In remembrance of David Rakoff (1964 – 2012)

14 Aug

In a culture where “Twilight” is considered literature, we need good writers.  Let me emphasize that properly:

We NEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEED good writers in the most aching and desperate way.  With this, we also need to cherish the good writers that are currently creating our stories for the future.  One of my favorite writers, David Rakoff, died this week at the upsettingly young age of 47.  This man’s words have made me belly laugh, and spontaneously burst into that gross kind of crying where your face is distorted and you produce shameful amounts of snot (and I am that asshole who cracked jokes when Julia Roberts died in Steel Magnolias and was happy to see Leo die in Titanic…so to get me to cry is a pretty monumental event.  Getting me to belly-laugh is just as difficult).   He was one of the great ones- and the world is a much darker place for missing out on all the things that he had yet to say.

I’m ashamed that it took this beautiful wordsmith dying for me to publicly sing his praises… so let’s not make that mistake again.  Please feel free to share in my comments the authors that are currently moving your mind-mountains with their words so that we can all give them the respect they are due.  Because if the only stories we have to leave to the world are filled with sparkling virgin vampires- we are in big trouble.

If you haven’t heard of David Rakoff, please begin your google searching now.  While you’re searching, here is one of my favorite little writings by Mr. Rakoff.  I am usually not a fan of contemporary poetry (as I stated before, I’m a pretty jaded asshole and poetry just makes me uncomfortable)- but this poem is so good that it has made it’s way to my Top 10 favorite writings.  Please take 10 minutes out of your life to honor the life of this great writer.  Hopefully his wit, humor and insight will make your heart swoon the way he has always made mine.

10 Responses to “In remembrance of David Rakoff (1964 – 2012)”

  1. Jay keim August 14, 2012 at 7:16 pm #

    Thanks Kristen!
    Very nice!

    • Kristen Ferrell August 14, 2012 at 8:34 pm #

      It’s such a precious little story, with such a wonderful message of forgiveness at the end. It almost made me consider being a forgiving person after I read it the first time… but then I remembered that I’m not that kind of animal, and just accepted myself for being an unforgiving animal, and basked in the loveliness of the concept of what I can not be. All his stories are biting and contemplative at the same time. (and his voice is what lullaby’s are supposed to sound like).

  2. Julia Glosemeyer August 14, 2012 at 7:42 pm #

    here are the writers that move my mind-mountains: naomi klein, martha rosler, david harvey, boris groys. greatly recommended.

    • Kristen Ferrell August 14, 2012 at 8:34 pm #

      Yay!! Thank you, Julia! I am totally going to check those authors out! 😀

  3. Sunny August 15, 2012 at 6:31 am #

    Zadie Smith. Vonnegut. Gaiman.

    • Kristen Ferrell August 16, 2012 at 9:42 pm #

      Thank you!! I’ve been hunting new authors, so I adore the suggestions!

  4. Daniel August 15, 2012 at 7:25 am #

    Sedaris, Sedaris, Sedaris.

  5. Uh-Nay August 15, 2012 at 5:29 pm #

    I have never read or heard anything by David Rakoff; I loved that poem I am going to have to investigate him further. Thank you so much for the recommendation!

    • Kristen Ferrell August 16, 2012 at 9:41 pm #

      You will not be sorry. Everything he wrote was golden. 😀

Leave a comment