Patience is a virtue…..

7 Sep

I’m standing in line at Target today with Sully.  There are 2 moms behind me with their kids, loudly belting their private political conversation for everyone to hear.

  • Mom 1- “Did you hear Obama’s speech today on the news?”
  • Mom 2- “Yeah- PFFFT!!” (“pfft” is supposed to symbolize a loud ‘disgusted’ sound that came from her- but it was more disgusting sounding than disgusted-sounding)
  • Mom 1- “He sounds great and all with his ‘talking’, but we’re all still screwed.”
  • Mom 2- “Yeah- I know I’M not doing any better than I was 2 years ago.  What a bullshitter.”

At this point Sully elbowed me really hard in the ribs.  I looked down at his annoyed little face and rolled my eyes.  And he asked me, and the same obnoxious volume as the ladies behind us:

  • Sully- “Hey mom, how long has Obama been in office?”
  • Me- “Maybe a little over a year and a half.”
  • Sully- “Could anyone on the planet fix all our country’s problems in that short of time?”
  • Me- “No one, honey.  If there was a god, even he couldn’t do it.”
  • Sully- “People need to be more patient.”
  • Me- “You’re right.  It’s too bad adults aren’t as smart as you are.”

The woman ringing up our items was red-faced from holding back laughter.  As I took my receipt from her, she said “I want you two to have the most wonderful day!”.  At that point, Sully turned around and smiled the most hysterically huge and insane smile and the 2 fuming moms behind us as we happily hopped away.

We’re all screwed right now in one way or another by the state of our country right now.  Every single one of us.  No matter WHO won the presidency a year and a half ago, we’d all still be screwed right now.  It took us decades to get to this point- it’s going to take more than a couple years to get back to a healthy place.  Realistically- it will probably be another 6 to 8 years before any of us are even close to comfortable again.   We all need to accept this.  Health care, immigration, foreign oil dependency, our cancer ridden economy, the dead housing market, insane unemployment rates, the war, etc., are not going to go away overnight.  Each one of those topics is massive- and trying to tackle them all at once is unthinkable.  I don’t envy Obama.  And I will be patient.

We all also need to come to terms with the fact that the more we play into the media dividing us as a nation, our voice is lost.  Republicans vs Democrats.  Christians vs Scientists.  Tea Party Fundamentals vs Liberal Anarchists.  Right now, we’re all in the same boat.  All of us.  We’re all fucked.  And we’re all getting too caught up in nitpicking and trying to prove the other side wrong to be able to have one national voice.  Which means “the people” aren’t saying anything important… so the government isn’t going to listen, and they’re going to do their own self-serving thing.  And we’re too focused on hating the “other guy” to pay attention the fact that the government is doing their own self-serving thing- and then we get pissed when they “pulled on over on us”.  Pretty ridiculous if you asked me.

I’m just as guilty as the next guy when it comes to making fun of people that I see as ignorant.  But because we’re all in the tar pit together, I’m trying to look at things a little more universally.  So how about this… stop paying so much attention to how stupid you think your political nemesis is, and start working on what you can do to help.  Even if that just means reminding someone to have a little more patience with the state of the world right now.  Because if my 12 year old son was able to see how insane the expectations of those moms at the grocery store were- then we all need to get a little bit more realistic with life.  And for fucks sake, stop paying so much attention to people like Snookie, Lindsay Lohan, and whether or not it’s a big deal that Jennifer Aniston said the word “retarded” in a derogatory way during a morning talk show interview.  The self-serving political figures are SO happy that this is all the average American cares about, because we’re properly distracted by nonsense- which means they can do whatever they want.  You can’t really get mad about someone robbing your house if you leave all the doors and windows open, right?

The end.

13 Responses to “Patience is a virtue…..”

  1. Gabby September 7, 2010 at 5:17 pm #

    I say Sully for President. I’d vote it!

    • Kristen Ferrell September 7, 2010 at 5:59 pm #

      Do you remember the old Tom Hanks movie “Big”? Hank’s apartment is what the White House would look like if Sully was in charge. And he would hire actual monkeys for his staff (as opposed to the human-monkeys that are in there now).
      That child is best with a limited amount of power.
      😀
      xoxoxo

      • Gabby September 7, 2010 at 6:04 pm #

        I Love that movie! Truth is Sully could totally pull it off. At least our government would finally have a sense of humor and lighten up a little bit. We might all get a long a bit more, if everyone had a sense of humor! Laughter is the best medicine and even more so through the eyes of an imaginative child!

  2. Tawni September 7, 2010 at 5:17 pm #

    I love you and I love your son. Reading the transcript of the verbal poking you two gave the ridiculous ladies in Target made me laugh the biggest, loudest belly laugh I’ve laughed all day, maybe even all week. Thank you for that. You’re raisin’ him right, momma. Way to go, Sully! 🙂 xoxoxoxoxxo.

    • Kristen Ferrell September 7, 2010 at 5:55 pm #

      He is pretty hilarious. And I am totally lucky.
      And I love that we were able to make you belly-laugh!
      Yay!!!
      xoxoxoxoxoxoxoxo

  3. Angela September 7, 2010 at 5:34 pm #

    I live in conservative North Idaho, where everything is Obama’s fault. I mean EVERYTHING too. My dad buys into everything he sees / hears in the media, which makes thing worse because all I ever hear about is how Obama lied about this or that. I just want to scream – do you think we’d be any better if McCain won? I used to be really into politics, but I’ve become quite apathetic. I’m tired of the pointing fingers and blame. I’m tired of it all being about liberals or conservatives. You’re right – we are all in the same boat. I just want the economy to get better so I can stop worrying about my husband losing his job and so our house can sell and we can finally move into something that wasn’t designed for a bachelor without tiny children.

    • Kristen Ferrell September 7, 2010 at 5:52 pm #

      I hear that all the time to. And honestly- if McCain had won, he would have died right now and Palin would be in charge- and I would vote for my cat over Palin. Have you seen how much Obama has aged just in the past year? McCain wouldn’t have survived that. But that’s all beside the point…
      There really isn’t any difference between “Republican” and “Democrat” anymore… so people need to stop clinging to that. When poor farmers are voting Republican even though “Republicans” are against everything the poor farmer is about except the God-vote, then we need to throw those labels out the window. I’ve found that I have a few views that would fall on the ‘republican’ side even though in most situations I’d be labeled a “liberal”. Labels need to go.

      We no longer have the luxury to fight about petty little issues. It’s like being annoyed that your favorite coffee mug got cracked after a tornado just ripped apart your house. It’s insane. And we need to all get over it and unite over the big issues so that we can go back to having the luxury of being annoyed by the small ones.
      And I sincerely believe that Obama didn’t lie about anything… it just takes a long time to fix problems that have been around since the Kennedy-era (ie: dependence on foreign oil, health care, social security, etc).

  4. amyjeen September 7, 2010 at 6:30 pm #

    agreed on all pints and sully should be president someday ! “pffffflt” is also the sound of air escaping that womans head.

  5. amyjeen September 7, 2010 at 6:32 pm #

    points, even. sheesh. this quitting drinking has beverage measurements on my brain. pfffflt…oh crap..*sticks finger in ear to stop leak*

  6. Hayley September 7, 2010 at 7:28 pm #

    Wow long time no comment

    First of all Sully is the best kid ever, and if I have a kid, I’m gonna make sure he or she comes out as awesome as him

    Second that quote from that lady “He sounds great and all with his ‘talking” is a total gem. A lot of conservatives/republicans/whatever I’ve found can’t really express their criticisms about liberals or Obama very well, so all that can come out of their mouth are things like “Um yeah, he was born in Kenya. DIDN’T YOU KNOW THAT? If you watched Fox news instead of that LIBERAL media, you would know that. You want free healthcare. What are you, a COMMIE?” An exaggeration I know, but that’s the kind of attitude I get from them all the time.

    This kinda reminded me of a post on one of my favorite message board stomping ground. The topic was Fox News/Obama. I casually mentioned that most liberals are more accepting of dissenting opinions that most conservatives out there. In comes this little 15 year old. I shit you not, this was her response

    “Um you should really do your research because uh Fox News is totally legit, and uh you guys are just jealous that your news isn’t as popular. I mean Fox is the most popular news channel out there. So um yeah, you should really do some research on that.

    Same girl, different topic

    “Uh you guys just voted for Obama because you wanted a black president. Now look at our country. Oh you got your information from your girlfriend’s project. Soooo manly (referring to another poster)”

    Please excuse this giant rant. I just had to point out the ridiculousness of some conservatives out there. Their party can do no wrong, and every problem in the world is either Obama’s or a liberals fault

    end of rant

    • Kristen Ferrell September 7, 2010 at 8:29 pm #

      Anyone who subscribes to “Fox” should watch the movie “Out-Foxed” just so they can understand why the “liberals” feel the way they do about it. Because if you truly want to follow something, you need to understand where BOTH sides are coming from. If someone can watch that documentary and still back Fox 100%- then let them have it, no questions asked. And following something without question just because it’s the most popular is actually pretty frightening.

      But it’s petty non-factual clingings like what you cited above that keep us all divided. No, Obama isn’t a Muslim, and he WAS born in this country. Does anyone really think that those facts wouldn’t have been totally proven during the election if they were true? Let’s all get over it and FOCUS PLEASE!!! If we all stay stuck in this bullshit, we’ll never move forward.

      For the record- having the government control public services to the national community has nothing to do with Communism. PLUS we already government controlled public services… our police force, our hospitals, and our public schools to name a few. Let’s all get over that one as well.

  7. Gretchen September 20, 2010 at 10:41 am #

    I have one thing to say. (Wait, I lied, two.)

    “Meet the new boss! Same as the old boss!”

    and… I’m a patriot w/out a party.

    Lied again. Three things.
    Your boy’s pretty darn intelligent. Good for you both for poking those ribs. 🙂

Leave a Reply

