My thoughts on Easter…

23 Apr

Easter has always been one of those holidays that never really emotionally swayed me one way or the other.  I hate Christmas with a blind passion… but Easter never really imposed that much on my time, and then there’s tons of chocolate on bargain discount for a week after it’s over- so I shrug, let it be, and make some obligatory Jesus-Zombie jokes.

But recently, I’ve been re-reading the bible.  I plan on doing a series of little mini illustrated bible stories… the real stories.  About what really happened at Gomorrah, and the petty reasons for the plagues and such.  And I was reading about the last days of Jesus, and I’ve decided that I’m really  not that impressed.

He suffered.  Sure.  For a couple days, things were pretty shitty.  But have you ever watched anyone die of cancer, or AIDS?  I have.  And I’ve watched them suffer… for months and months… unspeakable humiliating suffering.  Have you checked out what’s going on in South Africa- the raping of babies, and the mothers forced to carry the severed heads of their children?  Those people suffer.  Every day there are people all over the world enduring more than that one guy did- but they don’t get a religion based on them.  So his day or so on the cross?… Yeah, I bet that sucked.   But we’ve seen worse.

And Jesus got to come back!  Doesn’t that nullify the severity of the death?  He had a sucky few days (that he knew were coming anyways so he had time to emotionally prepare for it), then said “Wait!  Nevermind!  I’m not dead!”, hung around for a while to show off his not-deadness, and then got to float away into heaven.  But all of my friends who suffered excruciating pain for months and then died miserable deaths don’t get to come back.  They are gone for keeps.  So JC totally won by dying… but he did it to wash away all the sins of man… unless you don’t believe in him…. because it’s blasphemy to not think his parlor trick death was the most awesome… then that sin-scrub-down doesn’t apply to you and you’re going to hell… so there.

It’s not just bullshit… but it’s rude.  I don’t tolerate rude.

To sum it up, JC is an overly dramatic jerk who basically had a pretty crappy weekend for your sins.  And if you don’t think he’s most  awesome for having that crappy weekend,  then he’s gonna throw a tantrum and make you burn forever.  The more I re-read the word of God, the more I like that I’m not on his team.  But I’ll eat those chocolate bunnies all day long.

Happy Easter.

41 Responses to “My thoughts on Easter…”

  1. Khat Castigliata April 23, 2011 at 9:44 pm #

    Mmmmm… Half price chocolate bunny ears..

  2. Luna April 24, 2011 at 12:07 am #

    ohhh honey…I recommend Illusions by Richard Bach and Lamb the Gospel According to Biff, Christ’s childhood Pal by Christopher Moore…then you will see what the bible forgets to mention…everyone can rise again if they believe it…that is the kicker…the faith, the belief, without it suffering is suffering and nothing else. But with that one little idea, that there is no real death, that life is a continuous process, that we are the imagination of ourselves everything is indeed possible…I love you.

    • Kristen Ferrell April 24, 2011 at 10:53 pm #

      I will TOTALLY check those out!! You make good brain, so I follow your lead.
      xooxoxoxooxoxooxxoox

  3. hayley g April 24, 2011 at 10:03 am #

    personally, christianity is a little to ‘cult-ish’ for me.

  4. Amy Mason April 24, 2011 at 11:09 am #

    Here’s the thing: The physical pain of the cross is a small portion of His suffering. The fact that he was pure, perfect and holy and had to bear the *weight* of the *sin of the world* is actually the part that trumps all other suffering. All those things you mentioned were on Him at the time simultaneously. He died for those sins, too. And those who died, *aren’t* gone for keeps. They’ll rise one day and His resurrection was our promise of that. That’s the Gospel.

    I’m glad you’re re-reading the Bible. I woke up this morning and read all four accounts of the empty tomb. There are questions to be asked, but they do have answers.

    • Kristen Ferrell April 24, 2011 at 1:41 pm #

      According to the Bible- none of my dead friends will come back. And when I die, when my son dies, when my husband dies, or 99% of my living friends- we won’t come back either. Because we’ll be in hell… and why will we be in hell? Because we don’t need a god. And we didn’t ask to be saved- but according to the Bible, since it happened we had better kiss god’s ass and tell him he’s the best or we’ll be punished forever because of a gift we never wanted in the first place. It’s like pissing off the mob.
      Even if every word of the bible was true- because of these tactics, I still couldn’t force myself to be on the god team. If you replaced the word “God” with “Husband”, being in a relationship with him would fall under the clinical definition of abusive. And the more I read the Bible- the more that is proven to me.

    • Diana April 24, 2011 at 1:45 pm #

      wasn’t Jesus that asshole who made his disciples leave their families in order to follow him? They had to choose Jesus over staying with their wives, and taking care of their children so they could float from town to town being homeless bums and “fisher’s of men”? So Jesus is on the side of dead-beat-dads?
      how the FUCK is that pure, perfect, and holy?? The dude got what he deserved. Hang him twice.

  5. david Alvey April 24, 2011 at 4:32 pm #

    Jesus the son of God or God ever made anyone do anything. He gave us free will, the ability to chose,right or wrong, good or bad. That is part of being made in the image of God. We have a choice where we spend eternity, heaven or hell. God does not send us there, we do. I didn’t decide to follow Jesus blindly, but after looking at all the options,and studing the truthfulness of the bible it is the only one that makes sense. When we get over thinking life is all about us, and realize its about being part of the solution, by loving people in thought, words, and actions then we are on the road to true fulfillment. This is what God wants from us, to act justly, to love mercy, and to walk humbly with God.
    God bless you and may you find the road to eternal joy.

    • Kristen Ferrell April 24, 2011 at 4:50 pm #

      Actually, I don’t believe anyone “sends us there” because I don’t believe in hell or God. I was just stating that God blackmails people into loving him in order to stay out of hell even though Jesus’s death was supposed to “wash away the sins of man”.

      BUT if there was a hell, God in fact would be the one who sends us there. Because if we live a life that is filled with love, justice, mercy, humility, honesty and compassion but don’t be a Jesus Cheerleader- we still go to hell. Which I think is sick beyond belief. But is also fully expected from the wrathful, selfish, temper-tantruming god in the Bible. And if there was a god- the one in the Bible would be the LAST one I would dedicate anything to.

      • Edward April 24, 2011 at 7:17 pm #

        I think the personality of God is such an interesting topic. Does nobody find it strange that a supposedly omnipotent being has such trivial concerns and such large mood swings over things that he, ultimately, has complete, inerrant control over? Epicurus has a nice quote that summarizes the point:

        “A blessed and indestructible being has no trouble himself and brings no trouble upon any other being; so he is free from anger and partiality, for all such things imply weakness.”

    • laura kelly April 24, 2011 at 7:54 pm #

      “Jesus the son of God or God ever made anyone do anything. He gave us free will, the ability to chose,right or wrong, good or bad.”

      That’s like saying if I hold a gun to your head and tell you to worship me I’m giving you a “choice” in the matter. Yeah, technically you have a “choice” in the sense that there are two options, but I’m coercing you to choose my way or face consequences no one would choose to face.

      In the case of choosing God’s way or the highway it’s particularly clear humans have no choice in the matter because there is no consequence worse than hell, according to the bible. I call that narcissistic, tyrannical coercion, not the acts of a benevolent God.

      • Kristen Ferrell April 24, 2011 at 8:42 pm #

        My belief is that if there is a god, he is 100% pure evil, because it is impossible for him to be pure good.
        It’s as simple as math:
        *Something that is ALL good CAN NOT create anything evil or any kind of suffering. It’s like having something that is all white create black. It’s impossible.
        *Since there is “evil” and suffering, then god created it, which means that god cannot be all good. If god isn’t all good- that means that he’s no different than a human- good days, bad days, making mistakes, moody tantrums (ie: the entire old testament), and fully mundane. And if that’s the case, then he isn’t worth the worship.
        *The other alternative is that god is 100% evil. Any good that is created was only created to be taken away to produce suffering. We are born and learn life lessons through hardship and pain, then around the age of maturity where we can actually reason and live those lessons in a healthy way we start to deteriorate and fall apart… aware of our mortality, and our fading youth and health- but creating children that are a daily reminder of our death. If there ever was a god that governed our little planet, THIS is the one that I think is most likely.
        But for some reason, Evil God isn’t a popular idea… even though it’s the most logical.

  6. juju galaxie April 24, 2011 at 6:32 pm #

    First…I have missed your wonderful rantings!!!
    Second..if one more jerk says “HOWS your EASTER” like its some kind of experience like going to the dead show. Acting like I am supposed to be jumping around doing carwheels im going to kick some ass. Third….Jesus and buddha and krisna and horus(among otheres)..all born on december 25th??? All died and resurrected??? Just seems like the rehashing of the same old thing to me….and first…of firsts…i love the discount chocolate. ❤

    • Kristen Ferrell April 24, 2011 at 10:52 pm #

      It’s all the same mythology just given character names for the different geography and eras. It makes me giggle.

      But I’ll be giggling more tomorrow at Target with my piles of 60% off easter candy!!! Woot!

  7. Edward April 24, 2011 at 7:13 pm #

    Hey Kristen. I wrote a similar thing this morning, after having a few discussions about the same topic. Often, Christians seem to get lost in the rhetoric about the “sins of the world” and “Jesus loves you”, and forget about the big picture.

    Here’s the little thing I wrote, in case anyone is interested:

    ——————–

    On a day about two thousand years ago, an alleged deity “sacrificed” itself in order to help us repay a debt. This debt, incurred via a bizarre, cryptic contract (“do not eat this fruit”) was created by the omnipotent, omniscient deity knowing (by definition) that our “ancestors” would violate it.

    The actions of the two first humans, created by the same being that made the contract and were too stupid and too ignorant to understand the apocalyptic consequences of eating a single fruit, damned billions of humans to burn in hell for eternity – a natural punishment for a first-time fruit-eating-crime.

    After thousands of years of unimaginable human suffering, this deity reformed itself as a human – yet maintained all of its infinite powers. In order to repay “our” debt, the deity “sacrificed” itself, yet came back from the dead after a few days (to build suspense?). Even though “defeating death” is a trivial display of power for an all-powerful being, and renders the “sacrifice” nothing but a show, billions of humans thank this deity for fulfilling the unfair debt it caused us to owe without our consent.

    Happy Easter.

    ——————–

    As mine was written for Facebook, it’s much shorter and leaves out a lot of interesting points (Satan’s role, the nature of Jesus’s death, etc.) – but yeah. Thanks for writing this.

    • Kristen Ferrell April 24, 2011 at 8:32 pm #

      Oh Edward…. This is just lovely!
      So very perfectly stated.
      You get a solid 4 fist pumps in the air- Arsenio Hall style.
      🙂

  8. laura kelly April 24, 2011 at 7:29 pm #

    Kristen, I couldn’t agree more with your post. The more I think about the resurrection the less it makes sense to me. The whole story gets even more bizarre when you consider that the whole resurrection situation was self-imposed — God, this supposedly omniscient and all-powerful being, created Adam and Eve knowing they were flawed and enters them in some sort of binding sin contract when they have no idea what sin even is. Then they sin out of ignorance (which an omniscient being would of course have known would happen all along when he created them) and then all of a sudden all of humanity is forever indebted for something two people they have no meaningful connection with did years ago, in a contract they never agreed to. Fast forward to Jesus — he supposedly dies for our sins, to redeem us. Who is he redeeming us to?? Why can’t God just forgive us instead of going through this elaborate debacle of sending his son down (who is really just another form of God — weird), having Jesus “die”, but then immediately resurrecting him, and then calling it a sacrifice. To me, the kicker of this whole story is that often when I have asked Christians why a benevolent god would allow so many people to suffer on earth (re: AIDS, raping of babies, etc), they often say that the earthly suffering will have felt like the blink of an eye once they earn eternal life. So if that’s true, why is the crucifixion a big deal?

    I think that’s really cool you’re going to do some Bible illustrations. If you haven’t checked it out already, Crumb did an illustrated version of Genesis recently. It’s the stories in their entirety, so if you want to spice up your re-reading of the bible I highly recommend it http://www.amazon.com/Book-Genesis-Illustrated-R-Crumb/dp/0393061027

  9. Jen April 24, 2011 at 9:59 pm #

    If you don’t believe in God, then what do you think happens after you die? Just curious.

    • Edward April 24, 2011 at 10:41 pm #

      What happened before you were born, Jen?

    • Kristen Ferrell April 24, 2011 at 10:49 pm #

      Absolutely nothing. I think we are just done. Blissfully, wonderfully done. No following a light into a tunnel, no pearly gates or flaming pits of damnation… just quiet fantastic nothingness. For keeps. That doesn’t explain the ghost that haunted my old house in Kansas… but it doesn’t matter to me. I don’t need an explanation.
      The difference between me and 99% of the Christians that I’ve ever met is that I’m more concerned with the happiness and wonderfulness that I can experience and spread while I’m on this planet with the people I love right NOW, instead of worrying about the happiness I might have with the people I love after I’m dead in a possible afterlife. Factual now is greater than possible later.
      But really, none of us know a single FACT about the afterlife, so there’s no point in worrying about it. I stick with the facts- not mythology. Facts don’t leave room for wonder or questions. They’re like a reliable best friend. 🙂

  10. amyjeen April 25, 2011 at 8:58 am #

    Ah, Gomorrah. One of the reasons I got kicked out of Sunday school was I drew a picture of Godzilla vs. Gomorrah (gamera).
    That and I asked to many questions.
    I just don’t believe and never have.
    To me, it’s like getting angry over Santa Claus or whatever.
    No one can convince me otherwise. I’m one of the lost souls I suppose, and I totally fine with that : )

  11. Jen April 25, 2011 at 10:12 am #

    Before I was born, I didn’t exist. Simple as that. My parents got together, and I was conceived, then grew in my mothers womb, then was born.

    I see where you are coming from Kristen, for sure, having happiness and doing our best NOW is awesome. And most definitely worthwhile. We only have this one life, and this one chance. But you do have to admit that this life is so short, and it flies by. And so many people die young. So the thing that I think about, is that to not believe there is anything after this life.. is just sad. Its just over? What a bummer. And so unfair to a WHOLE lot of people. Do you agree, or is that just their lot?

    Have you read about peoples experiences when they die? There are a whole heck of a lot of them out there, and I don’t think that’s something to be brushed aside. Do you?

    I’d love to hear your thoughts on this.

    • Kristen Ferrell April 25, 2011 at 3:46 pm #

      Well, OF COURSE life is unfair! It’s not just unfair- it’s sick and cruel and at times fully unbelievable. It’s been that way from the beginning, and it will be that way until we inevitably destroy everything on this planet. I had a friend who’s baby was born with her organs outside of her body and lived an excruciatingly painful 5 hour life. 1 out of 4 women will be sexually assaulted by the time they are 18. Children are orphaned every day by their parents dying of cancer. 15,000+ people died from Japan’s tsunami. Etc etc etc. It’s all horrific. But every single person on this planet was born cursed with the fact that we will die- and it won’t be pretty. Which is why I made my statement earlier that IF there is a god- it is one that is pure evil… because if god had any love, mercy, or kindness in him, this madness wouldn’t happen. But it just far more logical that there is no god.

      But not having an afterlife is only sad if you feel like you’re owed an afterlife. Our culture is so terrified of death and of the thought that we really are nothing, that we desperately cling to the idea that there HAS to be more- and it would be horrible if there wasn’t. Why would that be so horrible? What’s wrong with it just being over? When you die, you won’t miss people you love- because you’ll be dead! You won’t know to miss them. You won’t know to be sad or feel regret. Pining is for the living… the dead have nothing to offer us. And that’s totally ok. We don’t all have to be immortal to be valid. I find comfort in the thought that I will just float away into nothing. So we make the most of our human experience with what little or long time we have. It’s only tragic if you put expectations on life- and to expect anything from life will always let you down. Expecting nothing is where you’ll find serenity.

      When I was younger I used to obsessively read about death experiences and ghosts- anything that had to do with possible afterlives. Which is why I say yeah- a lot of crazy stuff happens. But no facts have been given. No one knows… but we’ll all find out soon enough, so why bother worrying about it. There isn’t anything any of us can do either way, and to dedicate yourself to a deity just for afterlife insurance is more blasphemous than to not believe at all. So I just spend my days living the kindest and most loving life I am capable of, without needing a god to help me… and I don’t bother with what isn’t fact. And if my loving, honest, open, helpful, patient and kind life isn’t enough for a god just because I don’t think his bible of psychotic narcissism is great- then fuck that guy. I did my best. Give me hell (at least all my friends will be there). 🙂

  12. Jeanne April 26, 2011 at 5:51 am #

    Christianity is the ultimate example of co-dependence. “I died for YOU!!!!”… Now follow all these arbitrary rules, or you will be punished.

    And the followers can’t even agree on which rules need to be followed, or how to follow them. For as much petty shit that god seems to pay attention to, you’d think there would be more clarity on this.

    • Kristen Ferrell April 26, 2011 at 7:33 pm #

      Hahahahaha! Jeanne… the way you cut through the bullshit and call it like it is always makes me smile.

  13. david Alvey April 26, 2011 at 4:27 pm #

    Seems to be alot of raging against the wind. God is God and we’re not. Will the pot ask the potter why did you make me so. We cannot understand the mind of God or how His plan for humankind is to unfold, but we can know His character if we study the bible with an open mind and try to understand it. I know God wants whats best for us, but we can’t see how because we can only see whats happening now, God knows the end already and is working toward that day. Obedience is what is required of us. We are all slaves to something wether its money or power or desires or satan or God or an idol of some kind. What are you a slave to, thats the question. I choose to be slave to the God who created me and wants a relationship in eternity with me. Who knows whats best for me and cares for me.
    Anyway do your homework before you slam the God who made you and the universe, you will be surprised what you may find.

    • Kristen Ferrell April 26, 2011 at 7:59 pm #

      That’s such a cop out. If the tragic and countless flaws are pointed out to the Christians about god’s character/the bible/the rules/etc/etc/etc, the answer is ALWAYS “it’s just God’s plan” or “it’s not for us to know”. It sincerely is so weak that it’s insulting. The “because mommy says so” never worked on my kid when he was a toddler- but it seems to work on sane, intelligent adults as long as an invisible force commands it.

      The use of the term “slave” is fully unsettling. I can of clear heart and mind say that I’m not a slave to anyone or anything. I have things I’m emotionally dedicated to- my son, my family, my artwork, etc. But if any of those things becomes destructive, I can cut the cord and find something else healthy. God is already destructive- because he commands obedience. That is not a partnership of love- it is slavery. And that is disturbing- no matter what the rewards might be in the end.

      And since you seem to be a first time player on this blog- I was raised with god. Lots and lots and lots of god. Church and youth group and church choir and young life and christian summer camps and a Southern Baptist Group home for 2 years. My parents do missionary work. My brother is a priest. I could debate you quoting the “scripture” by heart for hours. So yes- homework has been done… which is why I can slam the god I think is garbage, but dictates the laws of our society and restrains the happiness and healthy lifestyles of the people I love. I know your god…. too well. If your god kept to himself like a good deity, I’d have no problems with him. But since he wants to govern the bodies of women and the rights of homosexuals and tries to snake his way into the public school system my atheist son is attending and stick his slimy rapture anywhere he can- I’ve made it my job to call him out on his bullshit (of which he overfloweth).

      There is no god… which is why religious influence in our society is maddening, and why I rant. That’s great you believe in something- but if you want to flip me, prove it’s there. Just one fact. One shred of INDISPUTABLE PROOF. The burden of proof is on the Christians… not on the scientists and non-religious. If I said there were gnomes living in my garden but you won’t be able to find them and you just have to have faith they are there, I’d be put on medication. There is no PROOF of the gnomes, but what if I sincerely “felt their presence” and “heard their messages” and they filled me with light and hope… again, bring on the psyche meds. Once a Christian gives me SOMETHING to hang onto that isn’t mythology, blind faith, or emotional babble- then we can have a grown up conversation.

  14. david Alvey April 27, 2011 at 3:49 pm #

    If there is no God then there is no right or wrong, good or evil, except of our choosing. What I decide is good for me, is what is good. All the things people do that we think is bad is just people being people. Its all about me and satisfying my wants and desires, I am God and any thoughts of any morality is silly weakness. Without God the world would be far worst than it is now.
    There,s plenty of proof of God but if you refuse to see you won’t

    • amyjeen April 27, 2011 at 3:58 pm #

      Wow David, you sound like a your own personal cult.
      I have seen far more good in those that do not believe in god, one true god or some variance of such.
      I would also like to point out that MOST of the evils committed against man kind, by man kind has been in the name of your God.
      “Its all about me and satisfying my wants and desires, I am God and any thoughts of any morality is silly weakness. ”
      Are you speaking of yourself because you sure as heck are not talking about me or folks like me. Or are you generalizing how you perceive people who don’t believe as you must think ?
      Please clarify.
      Or rather , don’t.

    • Monica April 27, 2011 at 6:09 pm #

      I’m a Christian, but David- when other Christians talk in this “I will not question anything and blindly and obediently obey every little thing in the Bible” like this- you make me uncomfortable.
      Do you understand that, David? You are scaring your own kind by talking like this. There’s devotion… and then there is cult-like mentality. I’m devoted to Christ- but am 100% open to the fact that the majority of the Bible is wrong because it’s been re-written hundreds of times, and any real accounts of Jesus were actually written long after his death. The Bible is not to be taken literally because that would be delusional and psychotic, the scripture is just there for guidance when needed, and you shouldn’t come on atheist’s blogs and try to “talk God” because you look like a fool.
      I believe God is there. Let other people not believe it. You’re making us all look weird.

      • david Alvey May 2, 2011 at 4:47 pm #

        The New Testament was written by Jesus’s Diciples and a few others who were alive while Jesus lived. And there is a very good chance the New Testament we have today is much the same as it was written 2000 years ago.
        And I believe your trying to put words in my mouth. I don’t believe anything blindly. If you can’t believe the bible then you can’t believe much of anything. I guess you just believe what makes you feel good. And a lot christians don’t need my help to look weird.

  15. david Alvey April 27, 2011 at 5:41 pm #

    What I’m saying is that is the logical thought process of a world without God. Your not like that amyjean because you have Gods since of right and wrong and justice. We are born with it. Evolution is not concerned with any morals but only survival of the fitest.

    • Amanda Lily April 27, 2011 at 6:11 pm #

      holy shit… david, pick up a fucking science book and read a bit on human behavior and morality!
      Better yet….. go away. You’re out of your mind.

    • Kristen Ferrell April 27, 2011 at 6:20 pm #

      Have you had any contact with other humans in your lifetime? People are born violent sick animals and have to be TAUGHT right from wrong!!! I’m a mom, have worked in daycares, and studied massive amounts of child psychology in college. You have to TEACH children not to bite, hit, kick, share, be nice, not scream at each other, not destroy each other’s things, etc etc etc. The primary human emotions are rage, fear, and self-preservation- NOT MORALITY. You have to TEACH humans how to control these emotions in a healthy way- and this is (hopefully) taught before a child even enters pre-school. The child has no “God” at that point… only SCIENCE and BEHAVIORAL THERAPY (ie: parenting). My son thinks people who believe in god are insane… but he is the most honest, kind, loving, sharing and happy kid you’ll meet- and he’s in junior high (when kids are at their worst). You don’t need god to be good, and we are most certainly NOT born with anything good in us… you need to be taught to be good. Crack a science book. I promise, it won’t hurt Jesus’s feelings.

      • david Alvey May 1, 2011 at 7:30 am #

        I agree children have to be taught good behavior, but when they reach the age of acountability which is different for everyone, they know inside when they do something wrong but do it anyway. We do what we want most of time when it comes to choosing between what we want or what we should do. Doing the right thing can be nurtured or suppressed. But even the best or worst upbringing doesn’t assure the persons character.

        • Kristen Ferrell May 1, 2011 at 7:42 pm #

          So, how do you explain my atheist son, who is in junior high and totally at an “age of accountability” where he most definitely knows right from wrong (AND has aspergers syndrome where his social behavior is more of a struggle than the average child) being more open, kind, loving, accepting and honest… and last year he was cornered and almost beat down for being atheist by a group of Christian kids who were screaming “You’re going to hell!!” repeatedly at him. Where did Jesus fit into this picture? How is it that my godless child takes the path of kindness and love while the Christian kids at his school are violent bullies who flippantly throw around hate speak (like saying “burn in hell, faggot” to the scrawny kids)? It was this way when I was growing up, and is still this way at my son’s school. If you raise a child to judge others (ie: if you aren’t Christian, you will go to hell), they will learn to hate anyone not like them, which leads to violence and social clashing- and that leads to the exact place our society is in right now.
          Almost all my friends are without a god. And all their kids embrace everyone’s differences, are open and kind to people, and are loving and non-judgmental. We raise our kids to do the right thing because it’s how you keep a society running smoothly… not out of fear of damnation. They learn to respect societal rules- not fear them. And that is why all the godless kids I know are pretty amazing. But the christian kids I see at my son’s school scare the shit out of me.

  16. amyjeen May 2, 2011 at 7:25 am #

    I have a sneaking suspicion David Alvey is just some kids out for a troll.
    The difference in grammar/spelling in each message makes that clear.
    “David” is scab. Don’t fuss with it. It will only lead to irritation or infection.

  17. david Alvey May 2, 2011 at 4:29 pm #

    Like I said you can suppress what you know is right. If you could get those kids who are supposed to be christian alone and question them, they would know they were wrong. They know the right way to act but choose not to, for dumb reasons. Just because someone goes to church and knows a few christian words doesn’t make them a christian. Being mean to people is not Gods will. Your son is being more of a christian they those other kids. Please don’t judge Jesus because of foolish, mean people who profess Him but do not live as He taught. As you know He taught His deciples love and kindness as you have taught your son.

Leave a Reply

