It’s all about the boobies….

4 Nov

I am not a “sexy lady”.  I do not wear revealing clothing, lots of makeup, and only wear high heels when an occasion demands it.  I don’t wash my hair very often, and I only shave my legs and armpits when I’ve got some major social event that demands I wear a sleeveless outfit, and the others in attendance at this event would be made uncomfortable by my boy-looking armpits.  You will never see a photo of me in a swimsuit online, or some sexy posing, or anything sexual of any sort whatsoever because I’m just not that kind of lady (there is NOTHING wrong with being that kind of lady… it’s just not me.  At all.).  I’m a modest jeans and t-shirt kind of girl who usually doesn’t smell that great and my eyeliner is always smeared all over my face.

I state this because I got to be involved in a project while I was at Art.Fair 21 in Germany that was all about exposed bodies- and if I could do it… so can you.  This organization is bringing awareness to breast cancer in a really bold and unique way, and I think it’s a really fun way to get attention.  I’m a very “covered body” person- but I was too thrilled that this project exists that I had no problem letting go of that (but because I am a “covered body” person, any icky comments left on here will be deleted.  No one likes icky).

Hopefully you’ve all seen the “i love boobies” breast cancer awareness bracelets.  They are these little fellas:

This is a campaign started by “The Keep A Breast Foundation“.  This group is amazing, and is doing some really creative things to raise money and awareness about breast cancer.  They were at the art fair I was at last week in Cologne, Germany, and I got to be a part of an art project they’ve taken on that I think is just great.  They take plaster molds of breasts, and then get artists to create paintings on these molds, then they are auctioned off.  This is such a fantastic idea, and now that I’m back in the states I am really into bringing more awareness to this fantastic project.

So here are some photos from the show, and the process of making these artworks:

First the cast is taken

Cast is allowed to dry...

Paint it up, yo!

Done! This is Christian Rothenhagen, a fellow artist who collaborated with me on my boobies because I only had about an hour to paint. He is the BEST!!

Boobies on display!

There.  Now the girl who won’t wear a swimsuit in public because of Mid-West modesty has shown the world my ta-ta’s.  And if I can… so can you.  And if you don’t want to show your ta-ta’s, talk to your friends!  They might want to (you can also donate your boobies for a cast anonymously).  And if you’re an artist, or have arty buddies, donate your time and talents and paint some boobies!  The process is SO simple (as you can see in the photos- the cast took no time at all!), and the cause is so very important.

Here are some links so you can investigate further:

Get involved.  Help good causes in fun ways.  And love your boobies.

*I would like to apologize in advance to my family members who have now seen my boobs.  I know you didn’t want this any more than I would want to see plaster casts of you naked.  Please don’t feel like you now have to take plaster casts of your body parts and show them to me to make us “even”.  That is really unnecessary.  Seriously.  Thanks!

28 Responses to “It’s all about the boobies….”

  1. Kat November 5, 2010 at 1:04 am #

    Oh, super cool! I wonder if they want help doing the casts, too? Plaster casting is easy and fun on both sides.

    • Kristen Ferrell November 5, 2010 at 3:20 pm #

      I’ve been emailing back and forth with the ladies who run Keep A Breast, and I’ll ask them how many locations they have and what people who don’t live near their headquarters can do to participate. Because I know so many people all over the country who are going to want in on this fantastic fun time!
      I’ll let you know what I find out!!
      Thanks, lovely!!!
      xoox

  2. Sunny November 5, 2010 at 6:16 am #

    I’m a little troubled by the ‘save the boobies!’ thing. Sometimes I think it’s awesome because it injects a little silliness into an issue that can be really hard to talk about. Other times I think it runs the risk of trivializing cancer and shifting the focus to the body part that is more notorious for catching the male gaze.
    That said, any cause that brings attention fo brest cancer is a good one… and maybe this one is actually that much better because it makes me think about such things.
    Shit I need coffee.
    Great work lending your time / creativity / platform to such a good cause!

    • Kristen Ferrell November 5, 2010 at 3:39 pm #

      I totally get what you’re saying! But in our society, I don’t think there’s any way to take the “sexy” away from boobs. We live in a very boob-driven culture. So much so that women who need a mastectomy will refuse and try alternative cancer treatments because they don’t want their breasts removed (and many women have died because of this). Breasts are important to women. They’re the first things about our bodies that change and make us aesthetically connected to our gender. They are the first signs to a little girl that she is going to be a woman- and that is psychologically huge.
      But I think the playfulness in this is really important. Everyone has seen the ‘tragedy’ commercials so many times, we block it out. And when you see tragedy information on women’s issues- men pay no attention AT ALL. But the fun and artistic way that this organization goes about it’s message not only makes it embraceable- but it has gotten men to pay attention to the cause…and not only pay attention- but participate! Plus, I think it’s so empowering to see women walking around with “i love boobies” slogans. To me, it’s like we’ve reclaimed our boobs back from being just toys for men, and embraced them as ours again.
      Does that make sense?
      I need coffee too.
      😀
      xooxoxxo

      • Sunny November 5, 2010 at 7:17 pm #

        I think that’s a great way if looking at it. I’m still not sure it translates to men actually *caring* about breast cancer, but maybe for men who do care, it gives them an ‘in,’ a way to get involved without seeming like they’re being patronizing…

        • Kristen Ferrell November 5, 2010 at 7:45 pm #

          Totally! And for the dudes who just want to buy art on boobies… well, money is money! And it’s all going to the same great place, right? Haha!
          ;D

  3. Candice November 5, 2010 at 10:44 am #

    Those bracelets actually got banned in schools around here, which I thought was really ridiculous. Instead of banning them the teachers should have used the opportunity to educate their students about breast cancer and the movement to find a cure. Another of my favorite fundraising tools was boob soap (looks like the website is down but here’s the facebook page http://www.facebook.com/pages/BoobSoap/114308935261513 ). I was gifted two boobs for my last birthday 🙂

    And thanks for raising awareness through this particular venture. I hope your boobies sell for lots of dough!

    • Kristen Ferrell November 5, 2010 at 3:58 pm #

      Why in the world would they ban them?!?!?!? That’s insane! You’re 100% right… they really could have used this as a great tool to talk to students about breast cancer (because boys can get it too… and since they’re never taught to do self-breast exams, they usually don’t catch it until it’s advanced). That makes me very very sad.

      But the boobie soap is awesome!! I need to get me some of those!! Yay!!!!

  4. amyjeen November 5, 2010 at 11:13 am #

    first things first ! there are all different kinds of sexy. the stereo typical marilyn monroe is just one kind, you are another kind.
    and to do something that would normally make you uncomfortable for a good cause, is a whole ‘nother kind of sexy !
    you are fabulous!

    • Kristen Ferrell November 5, 2010 at 4:04 pm #

      Thank you, wonderful lady!! It’s funny, because in normal daily-life situations, I prefer to keep my body covered (I’m always the only one at the beach wearing jeans and a jacket). I think I own 1 dress that shows cleavage, and it’s lived in my closet for 2 years and has never been worn. But when Christian (the wonderful gentleman in the photo above) approached me about participating in this project, I didn’t think twice. And all the other casts and artwork were so so beautiful!!

      And YOU’RE the one who is fabulous!!! 😀

  5. Christian November 5, 2010 at 1:26 pm #

    Kristen,
    thank you so much for your support.
    And you are right – it’s fun, it’s for a great cause and it brings people closer together. What else could you ask for…;)

    ART
    EDUCATION
    AWARENESS
    ACTION

    Talk super soon,
    Christian

    • Kristen Ferrell November 5, 2010 at 4:09 pm #

      Thank YOU so much for introducing me to this organization and letting me play a little part in it! I can’t tell you how excited I am to be able to have my artwork (and my ta-ta’s) be involved in something that I think is so vitally important. It makes me more happy than I can tell you! You are fantastic!!!!!
      xoxoxoox

  6. LRA November 6, 2010 at 3:39 pm #

    Very cool! Your boobies are *awkward* er, lovely *awkward*.

    LOL!

    • Kristen Ferrell November 6, 2010 at 7:47 pm #

      Hahahaha!!! I don’t know how to not make that awkward! But thank you!! 😀

  7. Kevin November 7, 2010 at 11:43 am #

    Wow, that’s really cool!

    • Kristen Ferrell November 8, 2010 at 7:57 pm #

      Seriously, right!! I love it when people can mix causes and fun!! 😀

  8. Nicole Matheny November 13, 2010 at 8:49 pm #

    Kristen. You ARE a sexy lady! All ladies who care about ladies are sexy. In every way. I love your blog due to your caring sexiness. This is a fabulous thing you did!! You rock!

    • Kristen Ferrell November 14, 2010 at 10:08 am #

      You’re right- ladies caring about ladies IS sexy!! That means we’re hot as hell! We win!!!! And you double-rock!!
      xooxox

  9. Rachel November 17, 2010 at 11:56 pm #

    You’re so lovely, KF! If I can lend my bust let me know! I’ll be in Huntington for another month, so if there’s somewhere around here to get it done, I’m totally in!

    • Kristen Ferrell November 30, 2010 at 9:26 pm #

      I will! I promise!! Why are you leaving? We haven’t even had a chance to hang out!! 😦

      • Rachel December 15, 2010 at 9:34 am #

        I knoooow 😦
        Stupid money and lack of employment has allowed me to get to follow my desires to become a nurse…but only if I do it in my hometown where I can live with my mom and attend school for cheapcheapcheap. Gonna miss this place, this beach, this man like crazy.

  10. LRA November 24, 2010 at 10:14 pm #

    Darling Kristen– I just wanted to wish you a very, very happy Turkey (or Non-Turkey)Day!!!

    Mwa!!!!

    (ps I started a silly little blog and if you are at all interested, then click my initials above, but if not that is entirely ok too!!!!!)

    • Kristen Ferrell November 30, 2010 at 9:27 pm #

      Mwa back at ya!! And I love your blog!! I got totally wrapped up reading it last night! You write beautifully!!!
      xooxox

      • LRA December 4, 2010 at 8:18 am #

        Thanks! I just wrote an entry about dark humor and I’d like to put a link to your blog at the bottom if that is ok… I find your artwork darkly humorous. 😀

  11. G.W. December 21, 2012 at 2:58 pm #

    Just scanning around and found this blog. Pretty good. And y’know; I love boobies. But, I did research, contributing significantly to two publications on cell differentiation and protection against aggressive breast cancer. But, basic research didn’t pay the bills and I got another job that did. What a shame – I liked doing that for women.

  12. Tessa September 30, 2013 at 5:43 am #

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts abgout tankless water
    heaters. Regards

Leave a Reply

