 pm #

      I tried to be as polite as I could- and most people were nice about it. Some people were bitchy. And a few got MAD. It was pretty odd. I’m not sure what I was supposed to do for them.

      We live in a spoiled culture of not-smart people who don’t take rejection well. And it gives my argument that “cats are more fun to hang out with then people” much more weight. ha!

  6. KT April 28, 2010 at 12:56 pm #

    Soo…let me get this straight…you do in fact do tattoos, and tattoo people right?? ^__^ (I know…not funny)
    I loved your post about tattoos in the work place! Right on pretty lady!!!

    • Kristen Ferrell April 28, 2010 at 4:36 pm #

      Yes. Come over right now. I’ll give you the most amazing scribble drawing on your throat. haha!!
      xoxo

  7. Metro Catpiss April 28, 2010 at 5:52 pm #

    Such a thoroughly in-depth “straight-setting”. My pants would be on fire if i said i did not laugh a multitude of times whilst reading this post.

    • Kristen Ferrell April 28, 2010 at 10:13 pm #

      I’m forever surprised by the things in life that I see as “common sense”- but that are in fact not common at all. So I’m trying to learn how to be as clear in my explanations as possible, and leave absolutely no room for misinterpretation with anything anymore. It does get tiring have to explain EVERYTHING to the lengths that I did above… but sadly, it’s becoming increasingly necessary.
      🙂

  8. LRA April 28, 2010 at 7:17 pm #

    Please tell me that the pic of your personal tatoo came *before* this was raised?!?!

    🙂

    • Kristen Ferrell April 28, 2010 at 10:18 pm #

      Hahaha!!! It would have been funny if the above photo WAS in fact my response to all those emails!!! But I wasn’t witty enough to think of that. I could always go ala-prison-style with a Bic pen and a needle… but I just don’t have time for that.

      But my ‘home tattoo’ experience that was captured above was from about 2 years ago. One of my best friends and I had ourselves a little tattoo party. (and I will state again- KIDS! DO NOT DO WHAT I DID AND TATTOO YOURSELF AT HOME!!! Our needles and machine were sterile, everything was properly protected and wrapped. That kind of stuff is SUPER important!!! Plus, I have so many tattoos that I don’t care anymore about getting crappy ones. So do as I say, not as I do. Yes- I’m a hypocritical adult. Get used to it because all adults are)

      😀

  9. amyjeen-dollypop April 28, 2010 at 10:20 pm #

    hold the phone ! i have no idea where that saying came from, but seriously , hold the gawdamnhuthafuckinphones! i wont even get into workplace ?tattoos visible or not ect.
    i agree with ms. amazing finger lady, and i like marshmallows.

  10. Tawni April 29, 2010 at 6:54 am #

    I need surgery on both of my feet. Can you help a sister out? (:

    • Kristen Ferrell April 29, 2010 at 12:51 pm #

      HAHAHAHAHAHA!!!!
      Let’s just say that I’m a doctor because you want me to be a doctor, and then I can be a doctor!!

      After that, let’s just say I’m a billionaire because I want me to be a billionaire, and then I can be a billionaire!

      That’s how it works, right?

  11. Jen April 30, 2010 at 2:44 pm #

    THANK YOU for this post! I am sorry that people are complete idiots, but reading your post made me laugh harder than I have in a very very long time. And I’ve been super down lately, so Thank you Kristen for your reaction post!! Ahh, everytime I come to read your blog I love you more and more. 🙂 You’re the best. Period.

    Thank you x1000 for being YOU!!! 😀

    • Kristen Ferrell April 30, 2010 at 4:47 pm #

      I LOVE that I made you laugh!!!!! We can’t make people any smarter, so the only thing we can do is laugh at them.
      You’re awesome lady!
      😀
      xoxoxoxoox

Leave a Reply

